Paul Carrack at the Picturedrome

Well, here’s a turn-up for the books.  AliM goes to her first gig since 2002. It was just on a whim – I had a sprog-free evening, so I looked at the local listings and it said “Paul Carrack, Picturedrome, Holmfirth, 7.30.  So I thought – why not?

For those of you who are not familiar with the Picturedrome (and that’s probably most of you),  it’s an old cinema in the middle of Holmfirth, that plays host to an eclectic mix of music, theatre, comedy and film. It’s standing room only unless you arrive early, and holds a maximum of 550 people. I think there must have been about 500 there tonight – when I arrived, the queue was round the block – probably doubling the local population.

The support band – I didn’t catch the name – was pleasant enough but not very interesting to me; they did some Dylan and Roy Orbison covers. It didn’t help that this was my first middle-aged gig – i.e. I was probably one of  the youngest people there – apart from those who had been dragged along by their parents. Also, the draught beer ran out after my first pint so I resorted to soda water, which is never a good thing. I was just beginning to wonder whether I should have stayed at home, when Paul Carrack and his band came on at about 9 o’clock. I feel obliged to say that no, it certainly wasn’t Glastonbury, but PC really knew his audience and played a great set which included lots of the classics including How Long (see above);

Silent Running:

Over My Shoulder:

The Living Years:

Paul Carrack’s voice is still superb, and he played a variety of styles including blues, jazz, and reggae. There was even a drum solo for the die-hard proggies (of whom there were few, I suspect, apart from me). Anyway, a good time was had by all – and I got out in time for a decent pint at the pub next door, before the last bus home!

Anyway, up-coming treats at the Picturedrome include Wilko Johnson (September); Caravan and Curved Air; It Bites and Mostly Autumn (October), and Seth Lakeman (December). If anyone wants to book a sleeping bag on my floor, let me know!

8 thoughts on “Paul Carrack at the Picturedrome

  1. Glad you had a good gig night out, Ali.

    I’d already spotted the Wilko gig, (when I double-checked the Alabama 3 date, to my cost).

    I’m deffo up for a Spillers night out for Wilko, or what about that John Grant gig at Halifax Minster as a social possibility too? Either way there’d be a room at ours too.

    • Either or both – just need to know so I can sort out childcare. Happy to put people up if necessary, if no one minds not being in the lap of luxury. When’s the Halifax gig, again?

      Have already bought a ticket for Seth Lakeman, tho’ it’s not till December!

  2. I’d happily join in with the Wilko gig, why not ? Paul Carrack is indeed brilliant, the only times I’ve seen him live were in about 1984-5 when he was in Nick Lowe’s Cowboy Outfit, along with Martin Belmont (guitarist with Graham Parker and The Rumour, and endowed with the hugest hands) and Martin Chambers (drummer from The Pretenders).

  3. I could well be tempted by the Seth Lakeman, although childcare could be an issue here, too (however, Mr. Zala doesn’t seem too fussed by Seth, so this could my equivalent of his Iron Maiden gigs).

    It’s quite a long way for me, so floorspace may be required…

  4. Floorspace available Zalamanda, might even find something softer! let me know if you want details.

    Daddypig, DsD and all – ditto. Definitely time for a social.

    • Hi

      Sept 9 is good for me, I think that is DsD’s gig at Halifax but I’m waiting for him to confirm. Whatever and whoever, you are all very welcome.

  5. We are MOST DEFINITELY overdue a Social. Sept 9th is John Grant’s gig at Halifax Minster. I have an idea for a get-together which may be rather more, er, social than before. Will try to write a new post this eve.

Leave a Reply

