Another Tuesday, Another Challenge.

Aha, another ‘Spill Challenge. No real theme here this time and Frippiness has been kept to an absolute minimum. I expect that many of these songs won’t be unfamiliar to most people and I hope that there is something here for everyone. Listening back, though, if there is a theme, it is that I think these tracks all seem to work well in our Summer heat.

So, same as always, What rocks your world and what rains on your parade?

01 – Intro/Sweet Jane – Lou Reed From Lou’s 1974 Rock ‘n’ Roll Animal album, featuring the twin guitar talents of
Steve Hunter and Dick Wagner, who also played in Alice Cooper’s band.
02 – Black Water – The Doobie Brothers
The hot weather seems to suit the early Doobie Brother’s sound. This one has a languid, zoned-out feel.
03 – Baby’s On Fire – Brian Eno
The Bard of Braininess from his first album, Here Come The Warm Jets. with a suitably incandescent guitar solo by Robert Fripp (his only appearance on the list).
04 – He’ll Have To Go – Ry Cooder
A hit for Jim Reeves, Ry Cooder’s take is a laid-back affair with a Tex-Mex swing, courtesy of the accordion of Flaco Jimenez.
05 – Jacket Hangs – The Blue Aeroplanes
One of the best-known songs from Bristol’s Blue Aeroplanes. This is a band that needs to be seen live because Gerard Langley is a fantastic frontman. They had a non-singing dancer long before Bez came along, fact fans.
06 – Spencer The Rover – John Martyn
A traditional folk ballad given the inimitable Martyn treatment. One of my favourite songs on the album Sunday’s Child.
07 – There’s No Way Out Of Here – David Gilmour
From his first, 1977 solo album, originally recorded by a band called Unicorn (no, me neither) and released as a single, which flopped, probably because of the year. David gives his guitar a typical workout. This album is interesting, because it shows how Floyd would sound once Roger Waters left leaving David in charge.
08 – When Poets Dreamed Of Angels – David Sylvian
A typically atmospheric song from David Sylvian’s Secrets of the Beehive album. I am a huge fan of his solo work and I really think he deserves more airplay.
09 – Song With No Words – David Crosby
A dreamy drifting workout, basically a jam, from his 1971 solo album, If I Could Only Remember My Name, this features Jerry Garcia, Jorma Kaukonen, Jack Casady, Mike Shrieve and Graham Nash. Hippy Royalty, really. Substances may have been involved in the recording of this track.
10 – Dolphins – Tim Buckley
Fred Neil’s song given the Buckley treatment at the Albert Hall in 1968. Danny Thompson on bass, natch plus guitarist Lee Underwood and David Friedman on vibes. His voice was never better, I think.
11 – Naked Eye – The Who
A regular feature of The Who’s live act but not ever an album track until a version appeared on the Odds ‘n’ Sods compilation. This is classic ‘Ooo.

16 thoughts on “Another Tuesday, Another Challenge.

  1. A few familiar names to make me feel at home on this list. I know Sweet Jane, but not this version of it, very widdly and long intro, but it’s a sunny kind of track, then Lou starts singing,yes it’s staying.

    The Doobie Brothers song surprised me, I had an idea of what it would sound like and it didn’t. Like the pastoral feel, this is a keeper.

    Some Robert Fripp you say? You surprise me, I know this one. Keep.

    OMG no! The Ry Cooder song is absolutely not my thing, his singing is okay, but the rest, I think it will be going.

    Blue Aeroplanes, yay! I like this, did you know that they own the Fleece now? It’s go very nice toilets since they took it over. Plus they took my dear Patrick Duff on tour with them so not going anywhere.

    I’m fond of the noise Martyn makes, but I don’t think I’d have liked to meet him, so this stays for the cello and the sensitive vocal.

    David Gilmour followed by David Sylvian? What a divine mixture, my favourite guitarist followed by one of my favourite vocalists. Love Sylvian’s solo work, I’ve just been investigating the Dolphin Brothers which is Steve Jansen and Richard Barbieri, bit poppy, but Steve sounds very like his brother.

    Another David, but one I’m not so familiar with, I am a fan of hippy royalty apparently.

    A great Tim Buckley track, this isn’t going anywhere and lastly the Ooo are staying, hadn’t heard this one before, being more of a best of fan than a complete-ist.

    So I have to wave goodbye to Ry Cooder and my favourite has to be David Sylvian because he has the voice of an angel to my ears and his sonic explorations are often brave.

    Thanks, Carole, I enjoyed this list very much.

  2. Lou Reed – amazed to find I know this really well – by ‘eck, takes me back. Great track.
    Doobie Brothers – pretty much ditto, I think I’ve forgotten more music than I realised.
    Brian Eno – great guitar solo, but could happily skip the vocal.
    Ry Cooder – charming as ever.
    Blue Aeroplanes – great guitar and kudos for owning The Fleece.
    John Martyn … can do no wrong.
    David Gilmore – yep, like this too. I used to have “About Face” (the album after this?) Excellent.
    David Sylvian – technically accomplished, love the instrumental part.
    David Crosby – more excellence. Substances would be nice, right now.
    Tim Buckley – great voice, but doesn’t grab me, for some reason.
    The Who – was this an Earworm a while back? Great track.

    A great set all in all, my era, my taste – hard to pick one to go but I think it has to be Tim Buckley. And my favourite is The Doobie brothers, mainly because it brought back lots of warm summery sort of memories. Thanks, Carole.

  3. The Lou Reed song is several orders of magnitude greater than anything else there, an unadulterated masterpiece

  4. Sweet Jane – that took years off me. I only have the Velvets’ studio version but I do remember this well. Never got round to buying Rock & Roll Animal although I’m sure I used to have a tape of it. Great stuff.
    This is the Doobie Brothers? Wouldn’t have recognised them. Nice track.
    Ah this was Eno before he was ambient. His nastier side. Used to love this. Still rather like it. That Fripp guitar is bonkers.
    Ry Cooder I know very slightly and like some of his stuff. This is the Jim Reeves song isn’t it? I prefer Jim but then I am getting rather old. Love the song. Like the setting and the singing slightly less. On the cusp.
    Who? Blue Aeroplanes. I know them not. Wasn’t really my cup of tea I’m afraid.
    Oh John Martyn! Love almost everything he did. I used to know a cousin of his. She was always worrying about his level of drinking. Wonderful musician though. Keep for sure.
    Never entirely convinced by Dave Gilmore’s solo stuff. It’s certainly better than Roger Waters’ though imho. This is pretty good and I always like his guitar playing but I’m not wild about it.
    I wasn’t a big fan of Japan but bit by bit I’m starting to like Sylvian’s solo tracks mostly due to R/R it must be said. Another one that I liked in parts.
    Never really liked David Crosby and this didn’t change my mind.
    Tim Buckley – excellent song which I never heard until Billy Bragg covered it. Love the song but (whisper it) I actually like Billy’s version best. Fred Neil comes in ahead of this one too but it’s still a winner. I have to take Tim Buckley’s voice in quite small doses though.
    The Woo – I like their early singles, some of the Who’s Next album and a couple of later tracks like Who Are You. Oh and that Who By Numbers album. And bits of Quadrophenia. OK – I like quite a lot of stuff by The Who. Not sure why I don’t own anything much by them. This was not the best song I’ve ever heard but I did like the guitar.

    So anyway says Mister Grumpy who’s listened to too much music recently – I’d ditch David Crosby and definitely keep Loopy Lou.

  5. 1) This is my favorite VU song, and i’ve never heard this version. I’m with Beth, and once they launch into the song proper, it’s all good. Kind of missing the harmonies on the chorus from the original though. Not going anywhere.

    2) This is my favorite Doobies song. And honestly the only one by them i really like. It stays.

    3) Hmm. I generally like Brian, but that one isn’t doing it for me.

    4) Ry Cooder – I know this song, not sure if this version. It can stay.

    5) Blue Aeroplanes – This is groovy, can stay.

    6) John Martyn – This is lovely. Stays.

    7) David Gilmour – Really nice. Don’t know if i’ve even heard any of his solo stuff before. Definitely stays.

    8) David Sylvain – Really nice guitarwork. Another keeper.

    9) David Crosby – This is gorgeous as i expected it to be.

    10) TIm Buckley – I’m finding the voice rough going on this one.

    11) Who – Nope, never heard this one before. Nothing not to like.

    So i’ll toss Tim Buckley, and especially keep David Gilmour, David Sylvain, and David Crosby. Hmmm, just noticed all Daves.

    Thanks Carole!

  6. This was a nice diversion from a hard days dissertation writing, thanks.

    Would keep the Tim Buckley and David Crosby (don’t know anything about him, but this really hit the spot) and I’m afraid that Ry Cooder’s choice of song title sealed his own fate….sorry!

    cheers Carole!

  7. thanks for this Carole .. my night to cook so it was grand to have some serious axe for company .. particularly enjoyed sweet jane & fripp on fine form .. been hand painting a Neil Young t-shirt for a Liverpool concert in a fortnight … hoping for some good guitar thrashing ..

  8. Lou might be for drop because it’s not sweet enough and not animal enough. And this is one of my favourite ever songs. The studio version holds a special place in my heart.

    Do like the languid feel. Love the acapella bit, but my problem is that I hear the acapella section and immediately think how would that sound taken out of context and sampled. Of the classic 1970’s artists, I think I only have Fleetwood Mac (Bowie, Roxy, Stones and 10cc as well) in my collection. I sort of leapt from punk and post-punk back to Love, Buffalo Springfield and Nuggetsy stuff but missed out on what’s between.

    Eno is ace here.

    Ry Cooder is too laid back.

    Jacket Hangs is wonderful. One of those great mid-1980’s bands that you’d find filling the stage at the Hull Adelphi or the Manchester Boardwalk Should’ve been massive but there reputation seems to grow.

    John Martyn. Nice but doesn’t move me.

    Dave Gilmour is also nice but doesn’t move me.

    David Sylvian. Oh this is the keeper. Like the rhythm and the pull of the guitar.

    Lovely. It’s a hot summer day here and this nice and dreamy track is enhanced by the buzzing of insects adds a nice touch. I think some of the Hexvessel stuff I listen to has copped a bit of this. I might have faded it out before the guitar solo.

    Again it’s nice but doesn’t move me.

    The Who. Ah this is rock music. And RD sounds like he means it. Hope it ends now. Oh. It’s going to go on. This is the bit where my friends break out the air guitar solo and gurn like it’s the 1970s.

    I have Pavement occupying the CD player in the car which might explain my reaction to the guitar solos and vocals. I’ll vote for David Sylian, which is someting I’ve not said since 1981. Ry Cooder’s version gets dumped in remote Mexico.

    Cheers

  9. Lou Reed: Not heard this before – and it’s not yet sounding like what I think of as Sweet Jane at all… Ah here we go. Like it better now – it was threatening to get a bit axe-wanky there. Oh and it’s doing so again. I think I prefer the original version. But it’s OK – if over-long.

    Doobie Brothers: Not what I was expecting, certainly. Yeah, it noodles along nicely enough. Not exciting me muchly, but I’m not itching to fast-forward.

    Brian Eno: Oh, much more fun. Until it gets all squeally guitary when it loses me a bit.

    Ry Cooder: Nice version. Yes, I like this. Atmospheric. Favourite so far.

    The Blue Aeroplanes: First one I categorically know. And, in fact, own. And yet I’ve never quite got a handle on its tune. Sounds like REM ripped it off for that song with Patti Smith – “E-Bow The Letter”? Never noticed that before. Probably the whole world has. Love it: “Pick a card, any card… wrong!”

    More in a mo…

  10. John Martyn: Lovely tone. And lovely unshowy tune and delivery. Keep.

    David Gilmour: Bit too Pink Floyd-y for me. Odd that. Might be one for the dumper.

    David Sylvian: An album I’ve always felt I ought to check out. Without ever having done so, natch. I do like his voice. And the instrumentation (nice castanets!). I find the song a bit meandering though.

    David Crosby: Yeah, follows on nicely. Nice mood piece. Too long for me, but that’s entirely my failing.

    Tim Buckley: I can’t remember ever having not loved this song. Gorgeous. Although I think I’m another who prefers other versions – Buckley’s voice is a bit yowl-y for me (sacrilege etc). I think I favour Fred Neil’s version but Al Wilson’s has lots to recommend it too (see below). Keep.

    The Who: I’m actually enjoying this more than I thought I would. Lovely production, seems to me.

    So I think the first of the Davids has to be kicked off for me. Not bad, of course, just not my thing. Thanks, Carole – not my usual fare but some very lovely stuff here.

Leave a Reply

