Ever fallen OUT OF love with someone…?

010313-Biafra-350

OK, this is a total dissertation procrastination post, so there may be some ramblings contained within.

The question is: what band or artist did you really used to like, but now can’t stand? What changed? Why? How? When?

For me, it’s Jello Biafra. I loved the Dead Kennedys (especially that flawless debut album) and listened to Biafra’s spoken word stuff as well. He seemed edgy and cool, and wasn’t afraid to take on the big boys and tell it like it is, maaaan.

But then I watched his interview on Soft Focus (just about the best talk show there is – erm…if you happen to an indie nerd that came of age in the early to mid 90s – hosted by none other than one of my personal idols, Ian Svenonious) and he just came across as such a…..what’s the word…..um….TWAT! Completely self-centred, self-obsessed, thinking his view is the ONLY view and that he knows stuff us lesser mortals don’t. It really jacked my goose and I haven’t been able to listen to the DKs the same way since and I won’t go near the spoken word stuff at all these days.

I don’t know, maybe the internet killed Biafra. Back in the day he DID know more than us and had done his homework on US interventions in south American tinpot dictatorships, but now we have the internet, we all know this stuff and we can call bullshit on him.

Or maybe it’s just a general aversion to any kind of self-indulgent art. I hate that whole routine he does: “Imagine me, ME…me…Jello Biafra running for mayor of San Francisco…ME, just imagine – how crazy is that?” I just think: “erm…..well, it sounds OK to me, I mean I don’t really know you…erm…”. It’s why that Magnetic Fields song “Andrew in Drag” was my least favourite song of last year (sorry Bish and Toffeeboy!), I just kept thinking a) I don’t know who Andrew is and b) he may well dress in drag on a regular basis for all I know and c) I don’t give a flying fuck…so…erm…that’s why I fell out of love with Jello Biafra!

…ah…when rambling turns to ranting it’s surely time to stop typing…but maybe that’s the whole point of procrastination…

anyway…any other stories of falling out of love are more than welcome!

Now, where was I…oh yes…perceived differences in conceptions of ‘communication’ between Japanese and European educational institutions…hmm…..

28 thoughts on “Ever fallen OUT OF love with someone…?

  1. Ha ha, I really liked “Andrew in Drag”. I thought for a comic bit of rinky-dink rhyming fluff, there was a surprising poignancy to the tale told.

    What’s the dissertation on? I’m sure I should know…

    • I may have imagined it, but I seem to recall you and Toffeboy professing mutual admiration for it – apologies once again for my negativity!

      The dissertation is pretty boring for outsiders (and most of us insiders too!), but it’s basically about something called ‘yakudoku’, which is the traditional method of language teaching in Japan that uses translation to teach languages. It is also about how Western ideologies are unquestioningly internationalised and pressed upon non-Western countries and institutions with little regard for history or culture.

      I’m over 90% done, but I’m not very happy with it. I started off wanting it to be great and earth-shattering, now I just want to finish the bloody thing and go to the beach….!

      • Keep at it. I’m sure it’s much better than you think! Hopefully your deadline’s not too far off and you can be free of it while there’s still beach weather to be had…

  2. Well, i can think of the reverse –

    Absolutely loathed Wham, but am i big Georgie Boy fan now.

    Used to love the Beatles. Then i found the Stones and Led Zep, etc, and was meh on the Fabs for decades. Few years ago heard a song in the drugstore, scratched chin, and thought, they really were pretty fucking good, weren’t they. So i love them again. Or maybe i just got old.

    Someone being a twat is generally separate from their music for me. Otherwise i would hate the Smiths.

    So i guess i would maybe say Clapton. Yep, he’s a world class twat. I used to have the Slowhand album, played the crap out of it. Hate it now. Probably even hated it then but didn’t realize – that was during the cokehead days and Cocaine was our theme song. But still – Bell Bottom Blues, White Room, Tales of Brave Ulysses, Let It Grow, Sunshine of Your Love, Layla, While My Guitar Gently Weeps – nope, he doesn’t suck.

    • But do you still hate old Pistols songs though? I can think of a lot of bands whose latter output i can’t stand. (Let’s start with the Stones). But i still love the old stuff that i loved. Lotta people (not me) hate later Clsh stuff but love the older stuff.

      • my newly negative view of Biafra has tainted my enjoyment of the old stuff too. Some of it now sounds smug and know-it-all…..unfair maybe, but I just can’t help it!

  3. Yeah, I’m. With Amy. Loved Clapton in many guises, especially with Mayall, but I can’t listen to stuff I now know to be from a racist git, GHE

  4. The Police were cool, but Sting just stinks. I loathe him, and I don’t normally loathe anyone/anything (Margaret Thatcher being the exception). Come to think of it, they would make a good pair, but he found Trudi instead. There’s someone else I loahe! This thread is definitelly a challenge to my karma.

  5. When I was a young teen, I was very keen on Prince. No one else liked him that I knew, but I was utterly entranced by him, high heels, bouncer called Chick, rude lyrics and everything. When Under a Cherry Moon came out I went off him overnight. Totally off, sold my cutting collection, never listened to him until much later, quite like him now, but I can’t remember exactly what caused it except that the critics started saying he was cool and I discovered Siouxsie Sioux.

  6. Really enjoying the latest Guantanamo School album, but never able to take Jello too seriously because of his warbly voice.

    Simple Minds & U2 lost me when they went stadium. Wasn’t the popularity it was the songwriting. Still like the early stuff, though.

  7. Just watched the interview & though Jello was humourous, engaging & mostly agreed with his POV. Particularly enjoyed the idea of white supremecists free-style rapping. Missed the reference to running for Mayor, so perhaps this was edited.

    Did find the interviewer a little pretentious & annoying, though (the intro, in particular, was horrible & nearly turned off, before the start).

    Interesting that we had such different reactions. Thanks for posting & good luck with your paper.

  8. Can’t think of anyone really , although tastes change and some music is definitely of its time. This might stop me listening to it now, or buying new stuff by the same artist (e.g. Al Stewart), but it doesn’t stop me liking the old stuff when I hear it. And some artists, like Rod Stewart, were great when they started out (e.g. Maggie May; Mandolin Wind etc), but just went totally commercial and produced stuff for a different market entirely. I’m rambling.

  9. WordPress still hates me
    Kentucky Headhunters – They looked like nothing else coming out of Nashville – the Misfits T-shirts, bizarre facial hair, tattoos – at the time.

    But in hindsight listening to them reveals that they were just another Southern rock-slash-country bar band that David Allan Coe – or even Travis Tritt, for that matter – could have eaten for lunch.

  10. Hmm. Like most people so far, there are artists who have revealed themselves to be completely ghastly human beings, and whose later music has been unspeakably bad – but it doesn’t normally damage my liking for their earlier music. I suppose I do now listen to it with a slight sense of discomfort, a feeling of the awkward relationship between great music and ghastly person: Clapton is one such, and recent stuff on Ginger Baker means that I now listen to Cream feeling deeply sorry for Jack Bruce having to be in a band with those two. Seriously turned off Led Zep by the stories of their appalling treatment of women (and girls) – but I was never that big a fan in the first place. Latest addition to this list is Michelle Shocked for homophobia – again, still love the first couple of albums but hear them differently.

    The nearest I can get to a musical disillusionment is Oasis, and again i was never that big a fan at any point, but in comparison to the smugness of Blur in the early 1990s they seemed a breath of fresh air. It subsequently became clear that there was nothing fresh about them at all, and their influence on the music scene was dire (didn’t make me like Blur any more, however). Also reminds me of Paul Weller, whose influence in his born-again-trad-rocker phase was utterly malign (Ocean Colour Scene et al), and difficult not to listen to the Jam without a sense of how this would eventually become dad-rock – but I do still love The Style Council, and a lot of individual Jam songs.

    • Hmm….I never thought of Weller like that, can we really blame him for OCS?

      We’ll have to agree to disagree about Blur, I’d like to give them the benefit of the doubt as victims of a press (and general public) that puts the working class heroes on a pedestal and paints the southern softies as arrogant toffs….but, maybe that’s because Blur were and are one of my favourite bands

  11. When I was just a little boy the Doors were my favouritest band ever ever ever ! I thought they were marvelous and that Jimbo was lyrical genius and poet of Wordsworthian …er…worth.
    Then I grew up, read a few real poets etc and realised that not only was he a very poor “poet” he was also a drug addict, alcoholic and , it has to be said, asshole and that the music of the Doors was, at times, pedestrian and dull.
    So I went off them a bit.
    Funnily enough, in the last 10 years or so I have come to appreciate them again but in a different way. I still think Jim was a bit of a prat but I can see that it was really a sign of the times, he was drawing from much the same literary references as his contemporaries and much of his persona appears to me to have been an “act” ( he was a film school guy and well versed in the confrontational theatre that was so popular at the time ( Look ! Look at my willy !)).

    Being older and wiser I don’t hold it against anyone for being a prat. Let’s be honest none of us are perfect. It’s all just “theatre” really , anyway, at bottom.

    • yeah, maybe you’re right, it is all theatre, and I’m being a bit hard on poor old Jello, but….I don’t know, I suppose I just expected more from someone who preached integrity and wasn’t shy on pulling up other people for their perceived shortcomings…maybe it’s just disappointment and I’ll be able to listen to DKs again in a few years time…I hope so!

      • Well I don’t expect much from my fellow humans, even less from “pop” stars and even less still from “punk pop” “stars”. So Jelly ( English spelling) gets an easy ride from me.
        So Jelly ( I’m English) has “feet of clay”, so what, don’t we all ?
        It’s easier to point out others shortcomings than deal with your own and it’s easier to preach integrity than practice it. He’s a “pop” star and an American , he’s pretty much bound to be a bit of a nork.

  12. I was going to get stuck ito this one but thinking about it I can’t think of anyone – ie no one that’s pissed me off so much that I suddenly go off the back catalogue. I tend to seperate the music and the people making it in my mind. If I was to stop listening to a band because I thought a prominent member had been a bit of a tosser at some point hen I wouldn;t have much left to listen to, I’d probably be stuck with The Lurkers and the UK Subs.
    Maybe I’ll say The Casualties (New York doyens of street punk). I really liked their first album, For The Punx and went to see them numerous times when they played the UK, put them on myself, and got to know them a little bit. The thing was each album just felt like a rehash of the last one, but marginally more polished, and even the lyrics seemed to be interchangeable “punx and skins with spiky hair” type stuff – pretty cliched as it was, ok for a first album but you might expect a bit of development. The first album now sounds overfamilar because they and numerous other bands had done the same thing to death ever since.

  13. I think noisy rock was something you were meant to grow out of .. and get into Beethoven or Gilbert & Sullivan as you became respectable .. so i’m thrilled to say I still enjoy all the stuff I heard in my teens, Sabs Purple, the Hogs all of it .. in fact i’m learning all the time about the good stuff I missed .. a recent spill of West Coast quicksilver & butterfield was wonderful .. mind you I never have really got to be respectable – but I still find it just as hard to dance to Abba & pop .. so can’t say I’ve fallen out … except the Yes .. still touring .but without Anderson I can’t get excited

Leave a Reply

