New Kitchens Of Distinction!

Oh. My. God. Oh my God. Ohmygodohmygodohmygod. I thought my mind was playing tricks on me when I spied the band’s name on Stereogum this morning as I sat sleepily on the DLR, scrolling through bookmarked Safari sites on my smartphone…

One of my favourite bands of the early 90s? Back back back?! First impressions are of a rather prosaic, over-articulated lyric, but the sound of it is (for me) a cosy, long-familiar aural duvet that I’m loving being wrapped up in again.

Welcome back, boys. It’s been too long.

3 thoughts on “New Kitchens Of Distinction!

  1. And there’s your J tune. It’s lovely, isn’t it. Haven’t heard all that much by them, but this sounds not all that different and that’s a good thing.

    • Ha ha, yeah it could be, couldn’t it? Definitely of a piece with their earlier work, which as you say is no bad thing. I look forward to the album – and hope they haven’t mellowed so far into nostalgia that stroppy angst-rockers are no longer on the menu. What I wouldn’t give for another “Polaroids” or “Now It’s Time To Say Goodbye”…

  2. Hmmm. Yeah, the tune is like they’ve never been away, but I’m also a bit unsure about that trying-too-hard lyric set and video.
    Nicely squalling guitar at the end though!
    Will await the album with interest …

Leave a Reply

