What I Did On My Holidays Part III

pritzker pavilion, chicago

Well, the ‘Spill appears to hate me at the moment, as it refuses to let me post any comments (unless it’s just protecting me from the consequences of getting pointlessly worked up about stuff that doesn’t actually matter – you all know the genius of xkcd, right?) – so let’s see if it will allow me to create a post. This is just a brief report from my latest set of travels, which this week have brought me to Chicago; I’ve had to spend a lot of my time in conference sessions, but my dedication to academic debate has been sorely tested by the fact that this weekend is the Chicago Jazz Festival – completely free, decent beer from Goose Island, all in the lovely setting of Millennium Park. Two big tents, and the amazing Gehry building that is the Jay Pritzker Pavilion, seen above, for the main acts. This evening I caught a fabulous set from the Robert Glasper Experiment, whose records I must seek out asap: avant-garde jazz meets electronica and hip-hop with added vocoder, and a hilarious cover of Get Lucky – cheered along by a capacity crowd of ten thousand or more. No, I must have been imagining that; everyone knows that jazz was ruined and lost all hope of popularity when it started getting all avant-garde…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cy7d27uOug0

5 thoughts on “What I Did On My Holidays Part III

  1. Hi ! Glad you’re keen to explore the experiment further. I think it’s fine music. I’ve listened to the R&B flavoured ‘Black Radio’ regularly this summer, managing to squeeze in a track from it for an RR topic. Gorgeous stuff. Here’s a soothing version of Mongo Santomaria’s Afro Bluefeat. Badu and Gonna Be Alright feat. Ledisi. Cheers!

  2. Oooh, I’ve gone all Grauniad this morning. Rosemary foccacia and avant garde jazz for breakfast. Very nice to.
    Back to reality …

Leave a Reply

