Earworms 30 September 2013

Reflections of the way life used to be

Reflections of the way life used to be

Five tunes and a You Tube link this week. Apologies to Rich James ‘cos I forgot about the Streets of Rage theme and I can’t download it. So you’ll all have to click on the link.  Thanks to all for the sudden influx of Worms – most welcome – but still plenty of room for more. Keep ’em coming to earworm@tincanland.com.

Big Mama Thornton – I Feel the Way I Feel – goneforeign: From 1966 with Otis Spann at the piano. She was the first to record  “Hound Dog” in 1952, which became her biggest hit.  Her success was overshadowed three years later, when Elvis Presley recorded his more popular version.

The Walkers – Oh Lonesome Me – Sweet Home Alabama: If a bunch of city slickers from Berkeley can sound just like bayou bluesmen, then why can’t a bunch of Dutch blokes sound just like CCR?

The Original Mirrors – Reflections – beltway: Another from Brother Beltway’s extensive early 80’s Liverpool collection – The Original Mirrors were, like so many Liverpool bands of this period, made up of artists who would be/were primarily more famous in other outfits, specifically they had Ian Broudie (formerly of Big in Japan and later to be in The Lightning Seeds) and Steve Allen (aka Deaf School’s Enrico Cadillac Junior) – given their name, this Supremes cover was an obvious one for them, a nice little reworking it is too, reminds you what a great little pop song it is …

Los Cuates De Sinaloa – Negro Y Azul – tincanman: This is a pressie for fans of a certain current blockbuster American TV series. It was a bit hard to find, so I need to pay myself back with watching to see which ‘Spiller figures it out first. It was the opener to only one episode. But the clues are there. 🙂

Seeland – Underpass – Shoegazer: Completely pointless cover version, main difference from the original is that it’s one second shorter.

Yuzo Koshiro – Streets of Rage theme tune – Rich James: Not sure if it would be suitable, but the tune I’ve been listening to the most recently is a theme from an old computer game: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KC-B3Q0cRrY

17 thoughts on “Earworms 30 September 2013

  1. Tinny: Yes indeed, I’d buy that one just for Otis.
    Sinaloa is my second favorite this week, not just because of BB but Mexico runs a close second to Jamaica in countries I love to visit and over the years I’ve come to appreciate their various regional musics. Not sure that I could listen to 10 minutes of ‘Rage’, I gave it about 2. I think I remember Ray Charles singing Lonesome me back in the sixties, I probably still prefer his version.

  2. I liked Reflections and Underpass best.

    I’ve had some terrible earworms stuck in my head recently, these were refreshingly different.

  3. Big Mama: For something so bluesy, I surprised myself by rather enjoying this. Somehow sounds more timeless/less dated to me than some similar such sounds. Dunno why. Her voice maybe. Or the simplicity of the musical backing. Lovely anyway.

    The Walkers: Well, this is jolly. Not ground-breaking but deffo ear-worming.

    The Original Mirrors: I was all set to hate this in a “don’t-mess-with-perfection” sort of way, but it’s rather good. Not as good as Japan’s take on “I Second That Emotion” (have I mentioned that I prefer it to the original?) but rather good. Come to think of it, I reckon Kim Wilde makes a better fist of “You Keep Me Hanging On” than the Supremes, emotion-wise anyway. Who else has improved on Motown classics? Answers on a postcard…

    Right, Bake Off beckons. I’ll get to the rest of these anon. Probably tomorrow.

    • Right, where were we?

      Los Cuates De Sinaloa: No idea what this off – Breaking Bad? Homelands? Whatever, it’s great. Really like it. Lovely crisp, rhythmic guitar work. An authentic version of what old earwormers of mine Mariachi El Bronx were aiming at.

      Seeland: Don’t know the original. I should, shouldn’t I? Yep, like it.

      Yuzo Koshiro: I don’t have the patience for anything that lasts 10 minutes, but the first three-and-a-half* were a lot of bouncy, energised fun.

      Thanks all!

      *How long a pop record should be, as any fule kno.

  4. Big Mama was wondrous as ever, The Walkers were fun, couldn’t enjoy The Original Mirrors at all not the voice or the setting, Los Cuates De Sinaloa were great, Seeland sounded o.k. although I don’t know who did the original. Quite enjoyed the computer game tune too. Oh gawd, the only one I didn’t like was sent in by this week’s guru!!

Leave a Reply

