Festive ‘Spill – 2013

john-peel

As 2013 draws to a close, it’s time, once again, to pick our favourite songs of the year:

– Pick your personal 3 best songs of 2013 (or late 2012) & rank them with #1 being best of all.

– Send your secret ballot, along with mp3’s or mp3 links to shoemail@cfl.rr.com & you’ll get confirmation back (eventually) that your choices are placed.

– If your pick is already taken you can pick a replacement.

– We’ll playlist the results on the ‘Spill, in 3 parts, on: Friday, Dec 20; Sunday December 22 & Tuesday, December 24. All starting @ 6:00 PM (UK Time).

17 thoughts on “Festive ‘Spill – 2013

  1. If I could just pop in here for a minute, I’ve just spent 30 mins trying to post this but as usual WordPress has changed all the rules and the format since I posted a couple of days ago. It’s an item that I know many Spillers would enjoy, it’s at:
    http://www.rollingstone.com/music/news/bob-dylan-goes-interactive-in-like-a-rolling-stone-clip-20131119

    Sorry for the intrusion and I hope that WordPress eventually figures out how to run a website.

  2. For those of you who’ve sent in their votes, just to let you know that I plan to sort through the 1st batch sometime tomorrow.

    For the vast majority that haven’t

    a) There were so many good 2013 tunes, it’s impossible to decide

    b) 2013 was crap

    c) Don’t bug me; I’m busy

    d) Don’t bug me; I’m a procrastinator

    I’m sure it will all work out fine, but there isn’t much time & it would help me out if we could avoid a last minute stampede.

    Thanks to Maki for carrying the invite over to RR.

    Later

    • It’s not so much that 2013 was crap as the fact that I didn’t pay enough attention to it. Saw a few bands/singers for the first time but didn’t listen to a lot of new recordings. Will attempt to put something in the post in the next couple of days.

  3. I’m busy until Saturday night – maybe pushing to Tuesday.
    Then I had the lovely news that all my contracts are NOT being renewed – two days notice -happy christmas eh!

    BUT, it does mean lots of music listening can be done – tunes sorted soon – hopefully.

      • two years ago at christmas – then it was 8 months fight to get compensation for breach of contract – fun eh! no chance of that this time – just pretty much no work left.

        oh well – we are the slacker generation.

  4. My entries coming your way shortly – not as considered as I’d like them to be, life not permitting much time for cogitating at the moment (and shortly there will be even less!), but I can say I do actually love all the tracks I’m sending your way….

  5. Shoey,

    You should have two out of three of mine, but only one mp3.
    Third one – inc mp3 – to follow by this evening.
    Do you need the missing mp3, or have you got it?

    DsD

    • I’m at 2/3, but given the length of one of them, I’m not sure you can have any more picks….Oh go on then – it’s Christmas.

  6. UPDATE.

    All ticking along nicely. Should be caught up with everything sent in through yesterday. Probably won’t get to the next batch until the weekend.

    Sent a mail out to everyone who took part last year. Don’t have an email for SR & didn’t get past TonNL’s spam filter & am all out of pigeons.

Leave a Reply

