Hail and Farewell

Don’t have time for more than a minimalist post at the moment, but wanted to mark the occasion…

HAIL to Ernst-Ludwig Petrowsky on his 80th birthday; doyen of the East German free jazz scene, not least because of his role in the wonderful and subversive quartets Synopsis and Zentralquartett. He was looking very frail when I saw them in the summer, but reports of a recent celebration of Frei Jazz Ost suggest that he’s still going strong.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1yRxRmhZlVg

FAREWELL to the amazing Stan Tracey, one of Britain’s finest jazz musicians of the 60s and 70s. Obituary here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QUNuxalrCis

3 thoughts on “Hail and Farewell

  1. I didn’t stay for the entire piece by the Germans and I’m rather at a loss as what to say except that the quality of the video was totally appropriate for the sound.

  2. I assume that you posted this to get a response, why else would you? And since you included ‘Jazz’ in your description, of course I would be interested.
    Why do you think I was annoyed? I wasn’t annoyed, I was curious, but not curious enough to experience the entire 6 minutes but I think I got the gist. I didn’t say anything critical, I admitted my confusion and made a comment only on the relationship of the quality of the video and the audio. I wondered what it was all about and why a seemingly intelligent person would take the time to present it to this audience and I wondered what response did/do you anticipate from us? As always, I’d love to hear your justification.
    I’m genuinely perplexed; what do you think about when you sit there listening to this?

Leave a Reply

