Sunday Sequence

books

As it was world book day on Thursday last weeks theme was that the songs were all book titles:

Rush – Tom Sawyer

Led Zeppelin – Moby Dick

Black Sabbath – Iron Man

Thanks to bethnoir, Ali and DsD for their suggestions as a fourth song. My fourth would probably have been Kate Bush’s classic:

I remember when this first played on Top of the Pops and was quite blown away.

Had considered Paperback Writer, which is about the only Beatles song I can tolerate but as it doesn’t expressly have a book title it wasn’t completely suitable.

My favourite book remains Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings; in addition to guessing this week’s connection perhaps you’d care to suggest your favourite book.

16 thoughts on “Sunday Sequence

  1. Got it.

    Know title and artist(s: sneaky!) for first two. Don’t know third song, but the voice, and therefore the connection, is unmistakable.

    Great trio of songs. Nice one.

  2. goodness me, I recognised the first vocalist, that’s quite surprising to me. Know the second song but not the band and the third, hate the third vocalist, but I have an inkling that my next choice would be this

    lovely sunny instrumental

    Favourite book is probably Roger Zelazny’s Lord of Light, closely followed by Bram Stoker’s Dracula which I read a 11 and never looked back 🙂

    • bum, that video is not by the original artist, which was kind of the point, sorry. Love the Kate Bush track and Lord of the Rings too.

    • Hi bethnoir, spot on despite the possible incorrect artist / video combination. Looking at DsD’s link that’s one of his favourite books too.

      I first read LoTR about 12/13 and have read it many times since but have only read The Hobbit once.

  3. Hi LIAB – I should’ve got Moby Dick, I knew it but couldn’t think of it … ho hum.
    This week my fourth song choice is:

    Favourite book? Not sure that I have one but will go with Elizabeth Goudge and ‘The Little White Horse’ – a children’s book I loved, as a kid.

    • Morning Ali, good choice for the fourth song.

      Perhaps I’ve still made this too obvious, or taking nothing away from you, bethnoir and DsD you all have exemplary musical knowledge.

      I see I’m going to have to be a bit more devious.

      Interesting that childhood books hold favourite places in our hearts and minds. I still remember a book called The Weirdstone of Brisingamen by Alan Garner, which led me to read The Hobbit and then that naturally led on to LoTR.

      • I read quite a bit of Garner when I was young, but got bored with The Hobbit twice within fifty pages, and never bothered with any more Tolkein.

        My childhood read-’em-’til-they-disintegrate books were the Willard Price “…… Adventure” series, with the Hunt brothers travelling the world capturing animals for their father’s zoo. Not very PC these days, but hey, this was the 1970s!!

      • I loved The Weirdstone too; also The Moon of Gomrath (follow-up), Elidor, The Owl Service and Red Shift (all Alan Garner). I preferred The Hobbit to The Lord of the Rings – LOTR was just a bit too long and convoluted, I’m not very patient. I enjoyed the films, though, because (a) I’m not a purist; (b) Viggo Mortisen or whatever his name is was in it and (c) I could finally make sense of the story without putting the book down and then having to reprise half of it a week later to figure out who was who!

  4. Hi Leavitallbehind

    I got the connection I think, I know the first two tracks but not the last one but I recognize the . . . . . so maybe I know the connection, but I can not think of a track follow on ! ! ! It is beyond my knowledge to suggest one ! ! !

    My favourite book based track is Shunkan Sentimental by Scandal

    The girls who put the Glam into Glam Rock were inspired by the manga Full Metal Alchemist by Hiromu Arakawa for this track.

    I hope you like it ! ! !

Leave a Reply

