Earworms 17 March 2014

“Children begin by loving their parents; as they grow older they judge them; sometimes they forgive them.” (Oscar Wilde, The Picture of Dorian Gray). Discuss. And please send more worms to earworm@tincanland.com.

Absentee – We Should Never Have Children – DsD: When I gurued RRSA Faces, I had a handful of songs I was definitely going to grant a Guru’s Pet A-Pass to. Trouble is, only one of them was actually nominated! I subsequently mentioned most of them (Creed, DCFC, Sass Jordan) post-deadline, but this one just flat refuses to leave my head. I dare say you all know it, but if I don’t find a way to tip it out of my ear soon, it’s going to drive me crazy. I’ve already caught myself singing the opening line when in the same room as DsMam … the consequences of her jumping to the wrong conclusion don’t bear thinking about!

Dollshead: It’s Over It’s Under (Brothers in Rhythm remix) – Abahachi: There was a time when my only exposure to contemporary non-jazz came from Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Been re-watching it recently as a means of relaxing a bit, and it was good to be reminded how good some of the music was. Had forgotten this one, as it failed to make it onto the soundtrack album…

Space – Magic Fly – beltway: The near universal adulation that Daft Punk received for their releases last year made me long for the days when French Electropop had a classier, more mysterious edge and revisit some 70’s classics – here’s the fantastic Magic Fly by Space (not the scouse band) – amazes me how fresh and modern this sounds – not sure if it is ahead of its time or that things just haven’t moved on as much as much as I feel they ought to have!

Olivier Libaux & Emiliana Torrini – Go With The Flow – shoegazer – A totally brilliant QOTSA cover from (you’ve guessed it) – the unexpected covers series.

Matt Stevens – Ghost – glassarfemptee: I ‘collect’ ghost songs, and recently added this instrumental from Matt Stevens (after a tip off from tfd). Whenever I see someone ‘live looping’ I am astonished and delighted at the sheer ingenuity of it.

Milonga Del Angel by Astor Piazzolla – goneforeign: Milonga could refer to a style of tango or a place where tango is danced. This is the great classic Piazzolla quintet, I think they’re fabulous. It’s from the 1987 NY Central Park Concert, Astor plays lead on bandoneon, Pablo Zeigler on piano, Fernando Suarez Paz on violin, Horacio Malvicino on electric guitar and Hector Console on bass. Close your eyes.

16 thoughts on “Earworms 17 March 2014

  1. This week’s standout track, for me, is Milonga Del Angel. Its serpentine tango should have been brought to severin’s attention. I nearly love Ghost but my head keeps telling me that the repeated descent is one beat off where it should be and I can’t reconcile it.

    In general these days I’m fully in accord with the feeling that things just haven’t moved on as much as much as I feel they ought to have! Too many machine thumps and chord sequences repeated ad nauseam.

    But I fully share ghe’s appreciation one (relatively) recent development: ‘live looping’. This years Dead Covers Project threw up this very impressive (yet, inevitably, overlong) solo acoustic version of “Dark Star”:

      • There isn’t an ‘original’ Dark Star, Ali. If the first verse is there, it’s simply another version.

        I’m racking my brain trying to remember the name of the guitar/drum duo I saw with the Clayton Brothers at the Manchester Ritz last year. His looping work was quite extraordinary. DsD?

      • Oh Blimey! Now you’re asking . . . .

        Just making the kids’ tea – I’ll try to reboot my memory. Back later.

    • Thanks, Chris. Excellent. He makes it look so easy, doesn’t he. But I’m sure it’s a game for the consummate musician only.

  2. Absentee goes along with:

    What did I do wrong?
    Oh, you nearly drove me cuckoo.
    Am I really all that bad?
    You’re worse than Hannibal Lector, Charlie Manson, Freddie Kruger.
    Why are we still together?
    Oh, I can’t leave you till you’re dead.
    You mean, “till death do us part”?
    I mean like cyanide, strangulation or an axe through your head.

    or

    You’re a bum
    You’re a punk
    You’re an old slut on junk
    Lying there almost dead on a drip in that bed
    You scumbag, you maggot
    You cheap lousy faggot
    Happy Christmas your arse
    I pray God it’s our last

    or

    I hope I lie
    And tell everyone you were a good wife
    And I hope you die
    I hope we both die

    I hope I cut myself shaving tomorrow
    I hope it bleeds all day long
    Our friends say it’s darkest before the sun rises
    We’re pretty sure they’re all wrong

    all tracks I’ve sung heartily out loud – within earshot of the Ms. – whoops… will try and remember NOT to sing along with ‘We Should Never Have Children’ – slough she never listens to word of tunes anyway – which kind of makes me safe.

    Dollshead is brill – their album was named after one of those Charlotte scary staring faced dolls wasn’t it? – put me off buying it – freaks me out a bit – wanna listen now.

    Emiliana Torrini – always sounds wonderful when an imaginative musician is along for the ride – this is great.

    Enjoyed this list – I would say ACE as I usually do – but as The Guardian magazine’s fashion bit – the measure – going up… stated:

    ‘Ace’ It’s the new awesome. (NB never, ever “aces”.)

    I now need a new word to use unless I want to be mistaken for someone who cares about what’s on trend.

    Brill.

  3. An exquisite and varied set. I liked every one (a lot) but if I had to pick standouts I guess it would be the delicate and transporting Milonga del Angel, and the quirky radio twiddles of the galloping Go with the flow. Magic fly is triffic too. I’m on my third listen to the whole set, and still wanting more. Brill, folks.

  4. Busiest week in a long time at work and home, so no time to pop in to comment properly, but I did listen in when I could – top selection as usual, the Piazolla being gloriously sublime.

    I first came across live looping in a blues bar in Vancouver about 8 years ago and thought it had great potential as a technique though the guy using it in that bar managed to bore the arse off me with it. The Matt Stevens track is great, really does show what you can do with the technique.

    Listened to the selection with my 3 month old son – worryingly he seemed to enjoy the Absentee track most (though that may be to do with his concentration span not being fully developed!), great track though.

Leave a Reply

