Sunday Sequence

image

Thank you to DarceysDad for keeping the Sunday Sequence seat warm for me.

I’ve returned from from my travels and British Summer Time began this morning so let’s hope the wet winter is now fully behind us.

Here’s a note from our Guest Curator on last week’s sequence:

The last thing I’m allowed to do before handing the sequined Sunday Sequence sequencer sash back to its rightful owner is tidy up last week’s mess.
The connection, as highlighted by the capital letters, was Grauniad RR Gurus.
The songs were:
Mountain Goats – Song For DENNIS Brown
MADDY Prior & June Tabor – Doffin’ Mistress
The Futureheads – A Picture Of DORIAN Gray
Grateful Dead – Black PETER
Hat FITZ & Cara – Play Me Something New (Did you see what I did there? Oh please yerselves!)
Willie Nelson – Me And PAUL
Josh Ritter – The Temptation Of ADAM, and
Lunasa – MARTA.

My apologies, I suppose, go to Dave Simpson, Paul Lester and any other staffers who stepped in occasionally.

My suggested extra song award goes to Leavey, for Scissor Sisters’ LAURA, thus ensuring Ms Barton wasn’t left out. Aw, shucks DsD šŸ™‚

 

As always thanks for those who took the time to play and suggest some additional tracks.

DsD has set the bar very high with an octet of tracks so this week I’m going to suggest four but it might take some extensive thinking to find the connection!

What is it with the new playlist editor; you go away for a few weeks and somebody messes around with it (not you DsD) Ā šŸ˜¦

If anyone else would like to pose a sequence I’ll happily let them sit in the seat. Please e-mail me at my posting name at gmail dot com.

 

Keep listening you never know what “Words” you’ll hear!

 

14 thoughts on “Sunday Sequence

    • Hi Cristophe, thanks for dropping by. The idea of the quiz follows the original Friday Night Connection from the radio show with Tommy Vance.

      The four tracks this week have a connection so whilst you’ve identified two artists the idea is to figure out what connects the tunes; it might be the band name, the song, the album or some other tenuous piece of information.

      Once you’ve worked out the connection just post a fitting additional song but don’t name the artists / songs so that other Spillers can work out the connection for themselves

      Cheers.

  1. Leavey,

    De nada, you’re welcome.

    Have been busy all day helping my kids put their Mother’s Day plan into action. Going to watch MotD2 as soon as Darcey is asleep, then it’ll be bedtime for me too. So I won’t get to this until Mon eve. But – as Arnie is find if saying – I’ll be back!

    Cheers.

  2. Hi, rather late because I am still puzzling over this. I know what the tracks are but can only fit 3 into a theme, and it might not even be the right one. Anyway, I’ll suggest Led Zeppelin and “Whole Lotta Love” for the fifth track.

  3. Good for you Ali, ’cause I’m clueless. Not a Scooby on 1 or 4, can never tell one RJ tune from the next without looking at my CD sleeve, and don’t think I’m going to guess the connection from the one song title I do know.

    You got me, LIAB. I’m stumped.

    • Hi DsD, thanks for giving it a go, fiendishly pleased that you’re stumped on this but you might be kicking yourself when I reveal who the first one is, doesn’t the vocal sound familiar?

      Surprised the fourth one isn’t known to you, though to be fair that is quite a tenuous link to the connection but thought they’d been too easy previously.

  4. Every weekend i used to pay a quick visit this site, for the reason
    that i wish for enjoyment, for the reason that
    this this site conations truly good funny material too.

Leave a Reply

