elastic bands – this week: Y

elastic-bands-Y

Why oh why is it Y?
Well, I’m away for a couple of days and really don’t need to come back to a full inbox of astronomical levels – so we get a tough one… and a little earlier in the week.
It’ll be easier next time – I promise.

The game to illustrate either:
How wildly eclectic your taste is… or,
How perfectly streamlined it is.

Rules.
I will post a letter of the alphabet
all BANDS or ARTISTS must begin with that letter.
Artists letter is determined by the letter at the beginning of their SURNAME (if they use it) – ignore the use of ‘The’ in a bands name.
up to 13 songs are allowed – fewer if you wish.
All can be the same artist if that represents you perfectly or all the same genre. Just make them great tunes.

make a youtube playlist (if you wish) and link to it – just link to it – don’t overload the thread.

Cut and paste the band names and tracks (in a joyous list style) in the comments.
Then we can chat about the choices – add some waffle if you wish (about how narrow or varied those choices are) … but above all, have fun.

THIS WEEKS LETTER IS: Y

61 thoughts on “elastic bands – this week: Y

  1. and I’m getting in quick with mine this week:

    PLAYLIST of elastic bands Y

    L’Amourir The Young Gods
    Hysteric Yeah Yeah Yeahs
    Black Flowers Yo La Tengo
    Shangri-la Yacht
    Doctors In My Bed Yuck
    Desire Yello
    Chillin’ Yarah Bravo (immmm that might be B)
    Stephen Hawking The Year Of
    Bust A Move Young MC
    Queen Drum (Henning Fürst Remix) Young Galaxy
    England Story YT
    Get Up Young Fathers
    Never Mess With Sunday Yppah

  2. Hmm. Writing this from Leeds, miles away from record collection, so even less of a clue than normal…

    Powderfinger: Neil Young
    The Only Way Is Up: Yazz
    I Cover the Waterfront: Lester Young Trio
    Owner of a Lonely Heart: Yes
    Only You: Yazoo
    Shapes of Things: The Yardbirds

    Umm…

      • Shame we didn’t manage to meet up. But the more important thing is, do you now have my new mobile number, as I’ve just got an earful from Mrs Abahachi about having to forward messages from the old phone..?

      • Hmm, how to clarify without giving away too much?

        The mob.no. I have has a last three digits which as a number are 340 more than the last three digits of your home no. That appears to be the number your text reply to me came back from yesterday.

  3. Glad i’m not first this week!

    Mine’s gonna be groovy –

    Yarborough and Peoples – Don’t Stop the Music
    Paul Young – Every TIme You Go Away
    Neil Young – Harvest
    Neil Young – I Believe in You
    NeilYoung – Down By the River
    Neil Young – Ohio (technically CSNY, i guess)
    Yardbirds – My Girl Sloopy (prefer the McCoys though)
    Youngbloods – Get Together
    Yes – And You and I
    Yes – Heart of the Sunrise
    Yes – I’ve Seen All Good People
    Yo Lo Tengo – Ohm
    Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Isis

      • At least you made it through a list without repeats. I felt bad hogging so many Yes and Neil Young tunes, but i figured there were plenty to go around. If i picked only one Yes tune, we still would have had the same one.

    • Wow, amylee! Didn’t look first – but see we’ve each listed several Neil Young songs – but all different (well, plenty to choose from). And we’ve each listed a different Paul Young song and a different Yardbirds song (well, I listed 3, in fact.) As to Yes, somehow I never got into their music although well aware of it. Shall give the list a listen.

      • I’m glad someone else listed a Paul Young song, i have a soft spot for his white boy soul. I think there will probably be a lot of Neil Young, Yardbirds, and Yes this week. And probably a few more Get Togethers. I still can’t believe i forgot the Young Rascals. Thought of one or two more artists that chances are good may end up on DsD’s list.

  4. Yazoo – Winter Kills
    Neil Young – Like a Hurricane
    Neil Young – Campaigner

    I would mention my second favourite Yazoo song but I think it’s Beth’s favourite.

  5. Y – tricky. I am wondering if I’ll get to 13 tracks without any repeats this week. Still, here goes.

    Opening up with some late period Yardbirds, a track that would soon be revived in Jimmy page’s next band, followed by some classic Neil Young. Next, a bit of a cheat, because I’ve reversed the names of the two performers. The track is from their legendary “Farewell Aldebaran” album. Next, I take it down to mellow after all the angst. After the Young Rascals, we have the only hit for The Youngbloods, followed by a solo track from that band’s leading light, Jesse Colin Young. Then another bit of a cheat, with Lester Young as the featured soloist in Count Basie’s Kansas City Seven. Now I am struggling a bit.

    Hmmm. Ah, yes, Yeasayer. The video is odd, and it makes me sad, but the song is great and it is followed by some garagey stuff by The Yeah Yeah Yeahs and the laid back psychedelia of Yo La Tengo, then a solo track by Thom Yorke, Young Marble Giants and then, inevitably, the finale by Yes.

    Phew, made it!

    The Yardbirds – Dazed And Confused
    Neil Young – Cinnamon Girl
    Jerry Yester and Judy Henske – Snowblind
    The Young Rascals – Groovin’
    The Youngbloods – Get Together
    Jesse Colin Young – Ridgetop
    Lester Young – Lester Leaps In
    Yeasayer – Madder Red
    Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Cheated Hearts
    Yo La Tengo – Autumn Sweater
    Thom Yorke – The Eraser
    Young Marble Giants- Wurlitzer Jukebox
    Yes – Heart Of The Sunrise

    Carole_Y_list

  6. Hi all. BT engineer on site, so hopefully I’ll be back online later.

    My list will definitely include the already-mentioned Yo La Tengo, Yes, Young Galaxy and Neil Young.
    Noisy metal muthas Young Heart Attack also guaranteed to be in there.

  7. Well it would have been easy apart from the strange reluctance of some Japanese record companies to allow their videos on Youtube ! Oh well !

    So, this week it’s heavy on the Japanese ! ( this is a good thing, trust me on this).

    Yapoos – Barbara Sexaroid ( Robots, Sex, Jun Togawa…perfect !)
    Yanawaraba – Once in a lifetime chance ( Such lovely voices, sound of Okinawa)
    Younha- Shigeru-chu ( Theme from TV show, I think, fine set of lungs)
    Yellowman -Zungguzungguguzungguzeng ( Classic reggae)
    The Youngbloods – Get together ( Hippy anthem, also covered by Jefferson Airplane)
    Yapoos – Red tank ( them again ! Yes, because they are, frankly, brilliant)
    Neil Young – Powderfinger ( not a huge fan, love the guitar on this though)
    Yui- Rolling Star ( Love a bit of Yui)
    Yukari Fresh – Is this disco ? ( Shibuya-kei, therefore electronic pop)
    The Young Man Psycho Blues – My generation ( definitive version of hoary classic)
    Yara Family – Shirahama Blues ( where it all started for me, this is the tune that got me hooked on Japanese music)
    Linda Yamamoto- Neraiuchi ( Go go girl 60s style).

    Link for this lot here http://tinyurl.com/qhktujf

    And last but most certainly not least

    Yuki – End of shite
    http://tinyurl.com/ojjy6up

    Stonker of a song, naughty video , find out what Yuki keeps in her pants !

  8. Whooo! Not the easiest – only achieved 13 with 3 Yardbirds songs (all early) and 3 from Neil Young (from various stages of his life). And a bit of silliness to end the list……



    Yardbirds I wish you would
    Paul Young Anywhere I Lay My Hat
    Neil Young Only Live Can Break Your Heart
    Yazoo – Don’t Go
    The Young Rascals – How Can I Be Sure
    Yardbirds – Heart Full Of Soul
    Neil Young – Rockin’ in the Free World
    Eli Young Band – Even If It Breaks Your Heart
    Yamo – Time Pie
    Yardbirds – Over, Under, Sideways, Down
    Neil Young and Crazy Horse – Jesus’ Chariot
    Gabriel Yared – C’est Le Vent, Betty
    The Young Ones with Cliff Richard – Livin’ Doll

      • Thank you! But have decided independently (in the absence of directions to the contrary) just to post a list without necessarily looking too closely at what anyone else has posted.. Amylee has listed 4 Neil Young songs, I have listed 3, without checking her list first, no duplications….! Don’t think duplications matter as long as you’ve thought of the song yourself and not just copied someone else’s suggestion. (Well, that’s what I think, anyway.) So do go ahead and post a list!

  9. Ys are a difficult bunch, so some repeats for me too and lots of overlaps and still not a full house:

    Youth of Today – Slow Down
    Youth of Today – No More
    Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Maps
    Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Art Star
    Young Heart Attack – Over and Over
    Neil Young – Hey Hey My My (Into the Black)
    Neil Young – The Needle and the Damage Done
    Thom Yorke – Harrowdown Hill
    Yossarian – Gilbert and George
    Yuck – Suicide Policeman
    Yuck – The Wall

    • Can’t forget Yournalist’s C’Mon People, so will drop The Youngsters from that list.

      Donds Yello, Yeasayer, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Youth of Today, YUKI, Yeasayer, Yo La Tengo, Yazz, Yazoo, Young Rascals, YACHT, YT, Yapoos.

  10. Could only manage 10 this week !!

    Blue Line Swinger – Yo La Tengo
    Cortez the Killer – Neil Young
    Suffice to Say – The Yachts
    Shapes of Things – Yardbirds
    Groovin – Young Rascals
    I’m Gonna Tear Your Playhouse Down – Paul Young
    I Come Off – Young MC
    Don’t Stop the Music – Yarborough and Peoples
    If Only I Could – Sydney Youngblood
    Apparently Nothing – The Young Disciples

  11. Well, with a fair bit of repetition, I’ve eked out 13 (many fairly inessential, if I’m honest)…

    James Yorkston: When the Haar Rolls In
    James Yorkston & The Athletes: 6.30 Is Just Way Too Early
    Will Young: Leave Right Now
    Thom Yorke: All For The Best
    Yazoo: Only You
    Yazoo: Nobody’s Diary
    Yello with Shirley Bassey: Rhythm Divine
    Udit Narayan, Alka Yagnik, Sukhwinder Singh: Ghanan Ghanan
    Udit Narayan and Alka Yagnik: Kuch Kuch Hota Hai
    The Younghearts: A Little Togetherness
    The Yum Yums: Gonna Be a Good Thing
    Timi Yuro: It’ll Never Be Over For Me
    Youth and Maria McKee: Sweetest Child

    bish’s elastic Y bands

  12. Very light pickings this week.

    My Yes tune is Circus of Heaven, love this track and honestly like Tormato as an album.

    A bit of “teen” rock inherited from my youngest (now 22): You Me At Six and Underdog. AIP where are you as I bet you’d back me on this one.

    Neil Young – Down By The River Not a big fan but recall thus was B-listed when I did RR Las

    Yello – The Race, well because otherwise I’d only really have two justifiable tunes.

    One last nom, Weird Al Yankovich, well no one else has suggested one and you could pretty much choose any number from him but for me here’s Amish Paradise.

    Why O Y?

  13. I can’t think of enough I really love to bother with a playlist this week, so it’s a short and sweet from me

    Yazoo- Ode to Boy (Severin, I can’t choose between this and How Winter Kills, love both)
    Young Gods – Skinflowers
    Yardbirds – Shapes of Things

    that’s it 🙂

  14. Apologies for earlier faffing about. I posted a very brief list (of three!) last night while in bed as the thread arrived early.
    Then added to it as I suddenly thought of a couple more songs. Not in the spirit of the thing at all.
    Still, having perused me Youtunes, I’d like to make this my actual definite final list. There’s a calypso about not liking bebop. I couldn’t find any bebop numbers disparaging calypso to redress the balance.

    LINKY

    Young Tiger – Calypso Be
    Neil Young – Campaigner
    Yazoo – Winter Kills
    Young Jesse – Hit Git and Split
    Young Marble Giants – Final Day
    Akiko Yano – Sake In The jar
    Neil Young – Like A Hurricane

  15. This week has got to be easier for non-Anglo music, methinks.

    Camille Yarbrough – Take Yo’ Praise (this is not a youtube link, she’s blocked there for my country of residence)

    Here’s the youtube playlist

    the Young Tradition – Byker Hill
    Gabriel Yacoub – Les choses, les plus simples
    Yodelice – Fade Away
    Yelle – Que veux-tu
    Les Yeux D’La Tête – Ma bande
    Y’akoto – Diamonds
    Yusa – No tengo otro lugar
    the Yardbirds – For Your Love
    Neil Young – Are You Ready For The Country?
    Yazoo – Nobody’s Diary
    Yothu Yindi – Gapu
    Ylvis – The Fox

    That’s a bit of folk, a lot of French music, today’s favourite Neil Young track, Yazoo because I, too, was a teenager once upon a time, and I’ve put Ylvis right at the very end so that everyone who’s annoyed by it can just switch it off (Little’Un sings it for me every single day, so it HAS to be on my list)

    Talking of Kiddies, TheBoyWonder’s band The Box was one of the winners of the Hamburg up-and-coming music prize Krach & Getöse today – proud Mum just had to throw that in 😉

    • Well done, The Box. Now if you don’t mind, it’s time for Bed (which is still in the, er, ‘Box, I think, Debby).

    • know what you mean about Neil Young fave of the day. Harvest and Ohio would have made any list of mine, but i had more spots to fill so i grabbed some other faves out of thin air. Could have easily been virtually any other neil tune on here. Could have done an all-Neil list without cracking a sweat.

      • I picked Cinnamon Girl because it has one of those so-simple-but-so-great guitar breaks in it. There are, as you say, so many great Neil Young songs.

    • and since no one seems to have mentioned Sugar Mountain, i’ll chuck that in too. And Cripple Creek Ferry and Don’t Let it Bring you Down and etc.

  16. Despite having released 37 solo albums, it’s funny how a lot of the Neil Young love is for Everybody Knows this is Nowhere – one of my top ten albums of all time. I’ll add a shout out for Cowgirl in the sand too…

  17. Why Y? Why not?! is here: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLE10l5zRUbEAwzvZGBLZl1wA1eMnSAjLD

    Yo La Tengo – Pass the Hatchet, I Think I’m Goodkind
    Young Heart Attack – Misty Rowe
    (I wanted the LP version of Starlite, but couldn’t find it.)
    Neil Young – Piece Of Crap, with a vid RockingMitch will approve of.
    INSERT YUKI’S THE END OF SHITE HERE.
    The Yoshida Brothers – Storm
    Yes – Going For the One
    The more classic proggy Yes hasn’t aged well chez DsD.
    Young Galaxy – The Alchemy Between Us
    Paul Young – Wonderland
    I was the first person in Chester to buy W.I.L.M.H.
    Young Galaxy – Embers Love this album; almost picked Lazy Religion too.
    Yo La Tengo – I Feel Like Going Home A massive, MASSIVE late-night fave.

  18. I’ll be mainly Groovin’ along with the Young Rascals this week.

    There must be a Neil Young song I like, in a curmudgeonly way.

  19. just had a nice week in rome. Ys are tough so a limited list. usual result for me on RR.

    NY – heart of gold
    ypants – love’s a disease
    yuck – get away
    youthmovie soundtrack strategies – ores
    yo la tengo – you can have it all
    yeah yeah yeahs – zero
    young marble giants – colossal youth
    yona-kit – franken-bitch
    young gods – dame chance

    Ys

  20. Y not?

    Yello (22)
    Yo La Tengo (5)
    Yacht (4)
    Yeah Yeah Noh (4)
    Yeah Yeah Yeahs (4)
    Neil Young (4)
    James Yorkston (3)
    Pete Yorn (2)
    Young Galaxy (2)
    Young Marble Giants (2)
    Yamantaka // Sonic Titan (1)
    Gabriel Yared (1)
    Yazoo (1)
    Yellow Fever (1)
    Yoshida Brothers (1)
    You Already Know (1)
    Young Fathers (1)
    Young Husband (1)
    Your Hand In Mine (1)
    Yuck (1)

    • i was going to say a huge dond for Your Hand in Mine, till i realized i meant to dond the song from Explosions in the Sky. If i can remember that for E.

  21. Haven’t bothered with a link as I haven’t anything vastly different; here you are:

    Yapoos – Not Dead Luna
    Yes – Siberian Khatru (and many others)
    Yo Yo Ma – Brasileirinho
    Thom Yorke – Black Swan
    Neil Young – After the Gold Rush
    Youngbloods – Darkness Darkness

Leave a Reply

