Earworms 28 April 2014

Well, be careful what you wish for, daddypig … this week’s set is definitely eclectic – taking us from primordial ooze to Jah himself. Or herself, depending on your point of view. Anyway, have at ye and keep sending those worms to earworm@tincanland.com. Many thanks to all.

Mudhoney – Chardonnay (Live) – panthersan: The return of Mudhoney has been nothing short of triumphant and they seem much better now than they were the first time around. In this short, sweet number he really really doesn’t like Chardonnay!!

The Sugarcubes – Birthday – CaroleBristol: This is the Icelandic version of “Birthday” by The Sugarcubes. I am sure that this was most people’s introduction to Bjork, it was certainly mine and this song never fails to excite me. No one else does what Bjork does.

Wakey! Wakey! – Crazy – debbym: I love this cover, with its minimal piano intro and heartfelt vocals and wild, wild strings. I believe they’re way crazier than Gnarls Barkley.

Redhead Kingpin & The FBI – Do The Right Thing – DsD: DANG, but this is a stubborn little worm. Been refusing to leave my head since the Elastic Bands R-week. I refuse to be infected on my own.

Disrupt – Selassi I Continually – Shoegazer: New series: Dubtronica

Dennis Brown – The Existence of Jah – goneforeign: Another Jamaican Rasta song about Jah, this one by Dennis Brown, possibly the most popular singer in Jamaica during the 80’s, a serious and dedicated Rastaman. I love the bassline in this song, it’s by Lloyd Parks, probably Jamaica’s greatest bassist.

12 thoughts on “Earworms 28 April 2014

  1. A nice half dozen Ali. Dennis Brown could sing a bad instruction manual and still make it sound good. Redhead Kingpin – great dance tune with a fantastic KC & The Sunshine Band sample.
    The ethereal Sugarcubes, a dubwise Disrupt – all good.

  2. Yes, indeed, this is a quirky bunch.
    I have to appropriate Mudhoney’s singer’s attitude to the drink and apply it to the song. Sorry, panth.
    Yes, Bjork is a talented and inventive artist – and her presence in the world of music is more valuable than 90% of performers – but I’m not a fan of the noise she makes or of listening to it through a bucket of something-or-other.
    The Crazy rework improves hugely on the original. I do like the strings and I’ll forgive the vocal affectation in this context. Full marks for doing it so differently that it becomes emotionally involving for the audience.
    As tuneless talky-rhymey things go, Do The Right Thing is OK. The background is good.
    I’m torn between the two reggae tracks. The real one is copper-plate stuff (very well done, I hasten to add, but still a God song with predictable music) but the overall sound and construction of the new-fangled dubby one is more interesting.
    I think Crazy gets my vote. Thanks, folks.

  3. Very late listening to this week’s selection, ended up listening whilst mowing the lawn – oh how middle age has bitten hard!

    Unusually for me, the majority of this week’s picks were not particularly to my taste. The Disrupt and Dennis Brown were both wonderful and very much my thing (and Dubtronica sounds like an excellent series).

    Mudhoney were always one of those bands that I just could never click with, no matter how evangelistic friends were about them, and this track equally just passes through my ears leaving no impression. Never quite understood the Chardonnay snobbery thing either – save for it’s one time ubiquity (and forgetting some of those eyewateringly over-oaked mass produced Aussie ones), it’s a grape that produces some excellent wines.

    Bjork similarly is an artist that I know I should like and admire more than I do, and some of her solo stuff is wonderfully inventive, but I’ve never been able to get into the Sugarcubes, this one included.

    The Crazy reworking is nice and dramatic, certainly worth a listen. Sorry DsD, the Redhead Kingpin does nowt for me!
    Right, roll on the next set!

  4. There was certainly no danger of slipping into a particular mood this week ! Apologies for being a little late to these, I was working on my post – a rare occurrence – when they went up.

    I don’t know much about Mudhoney, and what I do know is from a younger friend, who adored Nirvana in her early teens, but had an epiphany when she realised she preferred The Spice Girls to Mudhoney ! I’m pleased their return has gone well, and this tune powers and grunges along – but I fear my neck muscles will, at my age, never be sufficiently developed to join in wholeheartedly.

    The Sugarcubes track is great, a recent rediscovery for me, this seemed appropriate for a 40th birthday playlist for the above friend’s husband (a track from every year, this got the 1987 spot). Of course it’s only the title which is appropriate for the turning of a friend’s decade – the actual lyrical content is deeply not.

    That’s a crazy version of Crazy. Once I’d got over my disappointment that it wasn’t the Wille Nelson / Patsy Cline tune, I really enjoyed it. I used to play the violin at school and I still like to hear a fiddle on a pop record.

    It’s more than a bit worrying that DsD has now submitted three Earworms in a row that I like. Good rhythm to go with a good message.

    Shoey’s Dubreonic works for me, it seems to bring all the pleasures of the dub genre, without the baggage I still associate with the old-school version, from going to too many terrible parties, waking up on a cold floor, in my clothes, stinking of other people’s smoke.

    GF and I have swapped Dennis Brown appreciation before in this series, so this was a grand way to round off the playlist.

    Thanks to Ali and contributors !

  5. I think my neck muscles were done for many years ago, mostly on ‘rock night’ at The Granary. Back in the day …

Leave a Reply

