elastic bands – this week: D

elastic-bands-D

Dandies, doppelgängers and darstardlies …
The game to illustrate either:
How wildly eclectic your taste is… or,
How perfectly streamlined it is.

Rules.
I will post a letter of the alphabet
all BANDS or ARTISTS must begin with that letter.
Artists letter is determined by the letter at the beginning of their SURNAME (if they use it) – ignore the use of ‘The’ in a bands name.
up to 13 songs are allowed – fewer if you wish.
All can be the same artist if that represents you perfectly or all the same genre. Just make them great tunes.

make a youtube playlist (if you wish) and link to it – just link to it – don’t overload the thread.

Cut and paste the band names and tracks (in a joyous list style) in the comments.
Then we can chat about the choices – add some waffle if you wish (about how narrow or varied those choices are) … but above all, have fun.

THIS WEEK IS: D

94 thoughts on “elastic bands – this week: D

  1. Gonna be three lists from me: one for Dakota Suite, one for Drive-By Truckers, and one for the rest of the Ds. But not tonight: got an early start in the morning – I’m being sent to Coventry [insert your own punchline here].

    G’night all.

    • Dexys Midnight Runners – Burn It Down
      Dead Mans Shadow – Toleration Street
      The Dark – Einstein’s Brain
      The Dickies – Roadkill
      Dead Kennedys – Moon Over Marin
      The Disrupters – Stonehenge
      The Destructors – Police State
      Drongos For Europe – British Summertime
      Dead Wretched – No Hope For The Wretched
      Dog On A Rope – No Surrender
      Defects – Defective Breakdown
      Discharge – Decontrol
      Defcon Zero – Rats

      • D’oh. I appear to have invented a Destructors song called Police State when in fact it should be FORCES OF LAW. They probably did a song called Police State – everyone did back then.

      • Pairubu – will trade Moon Over Marin for California Uber Alles if you like. California is my favourite but I was in more of a Marin mood.

        Fuel – I hadn’t thought of it but I think it’s very good cleaning music. Personally I find the Varukers the optimum soundtrack for house cleaning.

  2. Drive by rtj, i’ve got a busy week this week.

    DKs – Too Drunk to Fuck
    Distillers – Drain the Blood
    Divinyls – I Touch Myself
    Deftones – Change
    Destroyers – Bad to the Bone
    Doors – Roadhouse Blues
    Pete Doherty – Albion
    Ani DiFranco – Garden of Simple
    Decemberists – June Hymn (I live on Spring Hill in Somerville, so …)
    Jakob Dylan – Something Good This Way Comes
    Bobster of the Moment – hmmm. ok, My Back Pages.
    Dippy Donovan of the Day – Catch the Wind
    Derek and the Dominoes – Layla

    • I thought we’d do D this week and so put on the days of wine and roses while doing the artwork – and didn’t take it off. Just a perfect album for me.

      • Cheers. That album will be with me wherever I go.

        The playlist consists of the first indie rock/pop/dance bands on my laptop, except for The Dream Syndicate, who were the first band I thought of.

  3. D – OK, so I can just do a Dylan list, can’t I?

    No, I’ll try and avoid that, though it is hugely tempting.

    MInd you, I could easily do a complete Sandy Denny list too!

    Right, I know where to start and it is with Like A Rolling Stone, live from Newport in 1965.

    The Doors seem like an essential on this list, as do the Doobies. Dinosaur Jr have to feature too, so another slot filled.

    Dr Feelgood too, but it has to be with Wilko, not Gyppie Mayo and Derek and The Dominoes are here mainly because of Duane Allman.

    Lots og Miles Davis I could pick, but I am going late period, with Marcus Miller on bass.

    Dead Can Dance are also on the list, because Lisa Gerrard’s voice is amazing. Sandy Denny and Nick Drake could both feature with complete lists, but I’ll restrain myself.

    Judy Dyble, the original Fairports vocalist is here with a cover of a King Crimson song from one of her unfairly overlooked solo albums.

    OK, last two tracks. Next up has to be The Durutti Column and to finish, here’s Daft Punk.

    Pretty varied, I think.

    And no Dido.

    Bob Dylan – Like A Rolling Stone
    The Doors – Riders On the Storm
    The Doobie Brothers – Long Train Running
    Dinosaur Jr – Freak Scene
    Dr. Feelgood – Going Back Home
    Derek and The Dominoes – Why Does Love Got to be So Sad?
    Miles Davis – Tutu (Live in Stuttgart 1988)
    Dead Can Dance – The Host Of Seraphim
    Sandy Denny – Listen, Listen
    Nick Drake – Northern sky
    Judy Dyble – I Talk to the Wind
    The Durutti Column – Sketch for Summer
    Daft Punk – One More Time

    Carole_D-lite_list

  4. D
    Is der a Dr in da house of da rising ‘Spill? Three, actually. And a Duke.
    Dddddropped

    Duke EllingtonMood Indigo: Any other of our suggestions earn a Pulitzer?
    Debo BandAsha Gedawo: Inventive spins on Ethiopian folk and pop, Boston strong
    DoomtreeSadie Hawkins: The clean lyricked Minnesota rap collective, home of ‘Spill fave Dessa
    David DonderoPlease Hand Me Over To The Undertaker: Gets my vote for best least-known American songwriter
    Donna SummerI Feel Love: Don’t throw her out with the disco bathwater.
    Dolly PartonJolene: Sequins disguise gifted song craft.
    Dave Van RonkLast Call: Written on a pub crawl with some combination of Joni Mitchell, Dylan and Cohen – so legend has it
    Danny SchmidtGrampa Built Bridges: It’s a mistake to dismiss him as Mr. Carrie Elkin.
    David LindleyBourgeous Blues (w Ry Cooder): A true eccentric. Those he ‘accompanies’ end up sitting back in amazement
    Doc PomusSend For The Doctor: Need a hit record? Send for the legend.
    Doc WatsonRising Sun Blues: No Animals were injured during the pickin’ of this song
    Dr JohnBig Chief: N’orleans, I’m yours. Please come and collect the body
    DawesMost People: Too good to dismiss for sounding so Jackson Browney
    Dead ExsTrouble In Kind: New York garage alt-blues. No frills. None needed, or wanted.

    • We had quite a discussion when we did the first letters game about how we would alphabetise the artists name and came to the agreement: ‘Artists letter is determined by the letter at the beginning of their SURNAME (if they use it)’ .. we thought this was pretty standard apart from the idiots at iTunes.
      I know you wasn’t about at the beginning of the game, and you may well just feel like swimming against the tide, and I can totally agree with that attitude – but I thought i’d point it out just in case you hadn’t read the blurb.

      Loving the lists anyway – only a few that jump out as names I know – the rest are ‘new to me’s’ so I’m glad of the pointers in your write up – cheers tinny…

      …ignore this if you wanna carry on doing it the iTunes way 😉

      • ah, didn’t realize there’d been a conclave. i came to the show late, and did it my way *sings* simply because that’s how my music files are physically named and sorted. It’s always such an eye opener for me to discover the world hasn’t adopted the same defaults I use. Explains a lot about my life, really…but I digress.
        cheers

  5. A sunny day, the dog needs walking, the house needs cleaning (badly*), what better time to sit back with a cup of coffee and waste the day away ! Bliss.

    Dion – Runaround Sue ( toss up between this, I wonder why, teenager in love and the wandered)
    Dr. Hook and the Medicine Show – Freakin’ at the Freaker’s ball. ( freaky)
    Driving Stupid – Horror Asparagus stories ( warped 60s strangeness)
    The Doors- Moonlight Drive ( Always a fave, it’s that bit where the slide guitar goes “snick”)
    Donovan – The Trip ( Don gets all druggy and mysterious in a good way)
    Dolly Mixture – Everything and more ( Great little band, records don’t do them justice)
    The Damned – Neat Neat Neat ( First to release a British punk single and album, deserve credit)
    Death Set – Negative thinking ( just fun)
    Devo – I need a chick (NSFW ! Early Devo, Clanky and way ahead of their time 1974 !)
    The Dead Kennedy’s – Holiday in Cambodia ( Just a punk classic)
    Dogbowl – I had a dream of the plague ( Vid takes a while to get going, love this album so much, Mr Bowl was in King Missile and it shows)
    Doddodo -猫がニャ~て、犬がワンッ ( Nyah cat-dog want-tsu) ( I think this is a trad song, I’msure I’ve heard it before but not like this ( techno !).
    Dissidentan- Sahara Electric ( Saving ,perhaps the best till last, combine German rock and Morocco’s “Beatles” and this is what you get. Just…..fab !)

    They can be found here http://tinyurl.com/mpksqnz

    I’d have chucked in Bob Dylan’s Just like Tom Thumbs’s Blues too, my absolute fave of his songs.

  6. Difficult this week, because several of the tunes I’d like to have included are not available on German youtube, so apologies to Nick Drake (Free Ride), Alela Diane (Black Sheep), Doris Day (anything from the DUETS album with Andre Previn) and Paul Desmond (Desmond Blue) – on the other hand, I suppose it helped with whittling down the numbers.

    debbym’s playlist here

    Barry Dransfield – the Werewolf
    Sandy Denny – Late November
    Bob Dylan – One More Cup Of Coffee
    Julie Driscoll – Season of the Witch
    Betty Davis – Nasty Gal
    Ian Dury – Billericay Dickie
    the Doors – Love Her Madly
    Dionysos – Tais-Toi Mon Coeur
    Ani di Franco – Little Plastic Castle
    Stephanie Dosen – This Joy
    Dry The River – Weights And Measures
    Dr. John – Litanie des Saints
    Giorgios Dalaras – Paraponemena Logia (Words Of Sorrow And Complaint)

  7. ok – I am assuming that Doc Alimantado is a D not an A. Had to miss out Doris Day, Terence Trent D’Arby, De la Soul, Desperate Bicycles and sundry others but before I change my mind again………….

    Delta 5 – Mind Your Own Business
    Doctor Alimantado – Born For A Purpose/Reason For Living
    The Damned – Smash It Up
    Dubstar – Not So Manic Now
    Judith Durham – The Olive Tree
    Ian Dury – Dance Of The Screamers
    Desmond Dekker – It Mek
    Devo – Jocko Homo
    Dillinger – Cokane In My Brain
    Deee Lite – Groove Is In The Heart
    Sandy Denny – Tomorrow Is A Long Time
    Doctor Feelgood – Back In The Night
    Bob Dylan – Simple Twist of Fate

    Obviously I would pick a different Dylan song if asked five minutes later, in fact I’m already wondering if it should have been Visions of Johanna.Or possibly When The Deal Goes Down.

    • Yeah, Dylan is a tough one. Even if I’d picked 13 Dylan songs, I’d still think I should have picked different ones after I posted the list.

    • I’m an idiot. TTD’s Wishing Well would have so been on my list. Devo did enter my mind and i promptly forgot it, but i don’t mind so much leaving them off my list as they’re on others. Probably Whip It or Mongoloid for me.

      Same with me for Dylan – and i don’t have a single fave, so i tried to stay away from the ones i knew were faves of other people.

  8. Deluxe – My Game
    Betty Davis – Shoo-B-Doop And Cop Him
    Darker Shades Of Black – Nothing Like Love (on S.E.X.)
    Defunkt – Strangling Me With Your Love
    Detroit Swindle – Thought Of She
    Dirty Diggers -That’s Why
    Dizz1 – Everyday Grind (ft Aloe Blacc)
    Doc Brown -Real Balls (comic & teach from 4o’clock Club. Funny rap)
    Detroit Emeralds – You’re Getting A Little Too Smart (oft sampled gem)
    Dyke & the Blazers – Let A Woman Be A Woman BY
    Sam Dees – Lonely For You Baby
    Doves – Almost Forgot Myself
    Dynamix II – Just Give The DJ A Break
    Deep Blue – Helicopter Tune (more Moving Shadow class)

    • Added Dirtbombs – Your Love Belongs Under A Rock. Think it was happyclapper who said every home should have Ultraglide In Black. I agree.

      • Ouch! That’s damn hot. Dirtbombs do Detroit Techno sounds divine!

        Sounds like Dick Dastardly at the start of the Dynamix tune. I have it on a FabricLive set mixed by The Herbaliser – now that is a nice playlist!

        It took me about 50 billion hours to put this list together on YT then scribe them all on here using my son’s kindle, as my macbook’s broke. The kindle doesn’t like playing playlists, it keeps sticking, so not been able to listen to any yet.

  9. D livery:

    Dub Syndicate (25)
    Ian Dury (9)
    Decemberists (7)
    Dandy Warhols (5)
    Kimya Dawson (5)
    Dead Kennedys (5)
    Delgados (5)
    Doors (5)
    Dubblestandart (5)
    Dalek I Love You (4)
    Damned (4)
    Death Cab For Cutie (4)
    Depeche Mode (4)
    Diagram Brothers (4)
    Dub Pistols (4)
    Durutti Column (4)

    • FOUR from Dalek I Love You?

      Blimey. Even with the added Liverpool schooldays nostalgia factor I don’t feel that fond of them.

  10. Have tried not to repeat others so no Doors, or Dr Feelgood included. In no particular order:

    Alela Diane – Black Sheep (for debbyM)
    Charlie Dore – Pilot of the Airwaves (still think it’s a good song);
    Craig David – 7 Days (sorry)
    Darts – Boy from New York City (thanks tin)
    Deep Purple – Black Night (tho I prefer Sweet Child in Time)
    Dido feat Faithless – One Step too Far (sorry Carole)
    Doobie Brothers – Long Train Running (old favourite)
    Ivan Drever – Orkney Anthem (another old favourite)
    Lana Del Rey – Video Games (creepy but I love her voice)
    Nick Drake – Black Eyed Dog (my favourite ND song)
    Taj Mahal & Toumani Diabati – Queen Bee (much mentioned before by me)
    Ali Farka Toure & Toumani Diabati – Debe (ditto)
    Robin Dransfiueld – The Barley and the Rye (a novel method of making crop circles)
    The Darkness – I Believe in a thing called Love (wonderfully OTT)

    https://www.dropbox.com/sh/larx68id652fuha/AAAfZT22-jHqv1SZOXzPFSiJa

  11. Definitely not Definitive but Diverse and surprisingly Danceable Ds:

    Dee-Lite – Groove Is In The Heart
    Dream Warriors – My Definition of a Boombastic Jazz Style
    De La Soul – Tread Water
    Disposable Heroes of Hiphoprisy – Television, the Drug of the Nation
    Dirty Projectors – Stillness is the Move
    Bob Dylan – It’s Alright Ma, I’m Only Bleeding
    The Decemberists – Leslie-Anne Levine
    Nick Drake – Northern Sky
    The Delgados – Pull The Wires From The Walls
    Alela Diane – Age Old Blue
    Tanya Donnelly – After Your Party
    Dire Straits – Brothers In Arms
    Deacon Blue – Dignity

  12. Ds

    sorry but you get 2 DCD and Disco Infernos

    desert sessions – crawl home
    dead can dance – avatar
    disco inferno – the atheist’s burden
    darkside – heart
    dinosaur jr – start choppin’
    the dismemberment plan – memory machine
    the deep freeze mice – neuron music
    disappears – fear of darkness
    deus – instant street
    dcl locomotive – king midas in reverse
    discharge – state violence state control
    dead kennedys – halloween
    drones – i don’t ever want to change
    dead can dance – the cardinal sin
    disco inferno – the last dance

    Ds

  13. Deep Purple Lazy..live Doors la woman Damned New Rose
    Sandy Denny who knows where the time goes Dylan Hurricane
    dr feelgood milk &alcohol dury reasons to be cheerful

    • seem to have missed Bo Diddley ( roadrunner ) Derek & Dominoes let it rain-live Miles Davis so what and who were the Dukes of the Stratosphere ?

  14. D is for diversity

    Chris de Burgh, oh go on, that must count: First up that never ending poker game between God and the Devil: Spanish Train.

    Pretty much a one-hit wonder from Deep Blue Something and that pop tastic Breakfast At Tiffany’s.

    From a catchy ear wormy tune to a fine guitar rock classic from Deep Purple – Woman From Tokyo – awesome intro.

    Del Amitri and Nothing Ever Happens.

    My first country tune this week is John Denver. So many to choose but let’s have Take Me Home, Country Roads.

    To another great intro from Dexys and Geno, a regular in car favourite of Mrs. Leavey.

    Here’s a quiet one from Dire Straits and Private Investigations. I had considered Telegraph Road or Industrial Disease, but this will do from that classic Love Over Gold.

    Another ‘country’ tune from Dixie Chicks and Travellin’ Soldier, great song about a young girl falling for a new recruit going off to ‘nam.

    Next two songs are from the early seventies: The Doobie Brothers, Listen to the Music and Dr. Hook with Sylvia’s Mother.

    The Doors obviously and my pick is Break on Through (To the Other Side)

    So many possible songs from Neil Diamond but this always moves me when it comes on: Soolaimon.

    My closing song is The Damned and Eloise.

    • I think we all forgot The Drifters. I’m not sure how that happened. I think I’d probably go for On Broadway which I sing to myself every time I go through Tooting Broadway on the Northern Line.

  15. Here’s my D-list of “others”, i.e. excluding Dakota Suite & DBT.

    I’ve combined this with a CtrlF search of the page, and mostly tried to pick artists (or at least songs) so far unmentioned:

    Death Cab For Cutie – Transatlanticism
    Def Leppard – Too Late For Love
    Deep Dark Woods – The Sun Never Shines
    Dolorean – Beachcomber Blues
    Distant Cousins – You Used To
    Marcella Detroit – Boy
    Dread Zeppelin – Feel Like Making Love
    Dan Reed Network – Mix It Up
    Dub Trio – One Man Tag Crew
    Death In Vegas – Amber
    Terence Trent D’Arby – Wet Your Lips
    The Devastations – A Man Of Fortune
    Deep Purple – Sail Away

    Donds for Devo, Drifters, DiVinyls, Deee-Lite, amongst others.

    I would’ve picked different tunes by Miles Davis, The Dickies, Deftones, Dr. Feelgood, His Bobness, Ian Dury and Dr. John.

    Where are Depeche Mode, De Rosa, Dirty Three, Doves, Dandy Warhols, The Datsuns, The Donnas etc., etc?

    Bedtime now – got TWO jobs on tomorrow.

  16. A surprisingly good letter giving a decent range of tunes

    This Stone is a Bullet – Dogs
    Desolation Row – Bob Dylan
    Break on Through – The Doors
    New Rose – The Damned
    Black and White Town – Doves
    Never Come Down – Drugstore
    She Got a Wiggle – Dexys
    Freak Scene – Dinosaur Jr
    California One/Youth and Beauty Brigade – The Decemberists
    Maybe It’s Love – The Distractions
    All Through the City – Dr Feelgood
    Sweet Gene Vincent – Ian Dury
    Tonight We Fly – The Divine Comedy

  17. Darstardly D’s PLAYLIST

    until lately the dream syndicate
    Everebody’s Weird dEUS
    You Won’t See Me In the Morning (Previously Unreleased Bonus Betty Davis
    Just Like Heaven/Freak Scene/ etc etc etc Dinosaur Jr
    Under The Stairs De Rosa
    Queen dot kong The do
    Holding Out For A Hero Doveman (‘footloose’ on the playlist)
    Little Britain Dreadzone
    Untitled Departure Lounge (‘be good to yourself’ on the playlist)
    Dance Little Rude Boy Ian Dury & The Blockheads
    The Sun Baxter Dury
    Twinky Dallas (‘six for fix’ on the playlist)
    Gesamtkunstwerk Dopplereffekt
    Fools The Dodos
    Darling, You’re Mean The Duke Spirit
    Cosmic Cars The Dirtbombs
    Isabel Baxter Dury

    if DJ fits in D then these would be included somewhere:
    GDMFSOB [Unkle Uncensored] DJ Shadow Feat. Roots Manuva
    We Know Something… DJ Format Featuring Chali 2na & Akil
    Turtle Soup (Luke Vibert Mix) DJ Food
    Signs (Bonobo Mix) DJ Badmarsh & Shri feat. UK Apache

      • I have one week left until it is hung – I’m still rabbiting away on work – the images are coming thick and fast – they have been swelling in my head for ages so getting them down and framed is great. Trouble is, I still have to all all my other things too, small child is very creative so is painting along too, but then he wants to move on to the next thing and it’s hard (for me) to stop in the middle of printing things up.. but it’s fun.

        Still got a touch cast to help with for the techies and maybe a little animation (I like stretching myself to the final moment) – will see how that goes. The framed stuff is most important – will post some stuff once it is all finalised.

      • looking very forward to seeing them!

        I’m hoping that sometime later in the summer i’ll be able to take some time to get to work – right now i’m just gonzo shooting and starting to work my ass off at a job, but rent needs to be paid first, and i’m going to need some new equipment too. My lease is up end of August with option to renew – i like where i live now and my housemate, but ideally i’d like to get my own place with a studio room. Need mo money and mo problems i guess.

  18. Terrible trouble posting yesterday – they wouldn’t even let me post an apology for a wrongly posted link. Apologies anyway. Feel like scrapping the whole list and starting again but in case this does post, this is what it was –
    Sandy Denny – John the Gun
    The Doors – People Are Strange
    Donovan – Song of the Wandering Aengus
    Cara Dillon – Black is the Colour
    Claude Debussy – The Girl with the Flaxen Hair
    Deep Purple – Highway Star
    Dhol Foundation – Big Drum. Small World
    The Demon Barbers – The Chemical Worker’s Song
    Dexy’s Midnight Runners – Geno
    Dion and the Belmonts – Teenager in Love
    Desmond Dekker – Shanty Town
    Ian Dury – Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick
    The Dubliners – The Zoological Gardens
    Bob Dylan – Mr Tambourine Man

    Yes I know there’s 14 because I got to the end and realised I’d miscounted and had not yet included Dylan. (Scrap Dexy’s if you like). And like everyone else it seems I forgot the Driters. D’oh! It would’ve been Saturday Night At The Movies if only I’d thought of it. 😦

  19. Yes it’s me, Suzi. Having terrible trouble posting here, dunno why. Tried logging in with my Facebook account not realising it would inevitably come up with my full name….and my Facebook picture……so now you know, if you didn’t already!!

  20. Late to the party (and somewhat repetitive of others’ lists) but…

    Nick Drake: Northern Sky
    The Delgados: Everything Goes Around the Water
    Depeche Mode: Never Let Me Down Again
    Doves: There Goes The Fear
    Destiny’s Child: Bootylicious
    Desireless: Voyage Voyage
    Neil Diamond: If I Never Knew Your Name
    Raghu Dixit: No Man Will Ever Love You, Like I Do
    Simon Dupree & The Big Sound: Kites
    Dream Academy: Life In A Northern Town
    The Decemberists: The Crane Wife 3
    Donovan: Catch The Wind
    Dexy’s Midnight Runners: The Waltz

  21. Very very late to this, and no time to read the whole thing, so I think I’ll have to write out my initial list and then Ctrl-F to see how many have already been taken…

    Deep Purple: Perfect Strangers
    Def Leppard: Hysteria
    Dire Straits: Love Over Gold
    Miles Davis: ESP
    Bob Dylan: Blind Willie McTell (of course I could easily do 11 Dylan songs…)
    Divine Comedy: Everybody Knows (Except You)
    Dr Hook: More Like The Movies
    Dub Mafia: Under the Radar
    Dido: Here With Me
    Dubstar: St Swithin’s Day
    Daft Punk: Giorgio by Moroder

    I think the Dire Straits is actually the only one that’s been taken; so, second choice is It Never Rains.

Leave a Reply

