elastic bands – this week: M

elastic-bands-M

More massive marvelous mechanical mouse organ music at the middleofnovawhere***
The game to illustrate either:
How wildly eclectic your taste is… or,
How perfectly streamlined it is.

Rules.
I will post a letter of the alphabet
all BANDS or ARTISTS must begin with that letter.
Artists letter is determined by the letter at the beginning of their SURNAME (if they use it) – ignore the use of ‘The’ in a bands name.
up to 13 songs are allowed – fewer if you wish.
All can be the same artist if that represents you perfectly or all the same genre. Just make them great tunes.

make a youtube playlist (if you wish) and link to it – just link to it – don’t overload the thread.

Cut and paste the band names and tracks (in a joyous list style) in the comments.
Then we can chat about the choices – add some waffle if you wish (about how narrow or varied those choices are) … but above all, have fun.

THIS WEEK IS: M

***just in case anyone is in Norfolk from Saturday and wants to see MASSIVE saneshane art works.

112 thoughts on “elastic bands – this week: M

  1. ok my rapid response…..

    Matching Mole – O Caroline
    Mott The Hoople – All The Young Dudes
    Massive Attack – Unfinished Sympathy
    Joni Mitchell – Circle Game
    Joni Mitchell – Little Green
    Joni Mitchell – The Jungle Line
    Mental As Anything – The Nips Are Getting Bigger
    Monkees – I’m A Believer
    Misty In Roots – Oh! Wicked Man!
    Morrissey – Suedehead
    Kylie Minogue – I Should Be So Lucky
    Modern Lovers – She Cracked
    The Members – Sound Of The Suburbs

    • massive dond for All the Young Dudes. Makes my life a bit easier. Also Joni and the Monkees – both on my list but with different tunes. Oh, huge dond for O Caroline too, forgot all about them.

    • Deffodonds for The Members – see my comment about M / M&tMs below.
      Misty In Roots at Bradford Uni in ’83/’84 remains one of the best gigs I’ve EVER been to in my life. Sadly nothing I have on record from them is a patch on the memory of that night. Those who’ve met me will have a hard time believing that I spent almost the whole night dancing with utter abandon on a table top, fuelled by nothing more exotic than a couple of cans of Red Stripe!

      • I was thinking of the version on their Live at the Counter Eurovision album but you’re right. None of the records quite match the live experience.

  2. I’ve still got two D-playlists to compile!!

    There’s a few one-offs in my Ms, such as
    Mtume – Juicy Fruit: damned sexy bedroom music.
    Martika – Love, Thy Will Be Done isn’t far behind it either!
    Martha & The Muffins – Echo Beach and
    M – Pop Muzik; both MASSIVE if you’re my age.
    Massive Attack – Teardrop and
    Muse‘s version of Feeling Good, which are such favourites by those artists that no other tunes really get a look in, even though I own multiple albums by each.

    The rest will have to wait. G’night.

  3. Got some of my fave rubbish tunes in this one too.

    MBV – Only Shallow
    Van Morrisson – Tupelo Honey
    Monkees – I Wanna Be Free
    Moody Blues – The Actor
    Joni Mitchell (of the day) – Court and Spark (or Down to You, hmm.)
    Mazzy Star – Fade Into You
    George Michael – Father Figure
    Miracles – Going to a Go Go
    Bob Marley – No Woman No Cry
    Stephen Malkmus – Jenny and the Ess Dog
    Morrissey – Jack the Ripper
    Mott the Hoople – All the Way From Memphis
    Mushroomhead – Sun Doesn’t Rise
    Marilyn Manson – This is the New Shit
    Metallica – Enter Sandman
    Metallica – Orgasmatron

    list in awhile

  4. MBV, Kirsty MacColl, Matching Mole, Van, Mazzy Star, Malkmus, Mothers Of Invention, Microdisney, a Marsalis or two, David Murray’s version of Samson and Delilah, Alanis Morrisette’s JLP (as celebrated by Coogan and Brydon so well recently).

  5. Some recent listening:

    Muhsinah – Construction
    Georgia Anne Muldrow – Run Away
    Maddslinky – Compuphonic
    Madvillain (MF Doom + Madlib) – Rhinestone Cowboy
    Lee Perry & Mad Professor – Mad Man Dubwise
    Miss Kittin – Maneki Neko
    Myron & E – Do It Do It Disco
    Martyn – Viper
    Justin Martin – Buggin
    Manitoba – Hendrix with KO
    Morphine – Supersex
    Maria McKee “Panic Beach”
    Malcolm Middleton – We’re All Going To Die

    LINK: Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

    • Donds for Panic Beach. There’s one of my possible MMcK choices I can leave out without guilt. Malcolm Middleton (and, fwiw, Aidan Moffat too) are going to miss out from my final 13, but I’d have picked Malcolm’s Blue Plastic Bags.

      • Cheers. The MMcK choice was the toughest to make as I actually thought about that, the others were already in current playlists. Good call on MM, actually, I’d probably go with MM & Alan Bisset collabo “The Rebel on His Own Tonight” if I did the playlist again.

        Let’s have another playlist kicking off with Curtis Mayfield, MARRS, Souad Massi, Mercury Rev Meat Puppets, Madness, Thurston Moore… Fuck it! Too bloody difficult.

    • How could I forget Mmmmmmmmmiss Kittin?! Great choice.

      Brilliant bouncy list – with GAD, Madvillain and Myron & E, it couldn’t not be. I love Muhsinah and I really love Justin Martin’s grimy funky rework of ATCQ, but most of all I love that slinky Maddslinky vid!

      • Muhsinah only entered my consciousness yesterday – found her after after playing Kalae All Day. She does a cover of Radiohead’s Scatterbrain that is great. Have I sent you the Justin Martin? An album for rump-shaking dancing or simply listening to.

  6. Joni Mitchell – The Last Time I Saw Richard
    John Martyn – Small Hours
    Merzbow – Balance of Neurosis
    My Bloody Valentine – I Only Said
    Mojave 3 – Love Songs on the Radio
    Magnetic Fields – I Don’t Believe in the Sun
    Kirsty MacColl – Don’t Come The Cowboy With Me Sonny Jim
    Magazine – Shot By Both Sides
    The Monkees – Porpoise Song
    Natalie Merchant – My Beloved Wife
    Sarah McLachlan – Into The Fire
    Kate and Anna McGarrigle – Heart Like A Wheel
    The Monks – Nice Legs Shame About Her Face

    • Instadonds for Mojave 3 and Natalie Merchant.
      Headslap donds for Magazine.

      All three are permanent fixtures on my Walkman.

      Again, my Joni and Sarah McLachlan choices are going to be different.

    • Super choice for Monkees song, have you heard the Bongwater version ?
      Also tipping metaphorical hat to Merzbow and Magazine

  7. Here it is – nearly scrapped and started again. Two favourites, Madness and Monkees begin, and Monkees feature again later. Considered a few others but either didn’t know them well enough or didn’t like them enough.



    Madness – Our House
    Monkees – Daydream Believer
    Manics – If You Tolerate This, Then Your Children Will Be Next
    The Marvelettes – Please Mr Postman
    The Maytals – Sweet and Dandy
    John Mellencamp – Hurts So Good
    Meatloaf (with Cher) Dead Ringer For Love
    Ennio Morricone – Theme From The Mission
    Bob Marley – One Love
    Joni Mitchell – A Case of You
    Jim Moray – Gypsies
    The Monkees – Last Train To Clarksville
    W. A. Mozart – Clarinet Quintet 4th Movement

    • Was tempted to include Modest Mouse but I only really know them from the song I listed last week and thought that might be cheating. Forgot Alanis Morissette – am I allowed to add her? Ooops, I just have, Hand In My Pocket makes it 14 (guilty look). Morricone’s music for the Mission is gorgeous and less familiar than his Spaghetti Western music. And if you don’t care for classical music, or Mozart in particular, maybe put your prejudices aside for a moment and just listen. Could’ve chosen a number of Joni’s songs, but this is a favourite.

      • Was also tempted to add Modest Mussorgsky but figured that enough was enough….Night on Bald Mountain would’ve been the choice.

      • Thank you very much!!

        I have yet to predict which letter saneshane will choose on any given week. Still, as the number of available letters decreases, maybe eventually……

    • Oh blimey Madness! I had a shufty through the vinyl records last night and somehow missed them!
      I’ve told this story before but I used to hang around with a close friend of theirs. When they were changing their name from The North London Invaders, she asked me if I had any good suggestions they could use.
      Of course I dithered and ummed and ahhed and they ended up picking the name Madness. Who knows? I could have held their career back by years……….

  8. Mmm..

    미미랑 미남미녀 – “미미미미미미 ( Mimi Sisters- Mimimimimimi)- ( Koreans throw neo-rockabilly party, all invited, some piddling about at start of vid)
    My Little Airport -悲傷的採購 ( Hong Kongers, fragile indie)
    Morrisey- Now my heart is full ( Full orchestra Mozzer, epic)
    Mahlathini and Mahotella Queens – Thokozile ( “Zulu Jive”, can’t keep still !)
    The Mamas and Papas- Glad to be unhappy ( Sunny and yet depressing !)
    Matt Monro – Born Free ( Features lions)
    The Mekons – Where were you ? ( Bwang, it goes, then BWANG again !)
    Mika Bomb – Contact Tokyo ( Based in London, heart in Tokyo)
    Milkees- Go ! Go ! Girls ( Super adorability alert, soooo cute !)
    Modern Lovers – Girlfriend ( Arty and yet simple)
    Monotones – Legend of Sleepy Hollow ( Oo aar, ciss boom bah ! How rock and roll is that ?
    The Muffs – You can cry if you want ( Fuzz up a hoary old Trogg classic and this is the result)
    Mukimukimanmansu – Andromeda. ( If the Raincoats relocated to Seoul and went bonkers they might sound like this. Best of the lot, IMHO but then what do I know. again vid features some messing about at start).

    Link to songs http://tinyurl.com/qbxx5rt

  9. No Marillion, Maximo Park, Mayfield Four, M People, Marmaduke Duke, Molly Hatchet, Muddy Waters, Mumford & Sons, The Music, or MCR spoken for yet so it’s going to be a great list of M’s.

    • Molly Hatchet are in mine. (As are the so far unmentionedMontrose, Ian McNabb, The Mighty Wah!, Mogwai, Shawn Mullins, My Morning Jacket, Morcheeba, MSG, Mother Love Bone, Mansun, Jesse Malin …..

      * takes deep breath *

      Thirteen, Rich, just thirteen. Do some work, and come back later. Thirteen, thirteen, thirteen …

  10. My playlist

    Some familiar names, some beautiful Portuguese music, the French equivalent of Ougenweide and a little bit of funk. The Monkees missed out to Van Morrison, Curtis Mayfield didn’t get a look-in and the hardest bit was choosing just one track by Kate & Anna McGarrigle.

    Maria Muldaur – Don’t You Feel My Leg
    Geoff Muldaur – Wild Ox Moan
    Malicorne – Complainte du coupeur de bois
    Imelda May – Knock 123
    Madredeus – Ao longe o mar
    Joni Mitchell – For Free
    Kate & Anna McGarrigle – Naufragee du tendre
    Mother’s Finest – Baby Love
    John and Beverley Martin – Go Out And Get It
    Laura Marling – Devil’s Spoke
    Christy Moore – Ride On
    Ewan MacColl – The Moving On Song
    Van Morrison – And It Stoned Me

    • Donds for Christy Moore, Ewan MacColl and Laura Marling, all inexplicably forgotten by me, and also for Van Morrison and Joni.

  11. A moving playlist:

    Frankie Medina & Jose ‘Jr’ Jimenez – Freak Funk Mojo (or Mofo)
    Mousse T. – Horny (ft. Hot ‘n’ Juicy)
    Mr Fingers – Can You Feel It
    DJ Mink – Hey! Hey! Can U Relate
    Million Dan – Dogz N Sledgez
    Monkey Steak – Toxic RIP VIP
    Mooncat – Selector
    Mr Scruff – Spandex Man
    Mark Murphy – Milestones
    Main Source – Looking At The Front Door
    Madkap – Dopest Verse
    Maddslinky- Hiding Place (feat. Tawiah)
    Maga Bo – Galope (feat. Robertinho Barreto)
    LK (It’s The Way) ~ DJ Marky & XRS
    M-Beat – Sweet Love (Feat Nazlyn)

    LINK: A moving playlist

  12. Modest Mouse’s 2007 LP We Were Dead Before The Ship Even Sank temporarily ‘Boxed. I’ll take it out again just before tomorrow night’s TOFF.

  13. missed out some stuff i like, but i like this stuff too 😀

    mirrors – hide and seek
    moog cookbook – rockin in the free world
    my enemy – khreis
    mazzy star – blue light
    monochrome set – he’s frank
    mighty lemon drops – the other side of you
    meat whiplash – don’t slip up
    money mark – maybe I’m dead
    meat puppets – away
    my bloody valentine – you never should
    middle east – jesus came to my birthday party
    mercury rev – goddess on a highway
    metz – wet blanket

    Mmmm

  14. magazine song from under the floorboards
    mott thunderbuck ram
    mannfred mann saturn off solar fire with the earthband
    marley no woman no cry
    mountain nantucket sleighride from the live album
    mayall steppin out ..all eric .. one with JM witchdoctor ??
    man daughter of the fireplace
    mahavishu orch thousand island park
    mitchell goodbye pork pie hat.. anything off mingus

    • rats forgot motorpsycho wishing well

      motorhead no sleep to h’smith
      melaine four in the morning
      monkees scouse git – stepping stone
      frankie miller voice like gravel
      maria malduar sang something
      mungo jerry baby jump
      madness house of fun ..just for getting it on totp

  15. Harder than I thought and I’ve had to miss out several: John Mayall, Mumford & Sons, John Mayer, Don McLean, Molly Hatchet (DsD due to pick one from them), Maria McKee (Drinkin’ In My Sunday Dress), Marilyn Manson (tho’ I’d have chosen a cover), The Manhattan Transfer, Mad Season (DsD might pick them – please), Mamas and Papas, Moody Blues, Bob Marley and Amy Millan. It’s unlucky that those 13 didn’t make my A-List.

    Which acts appear in my bag of M&M’s?

    A late sixties opener from The Move and Fire Brigade.

    I think we agreed earlier that Muddy Waters (aka McKinley Morganfield) was an acceptable ‘M’ so my choice is Rollin’ Stone.

    Alanis Morissette has already been mentioned and here’s You Oughta’ Know.

    A story about two American kids growing up in the heartland: John ‘Cougar’ Mellencamp with Jack and Diane – I so love this song.

    Many of you will know that one of my favourite groups is Alter Bridge and the lead singer is one Myles Kennedy, well before he was in AB he fronted The Mayfield Four, this is Eden (Turn The Page).

    Two ‘M’s’ for the price of one, here’s Meat Loaf with the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra backing him on For Crying Out Loud.

    Heather Small has (IMHO) a sensational voice here’s M-Peaople performing Colour My Life on Later With Jools, fantastic.

    So many, many Marillion songs it’s hard to whittle it down to one, think I need to employ an Assassin(g) to remove the rest from contention, but it’s difficult.

    Simon Neil’s side project is Marmaduke Duke, enjoy Rubber Lover, it’s short and ‘sweet’.

    It’s not just ‘men’ who play lead in a band here’s Maximo Park, and Girls Who Play Guitars.

    Staying in the North of England here’s Leeds’ The Music and Breakin’.

    Muse and an early one from them ‘before Matt got all ‘sciencey’ and Plug In Baby.

    I’ll close with rare footage of a local band (to me) playing The Joiners (well known music venue in Southampton). This is Mamas Lips and She’s Alright.

    A mixed bag, some old well known ones and hopefully a smattering of new to you that you’ll enjoy.

  16. So so mmmmmmany to choose from. Without checking the collection and just off the top of my head:

    MonoYearning (Japanese post-rock par excellence)
    Make UpBorn on the Floor (Mr. Svenonious at his histrionic best – really struggled to pick just one from them!)
    Maria MinervaA Little Lonely (Estonian house)
    Mayhem Cursed In Eternity (Trve Norwegian black metal, from the first wave of the second wave!)
    McluskyLightsabre Cocksucking Blues (a modern classic from the Welsh rockers)
    Mutar Muhammad Bayat al-anwar (extended bozouk freakout)
    Menswe@rBeing Brave (Britpop classic)
    M’n’Ms Knock Knock Knock (new wave all girl group that only recorded about 5 minutes of music over their career!)
    Mu Chan ClanSmash it With a Brick (Japanese version) (Japanese electropunk madness)
    MudboyHungry Ghost (super droney drone from Not Not Fun records)
    Mops Hayaku (not sure of the real title, actually, that’s just what I call it!) (ace 60s Japanese Groupsounds action)
    MagooA to Z and Back Again (Super indiey indie that only a John Peel could love!)
    Mogwai Mogwai Fear Satan (just one of the single greatest tracks I know and a good way to end any set)

  17. Johnny Moped – No One
    Menace – Screwed Up
    Major Accident – Representation Not Reality
    Microdisney – Gale Force Wind
    Magazine – Permafrost
    Marionettes – Ave Dementia
    March Violets – Walk Into The Sun
    The Mob – Witch Hunt
    Mere Dead Men – Instigators
    Mau Maus – Running With The Pack
    Mayhem – Streetfight
    Mass Murderers – Fight
    Motorhead – Motorhead (live)

  18. Dan Mangan – Post War Blues (I think this was an earworm, but can’t remember whose. It’s good);
    Ewan MacColl – The Shoals of Herring (First heard on TV, never forgotten, I carried it in my head for years, before I found out who it was);
    Glen Miller – In the Mood (Classic);
    Imelda May – Johnny Got a Boom Boom (Kick-ass music, as Debby might say);
    John Martyn – Rollin’ Home (Too many to choose from);
    Joni Mitchell – River (I love Joni when she doesn’t hit those high notes);
    Kirsty MacColl – Dancing in Limbo (Could have been “What Do Pretty Girls Do?”);
    Manhattan Transfer – On a Little Street in Singapore (Dancing, Student Union, drunk, c.1978);
    Maria McKee – Show Me Heaven (Love it, though it’s not “me” at all);
    Massive Attack – Hymn of the Big Wheel (I think someone chose “Teardrop” already?);
    Melanie – Ruby Tuesday (Great song);
    Ralph McTell – Another Rain (From “Not Till Tomorrow”, c1973, one of the 1st albums I bought);
    Steve Miller Band – Wild Mountain Honey (Old favourite);
    The Miserable Rich – Boat Song (Earworm from Beth, a beautiful, tender song).

    Lots I’ve left out, including Bob Marley, Manic Street Preachers, Don McLean, Sam Mangwana, Milladoiro. Here’s the link: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/wbr13qfuutfkggu/AABqim8ySoKxodWIwye9vUCCa

  19. In the end, I was in a “loud music” mood when I picked my baker’s dozen. It does get quieter towards the end, but I got to 13 before I’d had a chance to include the promised Mtume, Joni Mitchell, Massive Attack, Shawn Mullins or even M‘s 70s quirky pop classic. I forgot Muse’s Feeling Good until I was into the quiet songs, and I still can’t seem to adjust a running order, so I dumped it.

    Hopefully, 13 Mmmms are here:

    • Duh. The list is:
      Motorhead – Overkill
      Montrose – Space Station #5
      MSG – Attack Of The Mad Axeman
      Molly Hatchet – Boogie No More
      My Morning Jacket – One Big Holiday
      Ian McNabb – Liverpool Girl
      The Mighty Wah! – Heart As Big As Liverpool
      Maria McKee – You Gotta Sin To Get Saved
      Martha & The Muffins – Echo Beach
      Mogwai – CODY (Come On Die Young)
      Mad Season – River Of Deceit
      Martika – Love, Thy Will Be Done
      Sarah McLachlan – Possession

  20. Hello

    Some thoughts:

    Melanie – Ruby Tuesday.
    Mussorgsky – The Great Gate Of Kiev.
    Marvelettes – Reaching For Something I Can’t Have,
    Mahler- Adagietto (from Symphony 5).
    Mama And Papas – I Saw Her Again Last Night.
    Massenet – Meditation.
    Mighty Wah – Story Of The Blues.
    Madness – One Better Day.
    Matt Monroe – Softly As I Leave You.
    Mott the Hoople – All The Young Dudes.
    Monitors – Crying In The Night.
    V Morrison – Have I Told You Lately That I Love You.
    Barbara McNair – You’re Gonna Love My Baby.

    • Thanks to Ali and leaveitall for their kindness. I seem to have duplicated earlier suggestions with Ruby Tuesday and All The Young Dudes, apologies. I’ll go to the bench and fill the breach with She (Monkees) and Looking For You (Garnet Mimms) both of which should probably have been in the starting line up on more careful reflection.

  21. As threatened here’s a “b list” which includes some songs that would have made my original list if I’d stopped to think for longer and some that nearly made it the first time.

    Magazine – The Light Pours Out Of me
    MARRS – Pump Up The Volume
    John Martyn – Couldn’t Love You More
    Miracles – You Really Got A Hold On Me
    Madonna – Into The Groove
    Mekons – Where Were You?
    Van Morrison – Madame George
    My Bloody Valentine – You Made Me Realise
    Matt Monro – On days Like These
    Junior Murvin – Police and Thieves
    Madness – Michael Caine
    Lutricia McNeil – Ain’t That Just The way
    Mask – Blue Words

    Still didn’t find room for Motorhead, Kirsty McColl, Mamas and Papas or Monty P. Or for about 20 more Joni Mitchell songs.

  22. Once again very late – I’m sure that at some point my life is going to calm down and get back on track… Once again, will post list and then do ctrl-f to check for duplication.

    Massive Attack: Safe From Harm
    Mogwai: I Choose Horses
    Motorhead: Overkill
    Meat Loaf: Two Out of Three Ain’t Bad
    Manic Street Preachers: Motorcycle Emptiness
    Make-Up: Hey Joe
    Albert Mangelsdorff (with Don Cherry): I Dig It – You Dig It
    Men They Couldn’t Hang: The Colours
    Mayte Martin: Usted
    Charles Mingus: Better Get It In Your Soul
    Thelonius Monk: Straight No Chaser
    Mott the Hoople: All The Young Dudes
    Kirsty McColl: A New England

    Damn, the Motorhead has been taken: substitute Killed By Death. Ditto Mott the Hoople, and since that’s the only track of theirs I really like… Madonna, True Blue.

  23. Before I sleep – Mazzy Star
    Touch Me I’m Sick Mudhoney
    You’re an Artist [Alternate Version] Morphine
    Dead Disco Metric
    Yehlisan’umoya Ma-Afrika (African Nation Calm) Busi Mhlongo
    Black Cadillacs Modest Mouse
    A Brighter Beat Malcolm Middleton
    Thinking is Killing Me (7″ version) The Manhattan Love Suicides
    Disko Bliss Maria Minerva
    All My Little Words The Magnetic Fields
    The Longshot Megson
    New Monster Avenue The Mountain Goats
    Perfect World Miles

    LINK: M+M Music fact 10c

    b – list gets a little noisier in places:

    Explosions The Mary Onettes
    We Will Asphyxiate ++Money Can’t Buy Music
    Wangu feat. Tony Allen & OG Spiritual Godess Makossa & Megablast
    Living in China Men Without Hats
    Hip Hop, Be Bop (Don’t Stop) Man Parrish
    Original Stylee Manix
    King Of The Beats Mantronix
    Dance Yourself To Death (License to Thrill) (License to Thri MC Tunes Vs. 808 State
    Magic Carpet Ride [Fatboy Slim Latin Ska Acid Breakbeat Mix] Mighty Dub Katz
    Dancehall Places Mint Royale
    $20 M.I.A.
    Queen Black Acid Menomena
    Awesome pride Mink Lungs
    Lady Modjo
    I’ve lived on a dirt track all my life Manitoba
    Bums Mi & L’Au
    Skunk Walk Michna

    • big dond for Morphine, love their sound! I sat next to a member of Mint Royale at a friend’s wedding, he was lovely

  24. Had to miss out loads this week

    Mott the Hoople – Saturday Gig
    Mozza – Hairdresser on Fire
    Mekons – Where Were You
    The Members – Solitary Confinement
    Toots and the Maytals – Pressure Drop
    Bob Marley – Revolution
    Magnetic Fields – 100,000 Fireflies
    Stephen Malkmus – Church on White
    Mummra – What Would Steve Do?
    The Monochrome Set – He’s Frank
    The Metros – Education part 2
    Menace – GLC
    Matt Munro – On Days Like These

    other good stuff Mountain, Massive Attack, Madness, Magazine etc

  25. A bit late to the party due to working away from home this week, but M is a very fruitful letter, I think.

    We are going to start with something pretty obvious, My Bloody Valentine and then move onto a live version of John Martyn from the OGWT and then some Van The Man, and from there we have to go to your actual Man, Wales’ answer to Quicksilver Messenger Service. Then we have some Moby Grape, a band that surely influenced Man.

    After this, we have a tenuous Van Morrison link with Montrose (Ronnie Montrose actually played guitar on the Tupelo Honey album, as well as on tracks on other Van LPs) and then, we have to have some Gary Moore. You can’t have M without the Mahavishnu Orchestra, so they are up next, not to everyone’s taste, I know, but I love them.

    Keeping it guitar-heavy, next is some Metallica, obviously, and then the great MC5.

    After that, a change of pace with Steve Mason and Curtis Mayfield, finishing with the shimmering beauty of Mazzy Star.

    My Bloody Valentine – Soon
    John Martyn – I’d Rather Be The Devil
    Van Morrison – Saint Dominic’s Preview
    Man – Many Are Called But Few Get Up
    Moby Grape – Indifference
    Montrose- Space Station # 5
    Gary Moore – Parisienne Walkways
    Mahavishnu Orchestra – Meeting Of The Spirits
    Metallica – Nothing Else Matters
    MC5 – Kick Out The Jams
    Steve Mason – Oh My Lord
    Curtis Mayfield – Freddie’s Dead
    Mazzy Star – Look On Down From The Bridge

    Carole_says_ Mmmmmmm_that’s nice

    • Amazing that I didn’t list Joni Mitchell, Mozzer, Johnny Marr, Mogwai, Stephen Malkmus, Bob Marley, Matching Mole, Magazine, Mercury Rev, Steve Miller, Motorhead or Junior Murvin.

      M was always going to be tough.

  26. Mmmm:

    Mountain Goats (42)
    Magazine (37)
    Massive Attack (14)
    Monochrome Set (13)
    Mogwai (9)
    Mazzy Star (7)
    Muse (7)
    Meat Beat Manifesto (6)
    Mercury Rev (5)
    Malcolm Middleton (5)
    M.I.A. (4)
    Steve Mason (4)
    Tom McCrae (4)
    Motörhead (4)

  27. I’m even later this week, due to a combination of birthdays and work, anyway, in case anyone is still reading, here are mine

    1. My Dying Bride – A Cruel Taste of Winter
    2. Motorhead – The Ace of Spades
    3. Moto Boy – Blue Motorbike
    4. Morphine – You Look Like Rain
    5. The Mission – Raising Cain
    6. Midlake – We Gathered in Spring
    7. March Violets – Snakedance
    8. Madonna – Frozen
    9. Magnet – Corn Riggs
    10. Momus – I am a kitten
    12. Moonspell – Luna Still
    13. MBV – Strawberry Wine

    eclectic I think, but who knows?

  28. Finally (long after we’ve all moved on to the next topic) I have finished my Youtube playlist of all 26 songs. Blue Words by Mask wasn’t available so I replaced it with their equally atmospheric Space In Between. Now for that pesky letter T……………….

Leave a Reply

