Earworms 9 June 2014

Get your dancing shoes on this week, and let the good times roll – ‘Spill points if you can identify the ‘Spillers above, without offending anybody. When you’ve finished, please keep the earworms rolling on in to earworm@tincanland.

Louisiana Funky Butts Brass Band – Laissez Les Bons Temps Rouler – CaroleBristol: OK, this is the Louisiana Funky Butts Brass Band with Laissez Les Bons Temps Rouler. This is a nice slinky, Cajun-style tune with some nice down ‘n’ dirty horn playing and great syncopation. Laissez les bons temps rouler!

Royaltones – Hong Kong Jelly Wong – pairubu: Discovered by accident on i-Tunes, how could anyone resist a song with a title like that ? It’s Doo-Wop, 50s I suspect and totally wonderful.

Dave Alvin – Ashgrove – tincanman: Everyone had a club where their young ears and musical sensibilities (or insensibilities) were informed, and most of them seem closed now. In L.A.subversives met to play folk, blues and rock and roll at the Ash Grove. http://bit.ly/1kqGMOB.

Peter Tsotsi & Nashil Pichen – Pole Musa – beltway: A big hit in Kenya from the late 60s from this influential duo, the influence of Western Guitar pop is evident but it is very much of its place and time and is just so cheer inducing it should have you grinning from ear to ear all the way through.

Dana Valery – You Don’t Know Where Your Interest Lies – bishbosh: A sassy, brassy, ever so slightly camp take on the Simon & Garfunkel song. Always gets my toes tapping – and that “You don’t begin to comprehend” never fails to raise a smirk.

The Tommy Ladnier Orchestra – Really the Blues – goneforeign: In 1938 the French jazz critic Hugues Panassie was so concerned that the then trend towards big band jazz would cause the original New Orleans style to become obsolete and forgotten, he came to New York to assemble a group of the finest N.O. players still alive and to record them for posterity. The group was led by trumpeter Tommy Ladnier and featured Sidney Bechet and Mezz Mezzrow. The set of recordings became known as the Panassie Sessions. Here’s my favorite, Really the Blues with Bechet on soprano and clarinet. By some odd circumstance, when I was 14, I found myself backstage at the only Sidney Bechet performance ever in London, talking to him, I’ve no idea how I got there. He was not the god like figure I’d anticipated, what I remember is a smelly old man.

15 thoughts on “Earworms 9 June 2014

  1. Wow what a brilliant collection of songs. My least favourite is probably the only song I knew ‘You Don’t Know……’. My overall favourite will probably vary with moon and tides.

  2. What a nice surprise, Earworms bookended with N.O. music ancient & modern and The Ashgrove slap in the middle, thanks for that one Tinnie. I was truly one of those ‘LA subversives’, the Ashgrove on Melrose Ave became a regular haunt when I wound up in LA in 1958. I strongly suggest that you follow Tinnie’s link to the piece written by Don Heckman of the LA Times, it brought back so many memories for me, one was the name Ed Pearl, we became close friends over the years, I made a film about his brother Bernie, a well known LA blues player. The Ashgrove was a great, funky club that probably cemented many of my musical tastes. Thanks again,

    There’s a good live video of Dave Alvin with the Guilty Women at:

    This was the band I saw him perform with in an apple barn about a mile from my house last year.

  3. Another related memory from back then. Right after WW2 we were living in Barnehurst, Kent [S.E. London] I went to Woolwich Polytechnic High School about 12 miles away. I used to go on the 698 trolleybus and I’d always get the front seat upstairs. I’d just discovered jazz and had taken to it hook, line and sinker. Mezz Mezzrow wrote a book which by co-incidence he titled ‘Really the Blues’, I read that book every morning on my way to school, there were parts of it that were so funny to my immature mind that I often found myself laughing out loud hysterically on an 8am bus crowded with grumpy, sleepy travelers who found nothing to laugh about, I was subjected to all sorts of comments to ‘Shut up!’, but I couldn’t.

  4. Looks like an interesting set. Will have to listen later and provide my thoughts tomorrow.

    Second note to self, get those Earworms over to Ali 😉

    • The saying goes: where there’s muck there’s brass; there’s a lot of brass this week but no sign of muck.

      Great selection of tunes here Ali, well curated.

      People are going to start to talk but I’d like to go to the Ashgrove especially if tinny and goneforeign are there, wonderful tune that.

      That’s not Really the Blues, no it’s gotta be some smooth jazz, that’s my second favourite tune this week.

      Dana comes in third and I didn’t realise that was a S&G tune.

      Next comes Louisiana Funky Butts Brass Band, what a name so don’t you be no “foulyez” and let the good times roll.

      Didn’t know what to make of the next one: Hong Kong Jelly Wong but as pairubu says who could resist it with such a sweet title.

      Rounding up this half dozen: Pole Musa, neatly ties up today’s worms.

  5. Cracking selection this week, brightened up my journeys too and from work.

    The Dana Valery one is my star pick of the week – I really like the S&G original but feel that it is ruined by that weird bit where it breaks into a strange little jazzy middle 8 that has absolutely no relation to the rest of the song – great to see that she disposes completely away with it, and the song gains a real tight urgency because of it, accentuated nicely by the string and brass arrangement – great tune.

    The Louisiana Funky Butts Brass Band didn’t grab me until the second listen, but it’s pretty infectious – can almost smell the gumbo y’all.

    The Royaltones similarly clicked the second time, what’s not to like about Rock and Roll done with such enthusiasm.

    The Dave Alvin was enjoyable as a bit of tight blues, but was even more enjoyable when informed by Tinnie’s link and GF’s reminiscences, it makes a lot more sense that way. Love the voice – it’s a lived in voice.

    The Tommy Ladnier is a nice way to wind it down (why do I always think that a Woody Allen film has just started whenever a Sidney Bechet record comes on?) – I always thought that Sidney Bechet was a really interesting character (trouble certainly seemed to follow him), and it was amazing how the French intellectuals adopted him as one of their own – sort of sad to read that GF came away with such a negative impression, but it goes to show you should never meet your heroes.

    Stellar selection this week, thank you all.

  6. LG: I feel that I must clarify slightly, first off we’re talking about post WW2 England, if you weren’t there you can’t imagine it, it wasn’t the present day UK, everybody smelled, there were no showers, hot water was rare and expensive; I think I took a bath once every week or two whether I needed to or not. And it was a situation of an inarticulate 14 year old intruding on an old bloke who’d had a hard day and would probably have preferred to sit quietly without having to answer the same dumb questions. Then there was the god issue, he’s still a god.

  7. Louisiana Funky Butts Brass Band: Love the sound; find the tune possibly a bit generic (after the interesting sonic opening). But it’s an infectious little number overall!

    Royaltones: Yeah, what I said about the above.

    Dave Alvin: I’m afraid Chris Rea has ruined music like this for me. Obviously this is a helluva lot better but it doesn’t really move me. Sorry. Entirely a failure in me. I can hear the skill and even the energy/enthusiasm but I just don’t feel it.

    Peter Tsotsi & Nashil Pichen: Now this I do like! It’s making me smile. Lovely chilled vibe.

    The Tommy Ladnier Orchestra: This passed me by a bit first time as I was looking at other stuff online as it played, but it’s got a lovely laidback, unhurried vibe to it. Charming.

  8. I really enjoyed this week’s selection, if I had to pick a favourite it’s Dave Alvin, hotly followed by Louisiana Funky Butts. But … all good. Needed some cheery tunes.

Leave a Reply

