Bald Eagle!

land of the free

 

A big thank you for those that have accompanied me on my trip from Alaska in the North West down to sunny southern Florida.

Particular thanks to my ‘hitch-hiker’ DarceysDad who has determinedly taken us on an alternate route.

Having been able to find 50 songs that specifically name each of the individual states I thought that this week’s playlist would simply capture 12 tunes that sing about the US of A.

Some you’ll know others, well maybe you won’t whatever I trust there’s something here you’ll enjoy.

19 thoughts on “Bald Eagle!

  1. Red and white, blue suede shoes
    I’m Uncle Sam, how do you do?

    Here’s the beginning of the Grateful Dead Movie, following the adventures of our Stars-and-Stripes-draped skeleton hero through a different version of the American musical landscape:

    Thanks for the trip, liab!

  2. Can’t forget this one!

    And echoing Chris – thanks for the long strange trip that it’s been! (thanks to you too, DsD)

  3. You left out the best of all: American Tune.

    I don’t know a soul who’s not been battered
    I don’t have a friend who feels at ease
    I don’t know a dream that’s not been shattered
    Or driven to its knees
    Oh, but it’s all right, it’s all right
    For lived so well so long
    Still, when I think of the road
    We’re traveling on
    I wonder what went wrong
    I can’t help it, I wonder what’s gone wrong

    • Hi goneforeign, that was on the short list, well the S&G version from their Concert in Central Park was but I thought I’d keep it to a dozen, perhaps I’ll put up an alternative list with some of those I left out, I had something like 40 or so songs that specifically mentioned America or USA in the title in contention. Thanks for posting it and I agree with you it is a good song.

  4. Hey leaveitallbehind – are you still coming to MK next week? What’s the plan? Are we having a mini-social?

    • Hi TFD, were your ears burning?

      Mrs Leavey and I are coming to MK on Friday (11th), but might need to pass up on the margaritas at TFD Towers as we are seeing Pearl Jam at the MK Bowl, you might be able to hear us though!

      • Well, I know you’re coming to see Pearl Jam – that’s why I asked. Is there no window before or after the gig? Are you staying over?

        Yes, burning ears definitely

    • Sorry, couldn’t recall whether I had mentioned why we were going to be in MK. Can you mail me at my posting name with the digit at gmail dot com and I’ll see if we could get away early on Friday and meet beforehand. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

