Earworms 7 July 2014

Another great selection for you this week and not a mention of football, cycling or tennis … oops. And yes, I know “Isaac” is spelt “Issac” in the player, but I can’t amend it. Hope you’re enjoying the sunshine: please keep those worms coming to earworm@tincanland.com.

Kinoko Tekoku – Paranoid Parade – pairubu: Japanese “shoegaze”, I get “late period Blondie” from this (Ubuette disagrees) and find it a very palatable noise.

Sarah Blasko – Fool – tincanman: It takes a few listens for the passion and Lily Allenesque defiance of this to really sink in. It’s worth the wait.

Lennon and Maisy Stella – Ho Hey – LIAB: Whoa, there before you all wade in with your ridicule. These two girls have the most delightful voices that harmonise so well. Their parents are doing a pretty good job of keeping them grounded and very little of their music has been published though they are extremely popular on YouTube, which is where they first started posting and where they first came to my attention. One of their first videos has over 23m views. They play the daughters of Rayna James in Nashville (TV soap series but with great country music). Given their ages they have the potential to be simply huge. I could have suggested the original of this tune by The Lumineers but their version of Ho Hey is brilliant.

Fode Kouyate: Sokho – bishbosh: Hi. My name is bish and I’m a Shazam addict. Here’s an irresistibly infectious tune I heard – and thus identified – emanating from a Medway Towns branch of Nando’s. I know I know, my glamorous life…

Isaac Freeman – You Must Come in at the Bottom – beltway: Even as a totally non religious type, this still resonates with me, a happy little self tribute to the deepest of gospel voices and the place of the bass in God’s creation – I can only get my voice this low after a serious night out, and often I will sing this when hungover to cheer myself up!

Pam Nestor & Joan Armatrading – All the King’s Gardens: goneforeign: A friend from Guyana gave me this album back in ’72, probably because Pam Nestor was also from Guyana. She and JA hooked up as a musical twosome, they produced this album, a first for both of them, Pam Nestor wrote 11 of the 14 songs. The record company rather like Island with Bob chose to make Joan the star and to minimize Pam, causing the two to split up, and that’s why you’ve probably never heard of Pam Nestor. This is one of my favourite earworms from ‘Whatever’s for us’.

11 thoughts on “Earworms 7 July 2014

  1. Five and a half artists I’ve never heard of this week.

    Kinoko Tekoku – ooh, I like that. The guitar deffo hits the DsD sweetspot. Though I’d have said The Cranberries rather than late-Blondie.

    Sarah Blasko – hasn’t had time yet for a few listens, but I’m not sure I want defiance and passion anyway. I like how smoothly that one flows through me.

    Lennon & Maisy Stella – ah. Suffers a little bit from following the first two. Sounds just a little twee as a direct result of the sequencing. Harmless, though.

    Fode Kouyate – I wonder, is that (a) a particularly enlightened choice by corporate mind control; (b) a subversive choice by a staff member at Medway Towns; or (c) am I so out of touch I’ve missed that this is now in the mainstream? I like it, whichever answer it is.

    Isaac Freeman – sorry, BB, but I can’t drum up much enthusiasm for the song, which is a shame, because I could really feel the enthusiasm in your blurb.

    Joan & Pam – again, I’m more interested by the history gf gave us than the song. I had to play that twice over just to make it get into my thick skull this morning.

    Japanese shoegaze and Guinean Mandingo the DsD winners this week, but thank you all.

  2. @Beltway Neat confluence – Yesterday I was listening to a bunch of versions of Farther Along, probably best known in our circle by The Byrds. I sent it to someone who, as in the song, was struggling to make sense of a string of stressful events not of her doing. I like that it’s not overtly religious – it just says when shit happens, try and let go and have faith that some day you’ll see things in a new perspective. I like songs like these.
    Here’s a nice stripped down version by a young(er) Johnny Cash:
    http://goo.gl/Z5eBG6

  3. Contributions two weeks on the trot

    No worries with Joan, the others were “ok” but the best track this week is Sarah Blasko, sounds very familiar after the first play but can’t put my finger on it.

  4. I wrote quite a long comment but didn’t save or copy it. Predictably it wouldn’t post on the site. Liked all the music. Joan is the only one I have. The Japanese track was great.

  5. Kinoko Tekoku: Yeah, I like this. Almost like Kenickie’s gentler moments. Yeah, I really like this. Might be the first one in a while I pinch from the ‘Box rather than enjoy the once on here.

    Sarah Blasko: Nice voice. I think I’d like to hear something a bit more up-tempo from her/more loudly angry maybe. The music is a bit languid for me. But I bet tinny’s right that a few more listens would reveal greater pleasures.

    Stella sisters: Yeah, nice. It’s a sweet song. They sing it sweetly.

    Isaac Freeman: That is a crazy deep voice! Fun song. Not sure I’ve ever heard a spiritual song praising the Lord for how deep the singer’s voice is. Verging on novelty for me but enjoyable nonetheless.

    Pam & Joan: I just love Joan Armatrading’s voice. Always have. And I don’t really know why. But really she could sing anything and I think I’d love it. Which begs the question, why have I never bought any of her records? Hmm. Should probably remedy that.

    Thanks all – lovely selection!

  6. Kinoku Tenoko – yes, I like this. Surprised given it’s not usually my type of thing.
    Sarah Blasko – like this too.
    Lennon and Maisy I love – I always say I don’t like country but I evidently do.
    Fode Kouyate – just great, love it.
    Isaac Freeman – don’t particularly love it but I can see why Beltway does.
    Pam and Joan – yes, it sticks in my head but it reminds me of something I can’t place: I think it’s “Dance Between the Raindrops” by Mike Nesmith.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WaJrgZtZDc8&feature=kp (it’s the guitar bit).

  7. Just to add that although Pam Nestor wrote most of the lyrics on that album, Joan wrote all the music. It was produced by Gus Dudgeon who also produced Elton John recordings and Bowie’s Space Odyssey.
    I think some of Elton’s regular musicians are on the album too although Joan’s biggest musical influence at the time was Van Morrison who she idolised. I think you can just about hear a trace of that in her vocal – or am I reading that in?
    It was a good album – Pam nestor’s lyrics are very poetic, quite unlike Joan’s conversational style of writing. My favourite track on it – “It Could Have Been Better” – often turns up on compilations. “City Girl” is another good one and was written just by Joan. You can hear the difference in writing style immediately.

    • Van Morrison? Really? I mean I know he is a genius but I never really got Van Morrison. “Bright Side of the Road” was brilliant but the rest of it left me kind of … indifferent. This is not to diss VM but just to express surprise and to thank you for further education. “Gosh”. In the words of someone born in 1959. Cheers, Severin!

Leave a Reply

