elastic bands – this week: H

elastic-bands-H

Save the Cheerleader, Save the World
The game to illustrate either:
How wildly eclectic your taste is… or,
How perfectly streamlined it is.

Rules.
I will post a letter of the alphabet (or two)
all BANDS or ARTISTS must begin with that letter.
Artists letter is determined by the letter at the beginning of their SURNAME (if they use it) – ignore the use of ‘The’ in a bands name.
up to 13 songs are allowed – fewer if you wish.

All can be the same artist if that represents you perfectly or all the same genre.
Just make them great tunes.

Make a youtube playlist (if you like) and link to it – just link to it – don’t overload the thread.

Cut and paste the band names and tracks (in a joyous list style) in the comments.
Then we can chat about the choices – add some waffle if you want (about how narrow or varied those choices are) … but above all, have fun.

I will be king And you, you will be queen

THIS WEEK IS: H

108 thoughts on “elastic bands – this week: H

  1. Hum:

    Hunters & Collectors (10)
    Lee Hazlewood (6)
    Jesca Hoop (6)
    House Of Love (6)
    Happy Mondays (5)
    PJ Harvey (5)
    Richard Hawley (4)
    Heartless Bastards (4)
    Heaven 17 (3)
    Antony Hegarty (3)
    Her Space Holiday (3)
    Holy Fuck (3)

  2. OOh, I have more of these than ‘i’s.

    1. Hanoi Rocks – Fashion
    2. Hawkwind – Hassan I Shaba
    3. Hole – Malibu
    4. Hussey-Regan – Naked and Savage
    5. Hollwblue – this summer
    6. Hidria Spacefolk – System
    7. Hearts Under Fire – It’s Not Me it’s You
    8. Heaven 17 – Temptation
    9. The Horrors – Changing the Rain
    10. The House of Love – Christine
    11. House of Usher – Into the Blue
    12. The Human League – Sound of the Crowd
    13. The Horatii – The Island of Zombie Women

    Link in a minute

  3. lessee –

    Hanson – Mmmbop
    Herman’s Hermits – eeny menie ok Mrs. Brown You’ve Got a Lovely Daughter
    Hollies – All I Need is the Air That I Breathe
    George Harrison – If Not For You
    Human League – Human
    Hole – Miss World
    PJ Harvey – Good Fortune
    Nina Hagen – New York, New York
    House of Pain – Jump Around
    Hives – Nymphomatic Dentists
    Husker Du – Up In the Air
    Humble Pie – 30 Days in the Hole
    Jimi – Voodoo Child

    allrighty then, there’s a bakers dozen. List coming, probably in a different order.

  4. Hidden Orchestra – Antiphon
    The Herbaliser – Sensual Woman
    Richard Hawley-Tonight The Streets Are Ours
    Hoodoo Gurus – I Want You Back
    The Holidays – Making Up Time
    Hi Tension – British Hustle
    Happy Mondays – Freaky Dancin’
    Herbert – The Audience
    Heatwave – Boogie Nights
    Hexvessel – Woods to Conjure
    Hezekiah Jones – “Lift the Shadow From This Heart”
    Hint – Count Your Blessings
    The Heliocentrics – Collateral Damage
    Karl Hector & The Malcouns – Followed Path
    Håkan Hellström – Det kommer aldrig va över för mig
    Holograms // “Fever”
    Anna von Hausswolff – Mountains Crave
    Mayer Hawthorne – Green Eyed Love
    Don’t You Know You’re Wrong, Brother – Walter Heath
    Donny Hathaway – The Ghetto
    ISAAC HAYES – Hyperbolicsyllabicsesquedalymistic

    • Ah! The perils of looking only at what’s on the laptop. I forgot Human League, Hives, House of Love, Husker Du and The Hold Steady. ( I hope someone nommed HS’s Contructive Summer for this week’s RR theme!) I’ll have forgotten loads more but would never have remembered Hidria Spacefolk – must play them again when I get back to civilisation – top marks to bethnoir for including them.

      • thanks, Fuel, I couldn’t find the track I wanted on the internet, so it’s a different Hidria Spacefolk track on my playlist. I’m not familiar with most of yours, I shall have a listen later 🙂

      • Was playing NEU!’s Hallogallo before the match yesterday (a tune inspired by football), and right now I’m playing Cycloop, which is Ozric Tentatacles good in a krautrocking-copesque-pysch way Thanks for the reminder.

        BTW. From that list, I’d guess you might like Hexvessel and Anna von Hausswolff.

  5. I’ve cut a lot out and I’ve still got 16 (makes up for last week): https://www.dropbox.com/sh/3ufg1c4vefkggg6/AADcqwQy32LB_2OIkgzmNrRwa

    United States of Mind – Alan Hull: (Yes, Alan Hull from Lindisfarne, as was – an old favourite);
    Strange Fruit – Billie Holiday: (Classic);
    The Valley Road – Bruce Hornsby & The Range: (Summery, catchy);
    The Boys Of Summer – Don Henley: (Summery, catchy, sorry Chris);
    The Man That Time Forgot – Ed Harcourt: (Thanks to bethnoir, I love this);
    Kiss on My List – Hall & Oates: (Really? Oh, OK then);
    Ticking Bomb – Hanne Hukkelberg: (Double H, thanks severin, I love this too);
    Up Around The Bend – Hanoi Rocks: (Really? I mean, really?);
    Silver Machine – Hawkwind: (All time favourite);
    All Is Loneliness – Hobocombo: (Great earworm from abahachi);
    Satellite – The Hooters: (Catchy as hell, might be my next worm);
    Silly Little Pop Song – Hootie & The Blowfish: (Not my favourite but I seem to have lost a CD);
    See The Light – Jeff Healey: (Yeah!);
    The Littlest Birds – Jolie Holland: (Delicate, pretty, clever song);
    Goldfish – Roy Harper: (RH being twee but I like it);
    Electrick Gypsies – Steve Hillage: (Old hippies never die …)

    And thanks to Shoey too, for doing his bit in keeping the ‘Spill filled with more than a fair share of great music



  6. From the Heavenly to the Hopelessly Silly…

    G F Handel – Sarabande
    Jimi Hendrix – All Along The Watchtower
    Emmylou Harris – Bang the Drum Slowly
    Buddy Holly – Everyday
    The Hollies – Air That I Breathe
    Fay Hield – The Huntsman
    Tim Hart – The Dalesman’s Litany
    John Lee Hooker – I Cover The Waterfront
    Eddie and the Hotrods – Do Anything You Want To Do
    Hayseed Dixie – Moonshiner’s Daughter
    The Highwaymen – The Highwayman
    The Housemartins – Caravan of Love
    Half Man Half Biscuit – Totnes Bickering Fair

    • Dagnabit, forgot the Human League……meant to add Louise. Well, I have now. Could lose any of the last 3 really.

      • The Tim Hart song comes from Folk Songs of Old England by Tim Hart and Maddy Prior, before they formed Steeleye Span.

      • I also forgot Francoise Hardy – Tout les Garcons et les Filles. Think I’m going to have to redo this list. Was awake in the night and thought it a good opportunity to get the list done and save time, but was a bit dozy by 5 a.m. and then slept till 9…

        Of the ones that will definitely remain, the Handel is gorgeous and appropriately he’s next to Jimi (London housemate in space but not in time). Probably my favourite Hendrix song, interpreting Dylan of course. Emmylou is great at interpreting other people’s songs but she’s no mean songwriter herself – this is about her father, a WWII veteran. Again, I chose one of Buddy’s own songs, which is also a favourite. He had such huge influence, particularly on the Beatles, yet his songs rarely feature on RR. Fay Hield’s Huntsman is not really about hunting, as such, it’s all ancient innuendo/double entendre – it’s really a tale of seduction. The Dalesman’s Litany is, as Bethnoir says, a great song, think it was A listed long ago but would need to check. And the last of my unleaveoutables is John Lee Hooker’s beautiful version of I Cover the Waterfront.

      • I have tried and failed to discover how to remove/rearrange videos on the list, so there are now 15, as have added The Human League’s Louise and Francoise Hardy’s Tous Les Garcons Et Les Filles. If have to remove anything it would be Eddie and the Hotrods and the Highwaymen (I think.) Possibly will discover the way to do it eventually. 😦

      • @bethnoir – ah it was you who got the Dalesman’s litany zedded! I had the 2 Folksongs of Old England on tape years ago but when I came to buy the CDs later on I had some difficulty – they were scarce and rather large prices were being asked – and still are, from what I can tell. Luckily I managed to get both relatively reasonably.

    • A lot of donds there ! Harris, Holly, Hollies,Hooker,Biscuit and Hot Rods ( I played that to Ubuette the other day, it’s aged quite well).

    • Ooh, ta for reminding me about Emmylou!
      Housemartins and HMHB almost certain to feature in mine, but again, with different songs.
      Donds for Hayseed Dixie too.

  7. Quick trawl through vinyl and CDs – doubtless some obvious omissions but…………..

    Housemartins – Step Outside
    Ian Hunter – Boy
    Human League – Being Boiled
    Billie Holiday – Good Morning Heartache
    Francoise Hardy – Tous les Garcons et Les Filles
    Jimi Hendrix – All Along the Watchtower
    Bryn Haworth – We’re All One
    Peter Hammill – Birthday Special
    Happy Mondays – Step On
    Roy Harper – When an Old Cricketer
    Lauryn Hill – Everything Is Everything
    Hercules and Love Affair – Blind
    Half Man Half Biscuit – Paintball’s Coming Home

  8. Hmm, interesting. Final listing is likely to include:

    His Infernal Majesty (H.I.M), Faith Hill, The Highwaymen, Merle Haggard, Randy Hauser, Howlin’ Wolf, The Horrible Crowes, Hootie, Hold Steady, Heart, Hawkwind, The Human League, Housemartins, Heaven 17, possibly The Hollies, maybe Hiss Golden Messenger, even possibly The Henningsens, more than likely Honeybus, very possibly Jimi Hendrix and John Lee Hooker.

    Some of them are going to have to go, hey ho, off to decide.

  9. Hello…..oh sorry I mean

    Hello – New York Groove , totally groovy way to start with a thumping glam rock classic.
    Howlin Wolf- Howling for my darling. I don’t “do” much Blues these days but I make an exception for the Wolfman. That voice ! Add the great guitar of Hubert Sumlin and you have a sound that’s as timeless as it is primal.
    Buddy Holly – Heartbeat. Always a favourite artist of mine and this is a fave song , mainly on account of the “out of phase” guitar sound that , I think, was achieved by jamming the switch on his Strat between settings. Ace
    The Hollywood Flames – Buzz, buzz, buzz. Jonathan Richman covered this in 1970s , the original is parptastic rock and roll full of sax appeal and honey bees.
    Jack Hodges – Everything is fresh today ( aka “The Raspberry Song”). Mr Raspberry himself, from the 1930s, alas this most British of musical forms has somewhat died out today. Allows me to ask Ubuette “Do you like raspberries” every so often with “hilarious” results.
    The Hollies – He ain’t heavy , he’s my brother. A bit cheesy but then I like cheese !
    Halmens- Densha de go . Ah ! Halmens ! Great 80s Japanese band who gave Jun Togawa her first outing on record ( on backing vocals on some tracks), 2 members subsequently joined her band and took some of the songs, including this one, with them. Slightly “Devoseque” perhaps ?
    The Ho’opi’i Brothers – Telephone to glory. There’s not a huge amount of Hawaiian music on Youtube, this is a track from one of the very best CDs I’ve come across. Brilliant, sunny stuff.
    Sol Hoopii- Little grass shack. Evergreen Hawaiian favourite from early master of the steel guitar.
    Benny Hill- My garden of love . Wonderful wordplay here. Benny was quite a good musician apparently.
    Brian Hyland – Ginny come lately . I’ve always had a soft spot for this heatwrenching ( or stomach turning) number
    Hang on the Box – Di di di . First wave of Chinese punk ! How brave these girls were to dress, sing and act like this in such a conservative society. Alas my fave track “Asshole I’m not your baby” isn’t on Youtube.
    And finally, in tribute to yesterday’s events.

    Heino – Lied der Deutschen. Cheeky Heino is singing the “old” words here, naughty boy ! I don’t judge, maybe he’s just getting forgetful in his old age ( and the new words, it must be said, suck).

    • Great to see Buddy listed, he’s featured so rarely on RR. I chose Everyday partly because it’s one of his own songs, which Heartbeat isn’t, although I love that too.

      • Great to see Buddy listed,

        For my John Hartford selection I almost picked his cover of That’ll Be The Day. Would have if I’d clicked in time that it would be a double H 🙂

    • That was my other Hollies pick, no quibbles with that bit of queso. I always had a soft spot for Carrie Anne too.

    • Reading that list has just given me a MASSIVE sense of déjà vu. Have you posted a lot of that before under some other excuse, pairubu?

      • Have you posted a lot of that before under some other excuse, pairubu?

        A lot of them feature regularly on RR. I am relentless in my zeal.

  10. Oh and here’s a link should you wish to hear them !

    http://tinyurl.com/nknsffm

    BTW last three times I’ve tried to post the post has been gobbled up by computer monsters. I’d advice anyone to do a “copy” before pressing the “post comment” button.
    Works second time for me.
    The wonders and mysteries of the internets.

  11. Hope you enjoy this handsome family of songs:
    http://goo.gl/S2yhkZ

    Angel HazeBitch Bad: Rap alert! Much needed female rap voice asks why it is OK to call women ‘bithces’
    Colin HayWaiting For My Real Life To Begin: Men At Work founder is really good at confessional folk. Sounds a bit Costelloish
    Emmylou HarrisBack When We Were Beautiful: An angel sings. One of last year’s outstanding duests with Rodney Crowell
    Handsome FamilyEels: From the anthropomorphitical Wilderness (2013), an either genius or complete rubbish concept album.
    Hip HatchetSing Me a Reprise: He upped sticks for greener pastures and wrote an album of hopes, dreams and regrets while driving across America
    Honey ConeWant Ads: Motown goodness
    Honorable South: Fresh, rock-n-soul from NOLA.
    Horse FeathersCurs In The Woods: Bleak western portraits set in lush Great Lake Swimmers soundscapes
    Hot ChocolateCicero Park: Incorrectly dismissed as lightweight disco hitmakers
    Joe HenryEdgar Bergen: Eclectic and experimental on his own or producing
    John HartfordYakety Yak: Bluegrass master and co-founder of newgrass. Active with Byrds-Burritos-Emmylou…
    Johnny HodgesWarm Valley: Unworldly tones from the Duke’s alto sax soloist.
    Richie HavensHere Comes The Sun: Unique R&B/soul/folk song reader. And this a George Harrison song, so double Hs here.

    I could have done all legends: Billie Holiday, Lightnin’ Hopkins, Howlin’ Wolf, Rosa Henderson, Slim Harpo, Son House, John Lee Hooker, W C Handy, Mississippi John Hurt … and Merle Haggard. But I didn’t 🙂

  12. Haven’t been around much recently (I hope you haven’t missed me too terribly) but couldn’t resist this letter. Will do a YouTube list if I get a spare moment.

    Happy Mondays – Kinky Afro
    The House of Live – The Girl With The Loneliest Eyes
    Frida Hyvonen – Dirty Dancing
    Half Man Half Biscuit – For What Is Chatteris?
    Hefner – The Greater London Radio
    Luke Haines – Here’s To Old England
    Hello Saferide – I Wonder Who Is Like This One?
    PJ Harvey – On Battleship Hill
    Richard Hawley – Cole’s Corner
    Jesca Hoop – Murder of Birds
    Hem – So. Central Rain
    The Hold Steady – Lord I’m Discouraged
    Ed Harcourt – Shanghai

    Saving space on my list by adding donds for Jolie Holland’s The Littlest Birds and Buddy Holly’s Everyday.

  13. In no particular order (I’ll think more carefully about that when I do the playlist) –

    HMHB – National Shite Day.
    Handsome Family – All The Time In Airports.
    Human League – Human
    or Louise, can’t make my mind up yet.
    Hold Steady – Lord, I’m Discouraged, which is a DsD RR A-lister. 🙂
    As is Don Henley – New York Minute.
    Richard Hawley
    – it’ll be one of three from Standing At The Sky’s Edge …
    Is this the week I shoehorn in Micah P. Hinson? Probably.
    Hot Chocolate – Emma.
    Mark Hollis – The Colour Of Spring.
    Sophie B. Hawkins – Damn, I Wish I Was Your Lover.
    Hothouse Flowers
    – Oh, Christ, no idea yet!
    Jon Hopkins – Abandon Window.
    Sammy Hagar – Young Girl Blues.
    Hat Fitz & Cara – Play Me Something New.

      • my encouragement of anti-establishment rule breaking is catching on well – thankfully three of the final 5 letters are ‘difficult’ ones… otherwise I’d have shot myself in the foot for listening purposes.. 😉

      • otherwise I’d have shot myself in the foot for listening purposes

        Seems to me that’s a bit contradictory. If you shot yourself int he foot you’d have even more time time to listen while you were recuperating. DO NOT TRY THIS AT HOME

    • Some few weeks ago Sophie B popped into my head, and apparently disappeared. Mine would be As I Lay Me Down. Kinda cheely, but i still really like it.

      • I never heard the Dylan cover – i set the bar pretty high there as it’s a big fave. Gotta say hers didn’t do a lot for me.

        Speaking of Dylan covers – seems i’m the only one with Georgie H on my list? I could have gone for What Is Life too.

        I have never heard of the Hold Steady, seems like it’s something i should know as it’s on a lot of lists, i’ll have to have some listens.

        The Happy Mondays never really made it over here, but Beltway put up a worm awhile ago that i loved, so i’ll have to have a listen to some of those too.

  14. The only H-band I have that others haven’t mentioned is The Heart Throbs. Their Cleopatra Grip album is ace.

    Otherwise, I’ll have all the Hendrix singles (and Star-Spangled Banner), all Peej albums except Stories From The City/Sea (are you sure we’ve had P? did I put her there?), Buddy H and some Mondays. Richie Havens, Merle Haggard, Howlin Wolf, Roy Harper and Emmylou Harris also deserve honourable mentions.

    I’ve just started on Graham Nash’s autobiography (for the Manchester and Dead connections) and so am remembering the Hollies’ singles. Like Nash, I admire the craft and harmonies in them, but they still don’t inspire me to love them. Also like Nash, apparently, once he met Crosby & co.

    • i have a big soft spot for Graham Nash – not just for his musical contributions but for his contributions to photography. He’s been a wonderful champion of the field.

  15. you never fail to satisfy

    got some hate – hunches
    every one’s a winner – hot chocolate
    dig it up – hoodoo gurus
    green eyes – husker du
    destroy the heart – house of love
    love is blinding – high violets
    sea within a sea – the horrors
    chasing my mind – holograms
    your ghost – kristin hersh
    you said something – pj harvey
    worry about the wind – hal
    preservation – hookworms
    open eye signal – jon hopkins

    bit of H

  16. First thoughts are:

    The Horrors – Count in Fives
    Honeyz – End of the Line
    The Hidden Cameras – The Man That I am With My Man
    Hey Colossus – Ghost Ship
    Herbie Hancock – Watermelon Man
    Hefner – Pull Yourself Together
    Happy Mondays – Holiday
    Hanson – Where’s the Love?
    Horsebastard – Suncrusher
    ((Husband Material)) – My Bloody Laventine
    PJ Harvey – Let England Shake

  17. somehow I need to cut this down to a 13 track youtube playlist!
    .. and this is only a little sample of H – who would have thought it was such an abundant letter:

    Half Cousin Canned Laughter
    Ed Harcourt Hanging With The Wrong Crowd
    Michael Head And The Strands It’s Harvest Time
    Kristen Hersh The Key
    Handsome Boy Modeling School Holy Calamity [Bear Witness II]
    Happy Mondays Bob’s Yer Uncle (Perfecto 12″ Mix)
    Her Space Holiday Something To Do With My Hands
    Hanne Hukkelberg Break My Body
    The Hidden Cameras Music Is My Boyfriend
    Hot Chip Bad Luck
    Hot Club De Paris Sometimesitsbetternottostickbitsofeachotherineachotherforeachother
    Headlights Cherry Tulips
    Isaac Hayes Hyperbolicsyllabicsesquedalymistic
    Jesca Hoop Out The Back Door
    Herbie Hancock Rockit
    Hexstatic Machine Toy
    His Name Is Alive Write My Name in the Groove
    Hooded Fang ESP
    The Heads Don’t Take My Kindness For Weakness (Roni Size Mix)
    The House Of Love Shine On
    Head crackers (fer yer knackers)
    Beth Jeans Houghton Nightswimmer
    Homelife Fruit Machine
    Howling Bells Across The Avenue
    Frida Hyvönen Picking Apples
    Hoover Electrolux
    Huoratron Bug Party
    The Hoax The More I See You (Urban Flavour Remix)
    Hal (Featuring Gillian Anderson) Extremis

  18. The Heartbreakers – One Track Mind
    Husker Du – The Girl Who Lived on Heaven Hill
    Human League – Being Boiled
    Richard Hell – The Kid With The Replaceable Head
    The Hollies – Bus Stop
    Richard Hawley – Born Under a Bad Sign
    Hard Fi – Hard to Beat
    Phyllis Hyman – Dont Tell Me Tell Her
    John Lee Hooker – Boom Boom
    Buddy Holly – Rave On
    John Handy – Hard Work
    Willie Hutch – In And Out
    Hawkwind – Silver Machine ( a great great single )

  19. Harpers Bizarre – Whitchi Tai To
    Bill Haley & Comets – Rip It Up
    Hepcats – Rock This Town
    Harptones – The Things I Love
    Heavy, The – Short Change Hero
    Hellbenders – Runnin’ Wild
    Heptones – Sweet Talking
    Herman’s Hermits – Needles And Pins
    Hootie and the Blowfish – I’m Going Home
    Humperdinck, Engelbert – Marlene
    Hopkins, Lightnin’ – Devil Is Watchin’ You
    Horton, Johnny – Cherokee Boogie
    Howlin’ Wolf – Smoke Stack Lightning

  20. A bit late. Some crossover with the rest of you this time

    Happy Mondays – Step On
    Heaven 17 – Tempation
    Charlie Harper – Jo
    Husker Du – Sorry Somehow
    The Hoax – Nice Girls
    Hard Skin – On The Oche
    H Block 101 – Japanese Transistor
    Honey Bane (possibly cheating, but if so people who put Iggy Pop under “I” are as well) – Girl On The Run
    Hit Parade – Here’s What You Find In Any Prison
    Hagar The Womb – Dressed To Kill

  21. Belatedly, here is my Happy Days – it’s H list!

    This list begins with the confessional, the intimate and the longing for things and people that are gone, then progresses to some full on psychedelic wigging out.

    Enjoy!

    Emmylou Harris – Boulder to Birmingham
    Sophie B. Hawkins – Damn I Wish I Was Your Lover
    Hall And Oates – She’s Gone
    Roy Harper- Me and My Woman
    PJ Harvey – We Float
    Peter Hammill – In The End
    Kristin Hersh – Your Ghost
    Richard Hawley – Open Up Your Door
    Donny Hathaway – The Ghetto
    Isaac Hayes – By The Time I Get To Phoenix
    Jimi Hendrix – 1983…(A Merman I Should Turn To Be)
    Hawkwind – Hassan I Sahba
    Steve Hillage – Solar Musick Suite

    Carole’s Heavenly H list

Leave a Reply

