EOTWQ (Fantasy Version)

question mark

Following on from the success of the last EOTWQ I thought I’d pose a few questions so that we can all get to know each other a bit better:

This week’s questions permit a little escape from reality.

The questions I’m posing have a musical playlist (see below) but don’t feel that you have to include a musical answer but in the case of Q 1. you might see fit to illustrate your answer with a musical composition if it suits the response.

Anyway here goes:

1. If you could be another person, famous or otherwise, living or dead; who would you be?

2. “Well you know, They asked us to stay for tea and have some fun, Oh, oh, he said that his friends would all drop by, ooh.” If you could invite three famous ‘friends’ for tea who would they be?

3. If you didn’t live where you currently do and could move to another city, state or even country; where would you go?

4. If you could meet an historical person for 15-mintues and ask three questions; who would it be and what would you ask?

5. If there was a period in time that you would prefer to have lived, when would it be and why?

85 thoughts on “EOTWQ (Fantasy Version)

  1. I think we’ve done most of these questions before.

    Not to denigrate these – there’s a sufficiently different crowd around these days – but if I can find the old ones later, the comparisons may prove illuminating.

    In the meantime, I’m just ticking the box until [much] later today …

  2. I love Misty Mountain Hop, you can’t go wrong with a bit of Jethro Tull, nice playlist and fun questions for the EOTWQ. Here goes
    1. Could this be just for the 24 hours? I’d like to be Jim Morrision, just for a day, to see what being inside his head was like, circa 1968.

    2. Percy Byshee Shelley, Simone de Beauvoir and Siouxsie Sioux.

    3.Well, predictably, if money were no object, St Ives in Cornwall, or possibly New Zealand.

    4.Queen Elizabeth I and I’d like to have a general discussion with her. I have an A level in 16th and 17th century history, love that period.

    5. Predictably, I’d love to have been a teenager in London in the late sixties, going to the UFO club in 1966 to see Pink Floyd, Doors in the Roundhouse 1968, buying a very large number of clothes and later Bowie and Tyrannosaurus Rex. I guess I could be more adventurous, but being a woman throughout history has not been that much fun and I don’t think I could cope with the oppression.

    • Great answers bethnoir, I think 24 hours in Jim’s head would probably be quite sufficient 😉

      I selected the Tull song but I suppose some posters might consider living in the future?

      I like your tea-party guests, Siouxsie Sioux, very interesting.

      I’ll post my responses later but thanks for taking part.

      • Look forward to reading yours! I suppose it would be hard to look out from someone else’s eyes, but I was thinking of a ‘Being John Malkovich’ style of being someone else where they’re still there so I could refer to him for who I need to avoid and so on.

  3. 1. If you could be another person, famous or otherwise, living or dead; who would you be?

    I take it we’re talking about real people rather than fictional characters (most of my fantasy life takes place in books). Um. Napoleon, I think, in his early years of military genius rather than the megalomanic imperial period. And I would prefer not to think too hard about why this is the name that came to mind…

    2. “Well you know, They asked us to stay for tea and have some fun, Oh, oh, he said that his friends would all drop by, ooh.” If you could invite three famous ‘friends’ for tea who would they be?

    Thucydides, Mary Wollstonecraft and Karl Marx. Yes, our mutual idea of fun is a detailed examination of what’s wrong with the world and which bit needs sorting out first. Or did you mean living people? In which case, Naomi Klein, Ulrich Beck (brilliant German sociologist) and Kate Bush.

    3. If you didn’t live where you currently do and could move to another city, state or even country; where would you go?

    A toss-up between Berlin and Seattle, I think.

    4. If you could meet an historical person for 15-mintues and ask three questions; who would it be and what would you ask?

    The real answer is Thucydides, but as all my questions would be professional and hence tedious for a general audience, I’d better think of someone else…

    5. If there was a period in time that you would prefer to have lived, when would it be and why?

    We’re ruling out the glorious future in which capitalism has been overthrown and we all live in an egalitarian, sustainable, post-growth utopia? Tricky, since as a historian I tend to have a disillusioned view of pretty well all historical periods. Maybe the 1840s, as a period of astonishing intellectual and cultural vitality *and* a serious hope of revolutionary transformation, even if that came to nothing.

      • 🙂

        Had to look up who Thucydides was.

        So you and bethnoir could have very interesting historical discussions then!

        Thanks for taking part abahachi, Seattle always comes across as very wet, grey and a little depressing but I’m sure it’s a wonderful place and you have your reasons.

      • Well, I’ve been to Seattle only once, and the weather was quite good, so maybe this is based on a lot of misapprehensions (anyway, it’s not as if there’s a job going there in ancient history at the moment), but I loved the whole feel of the place – plus the seafood and the beer.

        Really good to have EOTWQ back, and I’m just sorry that I missed the last one as I was out of the country. My job has been taking up more and more time over the last couple of years, so I’ve had less time and energy to spend on here and RR and haven’t posted much, but this is still as always a refuge full of lovely people.

    • I toyed with inviting Mary, but I thought she might be annoyed as I’d want to ask about her daughter. I think your dinner party conversation would quickly spiral out of my level of understanding, but it would surely be very interesting.

      I want to live in your utopian future, we are still allowed to admire religious architecture and wear make up, right?

      • It’s a tea party, isn’t it? That should restrain things somewhat – I think Mr Marx is likely to get a bit too lively after a few glasses.

        Nothing against religious architecture, and wearing make-up will be a matter of completely free choice without any hint of having to conform to societal expectations about female appearance.

    • Decided to add a quick playlist as well…
      (1) REM, World Leader Pretend
      (2) Tracy Chapman, Talkin’ Bout A Revolution (given that it’s a tea party, and hence on the genteel side; the evening music would be the Peter Broetzmann Octet’s Machine Gun, maybe with Rage Against The Machine’s Killing In The Name for light relief).
      (3) LA Vampires, Berlin Baby
      (4) Max Roach, We Insist! Freedom Now Suite
      (5) Richard Wagner, Lohengrin

  4. 1. Basho. Japanese poetry guy and all round liver of the simple life.

    2.Laurence Clarkson ( no, not Jeremy’s brother, the Ranter in chief), Edward Lear and Samuel Johnson ( with Boswell, they have to come as a pair really).

    3. Well thanks for asking ! I’ll have the Lodge at Koke’e on Kaui, if it’s on offer. I can be at the seaside in 20 mins or at the Ala’kai’i swamp in 15. Perfect.

    4.Caligula. Did you make your horse a consul ? Did you sleep with both of your sisters ( and what was it lik…er..no…maybe not…) ? Can you do a dance for us ?

    5. Please take me back to 1640s England, yes, I know it will be awful, dangerous and full of death and diseases but it must have been so “interesting” to be around at that time, however briefly.

  5. Drive by answers here as i have an early work call today. Possibly a thoughtful rethink later on.

    1) I’m afraid i’m stuck with myself – i think i prefer to work with the crap lot i’ve dealt myself and work out my own karma for whatever time i have left on this planet. That’s not to say that i don’t wish that i had better looks or more moeny – i’d take those for sure.

    2) None. What would i ever say to Mick or Keef. I’m too stupid to have a chat with Stephen Hawking. I’d rather get to know Brice Marden by drowning in his paintings than in his company. I’d rather meet and have tea (ok, beer) with you lot in the flesh. (ok, maybe there are one or two famous folks i’d like to shag, but tea and chat would be unecessesary.)

    3) I could have coughed up a lot of answers for this a few months ago, but as it turns out, espccially as i travel a bit locally for work, i’m slowly falling in love with the place i actually live in. That could change in a few years, but i’m rather content where i am right now. For a wanderlusty vagabond this is kind of a big deal.

    4) Richard III – so did you do it? If not, who did?

    i’m sure i could think of a few better examples and questions with more thought.

    5) I vaguely remember this sort of question from a long ago EOTWQ – i’d say either ancient China (just as long as i was some sort of nobility), or San Francisco in the late 1960’s. It really would have to be fairly modern times though – i do like heat, running water, soap, and flushing toilets.

    Thanks Leavey! Off to earn the crust.

  6. 1 – Hibari Misora who was maybe the most famous Enka singer of the post war period. She was hugely successful but was a wonderful person. She was awarded the Medal of Honor for her charity work and was the first woman ever to receive the People’s Honor Award. She was beautiful, clever, funny, talented, generous and kind and showed that success does not mean you forget about the rest of society.

    2 – YUI, (of course ) Haruki Murakami, and Namie Amuro

    3 – One day I would like to live in London – but Tokyo is the place for me now ! ! !

    4 – Niijima Yae – ( also know as the Japanese Joan of Arc ) I would ask her about fighting along side the men in the Boshin War, I would ask her about how it was to marry a westerner in the Edo period of Japanese history, and how she overcame the opposition to found the first women’s university in Japan, and finally I would ask her what she thinks of modern feminism ! ! !

    5 -I would not change to live in another era. I think this is a great time to live in a modern democracy, but our challenge as a generation is to help the less fortunate nations in our own time.

    • Nice balanced set of answers there Hoshino Sakura, not sure about London, I spend a reasonable amount of time there for work and everyone seems in such a rush, head down and quite rude. The only time I’ve noticed any difference was when the Olympics was on and people were so friendly, talked to each other on the tube rather than ignored everyone with their earphones in.

      In response to when this quiz was last posted it was by Ali and about a month a go 🙂

  7. 1) I’d be Hitler – condensed speech:

    “I’m a skinny white man with bad hair and weird ‘tach – what on earth was I thinking about a master race – let’s all live together in peace and harmony – colour, sexuality, religion etc etc doesn’t make anyone a better or worse person … I mean what on earth does a red line drawn on a map mean – just because someone is placed one cm over a line on bit of paper doesn’t mean I need to go and overpower them – weird idea! – let’s all party

    and and while I’m being nice our national sport will be baseball….

    Franz Ferdinand – Walk Away

    2) 20 years ago the answer would be Lisa Bonet, Björk and Anna Friel but drinking vodka.
    now as an old family man I’d very happy to invite any three very famous ‘spillers for cups of tea.
    (although if the mix ended up with DsD and leavey in the same room I might need the vodka still – to cope with the rock overdose – heehee)

    I’m From Barcelona “Paper Planes”

    3) I love were I live I can’t really think of anywhere I’d rather be.
    I’d like to visit people who write here in America, Japan, Norway etc – but as I no longer travel on planes it might have to stay virtual.

    kings of convenience & feist – the build up

    4) Andy Warhol –
    A) I’ve only got fifteen minutes; will this question make me famous?
    B) can we go watch the Velvet underground?
    C) can I go with Edie Sedgwick instead of you?

    The Cult – Edie (Ciao Baby)

    5) I would be interested in overhearing the conversations at the Artists’ Beach Colony of Ivon Hitchens, Irina and Henry Moore, Barbara Hepworth, Ben Nicholson and Mary Jenkins at Happisburgh in 1931…
    or really seeing Aztec or Egyptian pyramids being built – that would be spectacular.

    But I like now – I’d prefer it with capitalism overthrown and living in an egalitarian, sustainable, post-growth utopia .. but I’m working on that.

    Morphine – You’re an Artist

    • Hi saneshane, thanks for suggesting musical accompaniment, was a bit worried when I saw your first answer but love the explanation.

      Thanks for the invite to tea, your party your playlist, I’ll try and convince DsD to go easy on the rock music!

      Agree with you on the Egyptians and seeing the pyramids built, that would be pretty impressive.

  8. 1. If you could be another person, famous or otherwise, living or dead; who would you be?

    I think that I’d like to have been the 6th century Roman Empress Theodora, wife of Justinian the Great. I would certainly make sure that Procopius wasn’t writing any scurrilous stuff about me, though.

    2. “Well you know, They asked us to stay for tea and have some fun, Oh, oh, he said that his friends would all drop by, ooh.” If you could invite three famous ‘friends’ for tea who would they be?

    Tricky. I am sure that each time I thought about this I’d pick different people, but right now I am going for Jeremy Bentham, Elizabeth I and Edith Piaf.

    3. If you didn’t live where you currently do and could move to another city, state or even country; where would you go?

    Somewhere near Clermont L’Herault in the Languedoc.

    4. If you could meet an historical person for 15-mintues and ask three questions; who would it be and what would you ask?

    I think Elizabeth I. I doubt that she would want to answer my questions, though, because they would be;

    a) Did you have a sexual relationship with Robert Dudley?
    b) Did Sir Thomas Seymour rape you?
    c) Who would you have preferred to succeed you?

    5. If there was a period in time that you would prefer to have lived, when would it be and why?

    Again, tricky. The problem is the lack of modern medicine and the general shittiness of life in the past. The last time I was asked this, I picked Constantinople in the 10th century. I’ll stick with that, so long as I can pop back for medical care etc when I need it.

    • Great answers Carole, had to look up who Theodora was, looks like you Beth and abahachi should get together for tea 😉

      Agreed about needing access to medical care.

  9. Hi Leavey, thanks for doing a quiz! Great playlist, too. We may have had similar questions before but to different people, and I can’t remember what my answers were. In any case, they’re almost certainly different, now.

    1. On a purely selfish Me Me Me level I would be (again, for 24 hours only) the one who got away, to find out why he didn’t want to take things further and what he thinks of me now. I realise that I might not like the answers, but it would tie up the loose ends.
    Alison Krauss & Robert Plant – Please Read the Letter – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=axhLruo9SqA

    2. William Morris, for his principles, his enthusiasm and his artistry; Betty Boothroyd, because I think she’s an amazing woman and she would have some great stories to tell; and Derek Jacobi because I think he’s a great actor and I suspect he could tell a few tales, too.
    Yes – Wondrous Stories – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SPdONfPts-4

    3. Probably back to Bristol or maybe St Ives with bethnoir – I could babysit.
    John Martyn – Rolling Home – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-H_k-fbVkXA

    4. Absolutely no idea. Does my grandfather count? I know very little about him so I’d ask:

    (a) What was it like living in Glasgow at the end of the 19th century and how come he ended up (eventually) marrying my grandmother, who came from the Isle of Wight?

    (b) What happened to his first wife, and did they have any children?

    (c) How did he become a ‘dentist’ and did that just mean pulling out teeth with a piece of string, in those days?
    Jamey Johnson – In Colour – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EYGwxf1gCC4

    5. I wouldn’t want to live in the past because, as Beth says, women had a crap deal. And the future is a bit scary, so I think I’d prefer to stay where I am, thanks. I’m a wimp.
    Ozark Mountain Daredevils – Probably Always Will – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VjGpDT67WH8

  10. Yes, Amy Robsart was found dead at the foot of the stairs. Dudley was absent, off with the Queen, of course. An inquest found that she had fallen accidentally.

    It seems unlikely that we shall ever know, but William Cecil didn’t believe that Dudley has commissioned her death.

  11. Hi Leavey, thanks for doing a quiz! Great playlist, too. We may have had similar questions before but to different people, and I can’t remember what my answers were. In any case, they’re almost certainly different, now.

    1. On a purely selfish Me Me Me level I would be (again, for 24 hours only) the one who got away, to find out why he didn’t want to take things further and what he thinks of me now. I realise that I might not like the answers, but it would tie up the loose ends.
    Alison Krauss & Robert Plant – Please Read the Letter – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=axhLruo9SqA

    2. William Morris, for his principles, his enthusiasm and his artistry; Betty Boothroyd, because I think she’s an amazing woman and she would have some great stories to tell; and Derek Jacobi because I think he’s a great actor and I suspect he could tell a few tales, too.
    Yes – Wondrous Stories – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SPdONfPts-4

    3. Probably back to Bristol or maybe St Ives with bethnoir – I could babysit.
    John Martyn – Rolling Home – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-H_k-fbVkXA

    4. Absolutely no idea. Does my grandfather count? I know very little about him so I’d ask:

    (a) What was it like living in Glasgow at the end of the 19th century and how come he ended up (eventually) marrying my grandmother, who came from the Isle of Wight?

    (b) What happened to his first wife, and did they have any children?

    (c) How did he become a ‘dentist’ and did that just mean pulling out teeth with a piece of string, in those days?
    Jamey Johnson – In Colour – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EYGwxf1gCC4

    5. I wouldn’t want to live in the past because, as Beth says, women had a crap deal. And the future is a bit scary, so I think I’d prefer to stay where I am, thanks. I’m a wimp.
    Ozark Mountain Daredevils – Probably Always Will – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VjGpDT67WH8

    • Another one with a playlist, brilliant.

      I think choosing your grandfather is fine and Betty is bound to have some interesting stories.

  12. 1) I would have to be Charles Darwin. Just think of all the wonderous things he discovered on his journeys. And what went through his mind when he realised that his theories on evolution and natural selection were about to bebunk “creationism”.

    2) The 3 friends I’d have round for tea would be Dr. Jacob Bronowski, Steven Fry and Sir Peter Ustinov. . the discussions would go on fhours and I would end up with a headache, but well worth it I think.

    3) It would have to be some remote part of the South Island of New Zealand . As far away as possible from all the madness, conflict and religious nonsense as I can get.

    4) It would have to be J.F.K. and the questions would be :-
    a) Did you really sleep with Marilyn Monroe?
    b) If pushed, would you have pressed the big red button during the Cuba crisis?
    c) Do you have to go to Dallas on 22nd. November?

    5) I would have to go to the future to see if we do, after all, make a total mess of things.

    • Hi there bluepeter, I expect Stephen Fry would make an excellent tea party guest.

      Like your idea of solitude in NZ, sounds fabulous.

      I’ll ask Marilyn her version of events with JFK 😉

  13. 1. Pablo Picasso. To be able to see and show the world from a different angle (and even several angles at the same time!) must be an enthralling feeling and to have the ability to create beauty so (apparently) easily must have been a joy. He got laid quite a lot, too.
    2. Jerry G, Germaine Greer and Albert Einstein would have some interesting conversations, and a few laughs, I bet.
    3. I’m happy where I am, in a (reasonably) liberal enlightened democracy with clever technology but I like where Costa Rica is heading by funding ecology-saving measures instead of having an army. Not sure about the heat and creepy-crawlies though….
    4. Moses (assuming he did actually exist).
    a) What was it like growing up in the Big Pharaoh house?
    b) Did you get wet in the Red Sea?
    c) Were there any cartoons on those tablets?
    5. A better time in the past? Given the dire state of medical and general scientific knowledge until fairly recently, I’m going no further back than the SF Bay Area in 1965.
    If we haven’t totally fucked everything up, I’ll fast-forward to The Rational Age, when we actually understand that we’re nothing special and decide to preserve all life, rather than just the life of the little sub-species that shares our beliefs/skin colour/language.

    • Jerry G, wow, really 😉

      Moses is interesting and I love your third question perhaps there were pictorial references to the 10 Commandments like on those safety instruction cards!

  14. Wow, what a brilliant response from you all and some excellent and in some cases very intellectual answers, thank you all for your contributions:

    1. I’d quite like to be Mrs. Leavey for a day, would be interesting to get her perspective on life and things in general, risky move no doubt but could be fun: The Way You Love Me

    2. I’d invite Tolkien, Robert Plant and just for some interesting stories Marilyn Monroe. I’m sure we’d Ramble On

    3. Might be an age thing but I’ve got a bit of the Wanderluster in me and desires to travel but where would I like to end up permanently, well Canterbury would be a good choice but if anywhere in the world then I think it would have to be San Francisco, well just outside perhaps in the Napa Valley.

    4. I’d like 15 minutes with the architect of Stonehenge and ask:

    A) Why?
    B) Why there?
    C) How?

    5. Another time and place, well I agree with most of you about needing certain comforts and access to medicine so whilst I’d love to be living (provided I was on £10,000 a year) in the early to mid 19th century; it’ll have to be the end of the 60’s early 70’s but as a 19/20 year old rather than a 5/6 year old so that I could go to Woodstock, The first Glastonbury and also to see Floyd, Zep and Hendrix live and live the “hippy ideal” Peace, love and Flowers In Your Hair

  15. 1. Famous person. Stalin – To understand the forces at play in the Soviet Union during WW2

    2. Three Guests. Duke, Jelly Roll & Benny Carter. We’d have a genial conversation about the origins and influences of early jazz.

    3. Another city: London – If I were rich I’d choose to have a comfortable apartment in the center of London, accessible to the greatest collections of human history and culture.

    4. Historical person Air Marshal Sir Trafford Leigh-Mallory, Head of Fighter command 1940-43
    I don’t have three specific questions but I’d like to talk about the Battle of Britain and how close we came.

    5. Period in time – 1930’s in NY – To be in the midst of the most creative period in jazz history, EVERYBODY was there.

    An earlier comment prompts a thought, those of us old timers generally tend to know each other to a degree, we’ve gossiped and let slip details over the years so in many cases we know names, emails, where we all live, what we do for a living, kids, spouses, age, tastes etc. There’s a new crop of Spillers who I know nothing about apart from their musical tastes and Spill names, how about dropping a few details now and then?

    • Jazz era clearly of interest and I imagine 1930’s NY would be fascinating, end of prohibition, coming out of the other side of the Great Depression and some wonderful jazz greats.

  16. 1. Oooh… Pete Wentz. Or Robert Downey Jr. No, actually, not RDJ, Joss Whedon, so I can work with RDJ on Avengers 2.

    2. Hayley Williams, Italo Calvino, Evanna Lynch.

    3. London.

    4. Fulk Nerra, comte d’Anjou. Questions: 1) Did you actually poison Robert of Normandy, thus accidentally causing the rise of Guillaume le Bâtard/Williams the Conqueror? 2) What was it like being in Jerusalem during al-Hakim’s assault on the Church of the Holy Sepulchre? 3) Could you explain your strategy of exploiting your neighbours’ differences without ever being caught out in doing so?

    5. I quite like living now, but I reckon I’d have made a decent Regency gentleman. Or an Edwardian. I’d have been an excellent younger-son-of-a-noble in the Edwardian period.

    Hi, guys. Guess who’s back?

  17. 1) I grew up with kaiju films, dubbed awkwardly for weekends on UHF TV. Whoever the actor was in the rubber Godzilla costume had the best job ever, trampling miniature buildings all day. And if he messes up, he just got to call for a retake and do it again. That’s so cool!

    2) David Lipscomb, Aleksandr Ptushko, Nikola Tesla

    3) I don’t think too many places would want the likes of me roaming around but a small town in the Benelux countries has always seemed pleasant to me.

    4) Kinda stumped on that one…

    5) I’ve had a strange fascination for the last few pre-Glasnost years in the Soviet Union or DDR, say from 1975-1985. A lot of what I learned about those places as a child at that time was a lie – I just don’t know which parts were true.

    • A man in a rubber ‘dino’ suit, neat SHA.

      Had to look up two of your three tea party guests ( had only heard of Tesla)

      We want you 🙂

  18. 1. If you could be another person, famous or otherwise, living or dead; who would you be?
    I’m sorely tempted to just pick someone/anyone a lot richer than me who doesn’t seem to have done too much harm on the way up. My second thought was to be any successful Wimbledon finalist. Preferably one who wasn’t expected to win. In the end, needing an actual individual and leaving the previous musings to one side, I think I’d like to be Anita Harris.

    2. “Well you know, They asked us to stay for tea and have some fun, Oh, oh, he said that his friends would all drop by, ooh.” If you could invite three famous ‘friends’ for tea who would they be?
    Juliette Binoche, Rosa Parkes and Margaret Cho. I’m not sure they’d have much in common though.

    3. If you didn’t live where you currently do and could move to another city, state or even country; where would you go?
    I’ve holidayed in Kefalonia, Greece about 10 or more times now. I think I could probably live there quite happily. I might even learn the language eventually.

    4. If you could meet an historical person for 15-minutes and ask three questions; who would it be and what would you ask?
    I’m not convinced that St Paul was a real historic person but, if he was, I’d ask him
    i) Which of these “letters” did you actually write yourself?
    ii) On your own or with a committee?
    iii) Were you a Gnostic or what?

    5. If there was a period in time that you would prefer to have lived, when would it be and why?
    I prefer now but if pushed then either the next century to see what it’s like (assuming we haven’t buggered up the planet) or before we invented agriculture to see if the paleo diet works. 😉

  19. 1. If you could be another person, who would you be?
    I think I’d probably have to go for a little-known sidekick/assistant to someone who REALLY made a difference, just to see first-hand a genius doing their thing. Antoni Gaudí springs to mind. Either that, or any of the astronauts that actually set foot on the Moon.

    2. If you could invite three famous ‘friends’ for tea who would they be?
    Easy one for me. Joe Fagan, Bob Paisley, and the great Bill Shankly. The “fantasy” opportunity to spend some time with the legendary LFC BootRoom is just too good to miss.

    3. If you could move, where would you go?
    Liverpool? New Orleans? Somewhere on the SW coast of Ireland? Murcia? Barbados?
    I dunno. All have their appeal, but all have their drawbacks. And I couldn’t possibly inflict any of them on my kids without their consent.

    4. If you could ask three questions of an historical person, who and what would it be?
    Strangely, I’ve drawn a blank on this. I liked the Stonehenge ones someone mentioned upthread; with more time to think, I’d probably come up with something along those lines.

    5. What period in time would you prefer to have lived, and why?
    Now at this point, I can be completely selfish and be guilt-free about it.
    In truth, I’m getting old enough that I begin to fear the future, and being left behind by it. But at the same time, I’m someone who could not have survived in the pre-modern world. So I reckon I’d just backtrack a decade, so that I’d have:
    – started going to gigs at the end of the 60s rather than the end of the 70s,
    – hit post-uni working age before the Milk Snatcher screwed us up,
    – been career-savvy enough to get involved in computer/internet tech at the outset, and/or
    – got into property buying whilst it was still affordable, so that I could leave my kids with more than just memories when I’m gone (which will hopefully be before the world turns completely to shit, and I die feeling guilty about leaving my daughters’ generation to clean up our mess).

    No playlist; I haven’t got time.

    • So you want to be me, Rich? I tick all those boxes, even accidentally making money from property by moving at auspicious times.
      On the other hand, you seem to have one of those enriching wife and family things going on… 🙂

  20. 1 Think I’d be me but with the attributes of others: The money of Gates; the mind of Ben Franklin; the compassion of Mandela; the looks of Montgomery Clift; the facility with a cricket bat of Sunil Gavaskar; the legs of Mark Cavendish; and the lyricism of Leonard Cohen. A song, ‘Famous Blue Raincoat’.

    2 My tea invitees would all be women: Monica Vitti; Barbara Flynn; and Christine Keeler and I’d pay Francoise Hardy to come and sing for us between courses, ‘All Over The World’ for starters.

    3 Dingle on the west coast of Ireland. Sumptuous scenery, great pubs, great music, great place to walk and think, warm people and the awesome power of nature in the late autumn. A song ‘Carrickfergus’.

    4 Tchaikovsky, just general chit chat about the inspiration for his music, his sex life, his death (though not clear yet how I’ll get clarity here), run-of-the-mill stuff!! Music ‘Pathetique’, the final tear-jerking finale in particular.

    5 I’m going to cheat with the period in time and say sometime very, very, close to the end of days, not knowing what will come next (and beyond) kind of bugs me. Song ‘This Old Heart Of Mine’ which will cheer me up even as the mountains begin to fall.

    • I don’t think i could handle the responsibility of Bill Gates’ money. Or would want to, my life would become about managing my money, security, etc. I think i’d rather have just enough money to own a home and travel, and then just paint with my time instead of dealing with money management.

      • Just a bit of whimsy on my part Amy. Mr Gates was lazy short-hand for having enough and always being able to support and help where circumstances and/or inclination demanded.

Leave a Reply

