Earworms 11 August 2014

Some laid-back sounds for you to start the week. We’ve had some wonderful worms in the in-box recently, thanks to everyone and keep them coming in to earworm@tincanland.com.

Sun Kil Moon – Lily And Parrots – DsD : Simply, I love the way the fourth chord in the ultra-simple riff occasionally goes squiffy: DUH-DUH-DUH-SQUONK!

Ed Motta – 1978 – albahooky: I’m still going through last year’s tunes and came across this by the Brazilliant Ed Motta, who has been recording since he was a mere pup many moons ago and has made a homage to American AOR called AOR. This tune is a nod to Donald and Walter.

-??- I Want To Know – tincanman: This is a mid-60’s British blues supergroup that recorded some songs but never released an album. Spill points for each member you can name.

White Lies – Farewell to the Fairground – Leavey: A much overlooked band. Somewhere between Editors and well I’m not sure, but Harry McVeigh’s voice is almost pleading on this particular tune slightly reminiscent of early Brandon Flowers, “keep, keep on running, there’s no place like home”.

Davidge – Hummingbird – bethnoir: This song inspired my children to describe a film it soundtracked in their minds, I love the space and of course, Patrick Duff’s vocals, so understated they’re almost not there, but all the more fascinating because of the difference in style.

Bob Andy – The Word is Love – goneforeign: Bob Andy is one of my favorite Jamaican writers/singers, he’s been active since the early 69’s when he and Marcia Griffiths had a huge worldwide hit with ‘To be young gifted and black’. He writes about serious matters, like ‘The word is love’ and he scores his music with unique arrangements.

13 thoughts on “Earworms 11 August 2014

  1. Pingback: Ed Motta – 1978 - SongDownload.info | Free MP3 Search Engine

  2. Bugger. Lost a longer comment on posting. Short version:

    Liked all of the worms this week: no exceptions. Well done, everyone.

    Re 3.:
    “60s British blues supergroup surely means the banjo-player is Clapton or Mayall.
    Voice sounds Winwood-esque. And I’m taking the clue from the info on the player line that it may be Paul Jones on harp. Any scores in those wild swings?

  3. Well I quite liked Sun Kil Moon and the mystery band – I’ll guess Jeff Beck is in it just to join in.
    Really enjoyed both Daviddge and the Ethiopians – I’m guessing Bob Andy wrote it and the Ethiops performed it.
    Didn’t care for White Lies and found Ed Motta’s AOR/Becker Fagen tribute unbearable. Possibly I would like him when he isn’t paying homage to either the genre or the duo.
    Mixed bag for me this week I guess.
    Will recommence sending wurms of my own (a nation weeps) when I’ve figured out how to attach songs from Windows media on this new(ish) Windows 8 computer.

    • Young Munday has Winows 8, can’t say I’m impressed. Apparently you can download an ‘old’ style Windows start menu from 10BIT but I’m not sure this would help. It’s the ads that drive me nuts, even with adblock! Looking forward to wurms, though.

  4. The Ethiopians have this week’s tunes by a mile : ” remember the word is love, and the name of the game is freedom – for all”

  5. My apologies for my confusing note with ‘The word is Love’, yes it’s the Ethiopians and it was written by Bob Andy and it’s from his album ‘Andywork’.

  6. I like the White Lies track, I was very taken with their first album, but keep forgetting about them, it is a good voice. The Ethiopians is lovely too. By the way, it shouldn’t be a double D in the middle of Davidge, sorry if I typed it incorrectly.

  7. I Want To Know
    Between Bluesbreakers and Cream, Elektra organized a British blues supergroup called Eric Clapton & The Powerhouse, with Manfred Mann’s Jack Bruce (bass) and Paul Jones (harmonica) and Spencer Davis Group’s Steve Winwood (vocals) and Pete York (drums). They had one recording session in early 1966 when Elektra decided to expand into Britain. Three of the songs were released on the Elektra sampler, What’s Shakin.

Leave a Reply

