Oops

Those of you who get email alerts about new posts may have just seen one from me that was intended to go on my personal blog. Still trying to get the hang of having more than one WordPress account.

For those of you who don’t know, I’ve just moved to Guadeloupe for a year’s sabbatical with the family. The blog explains more, if you’re interested.

Virtually, I’m not going anywhere. We’ll have to see how melancholy alt-country and Swedish indie pop translates to a Caribbean setting.

(Here’s a postcard with a sunset and a gecko)

10 thoughts on “Oops

  1. I wish you all the very best of luck and happiness over there. You’re giving your kids a great store of memories. And, as you say on your blog: ‘what person says on their deathbed, I wish I’d never spent a year on a tropical island?
    (But isn’t hurricane season approaching?)

    I don’t know if I ever managed to get this into your ears before, but this is the GD in that other French département d’outre mer, Martinique, well-disguised in Caribbean musical garb:

  2. Barbryn: I’m so envious! I don’t have many regrets but one is that we didn’t move to the Caribbean when I retired. Many years ago I saw a film from Martinique that became one of my all-time favorites, it was ‘Sugar Cane Alley’, see it if you can.
    I’d love to see a regular ongoing journal if you’d feel up to it plus whatever music you find there. Here’s one of my favorites, it’s Kali, keep an eye out for him.

    [youtube+http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vB7b_bMalw4]

  3. Thanks gf, I’ve always enjoyed your reminiscences of Jamaica. I like the Kali track, though he’s getting drowned out by the tropical night noises out here on the balcony. The music I’ve been hearing on the radio sounds much more African than Latin American to my not very trained and obviously grossly generalising ears. Will try to track down Sugar Cane Alley.

  4. it sounds amazing (I did have to look up where it was in an atlas!) and you are very brave to do it all with 3 kids! I’m sure you’ll have an amazing year – if not longer….I was only supposed to stay in Japan for a year!!

    Panther (on a work computer)

  5. It does sound like an amazing experience for you and your family. I’ll look forward to hearing more about your life over there. Will have a look at your own blog too.

  6. Best of luck, Barney & family. I hope it works out brilliantly for you all.

    Love from all of us, currently trying to sleep in a Cornish caravan above a wet, wild, windswept beach.

    DsD & family.

  7. What a fantastic thing to do! Am sure you’ll all have a blast. All the best.

    The ‘Spill map must be due for an update.

Leave a Reply

