Earworms 15 September 2014

Greetings from Earwormland, a slightly psychedelic feel to part of this week’s selection, although you may disagree. Thanks to all; if you would like to send some worms for future reference please dispatch them to earworm@tincanland.com.

Wolfgang Riechmann – Himmelblau – beltway: You want a long, meditative yet catchy piece of Krautrock-Electronica? Then here is the perfect thing for you, a piece of music that shines so gloriously bright, it’s just like the sun in that expansive blue sky it tries to capture. Riechmann was a bit of a peripheral figure in the Düsseldorf scene of the mid to late 70s, but his 1978 Wunderbar album from which this comes was probably destined to be his big breakthrough and it probably could have been – somewhat tragically he never found out, before it was released he was stabbed to death in a random, unprovoked attack on a Düsseldorf street. A terrible waste, but this is a beautiful thing to leave behind.

Eleventh Dream Day – Rubberband – chris7572: I’m fed up waiting for RRSA Saliva to turn up, so here’s my favourite song about all the melodramatic tension of one embarrassing aspect of nodding off. Apologies for any residual image in your brain, but none for the aural traces.

Robert Plant – Little Maggie – carolebristol: This is the opening track from Percy’s latest album with his band, The Sensational Space Shifters. The album is called “lullaby and …. THE CEASELESS ROAR” and is less of an Americana-influenced set than his last couple of releases. Anyway, this is toe-tapping stuff with some lovely West African sounds that gets the album off to a great start.

Taj Mahal – Johnny Too Bad – goneforeign: Taj was born Henry Saint Clair Fredericks, Jr. His father was a Caribbean jazz musician. I met him in Jamaica once and asked him what he was up to, “Just down here spending some time with my father’s family” he said, he has strong family ties to Jamaica and Jamaican music. This is his cover of Jimmy Cliff’s song from the film ‘The Harder They Come’.

Hank Williams – Move it On Over – deanofromoz: Some catchy country music from the 40’s. Note the resemblance to Rock Around the Clock, a pioneering rock and roll song, so I think this track demonstrates the evolution of music very well.

Lucero – Sixes and Sevens – DsD: Make sure the kids are out, lock the door, close the curtains, put the answerphone on. Clear the floor and turn up the volume: it’s dad-dancin’ time. “I can’t say I mind you dancing, it’s quite impressive in those shoes …” I don’t need no complications, but those are complicated moves …” What? . . . . Oh, OK, just me then. Well sod-yuz, I’m duck-walkin’ and side-shufflin’ around the office floor with a big grin on me face, so there!

16 thoughts on “Earworms 15 September 2014

  1. Well, the kids are out, the door is locked, the curtains are closed, the answerphone is on, the floor cleared and the volume is turned up….but no sixes or sevens for me to dance to here!

  2. Lucero and Eleventh Dream Day I quite liked but didn’t go overboard for. The Lucero track was good fun though. In fact both good in their way but not my kind of thing these days.

    Atcherly yer 11th Dream folks do sound a lot like Neil Young and Crazy Horse. If I heard a snippet of the music and you told me it was Neil I would have believd you and really liked it. Daft really. Maybe it needs that distinctive vocal to make me sit up and pay attention. I did play it twice but my mind wandered both times. Sorry.

    Taj Mahahl’s version of Johnny Too Bad is a good ‘un but (whisper) John Martyn’s is my favourite.

    The Wolfgang Riechmann track was gorgeous. I love that sound.

    Surprise of the week for me was Robert Plant. I’m also a bit hit and miss with him but this was fantastic and fab.

    Love that Hank Williams song – one of the contenders for the first rock n roll record. Great lyric, great sound, perfect.

  3. Wolfgang is lovely, kind of like the noises I get in my head when I’m washing up or something else that allows my mind to wander. The languorous quality of the guitar on Eleventh Dream Day is very appealing, I have been considering the new Robert Plant record, the band he had at Glastonbury festival were great, not sure if they’re the same but I like this track very much. Excellent start and those are my favourites this week.

    I will send some in, Ali, sorry it’s taking a while.

  4. Winners all round for me this week, which is nice to be able to say.

    The Wolfgang Reichmann would make a good start point for one of my late night ambient playlists. Echoes of E2-E4, and Tangerine Dream the other obvious reference point, both of whom have had recent outings through the DsD desk speakers.

    I see what people mean when they say Crazy Horse with the very enjoyable Eleventh Dream Day song, but the band it immediately put me in mind of were Black Mountain. You familiar with them, Chris?

    TheRobert Plant is intriguing, though the sound was a little muddy (might be just me); liked that.

    Really liked the wide-open space-ness of Taj Mahal‘s version of Johnny Too Bad. Gives the line “Where you gonna run to?” a panoramic vista. Ace.

    Deano‘s spot on about Hank Williams –> Bill Haley; liked that too.

    Cheers, all.

  5. My take on these, fwiw:
    Wolfgang Riechmann – sorry, this is really, really boring. Quite astonishingly boring. The extended version of the paint-watching video. In monochrome.
    11th DD – I think the Neil Young comparison is closer than Black Mountain (from the few tracks I’ve heard). Although I couldn’t bear NY’s whiny voice on it.
    Robert Plant – I can’t stand his usual vocal histrionics but I have to admire his attempts at eclecticism and, as he’s kept himself under control here, this pretty good. Bits of his Glasto set were rather fine.
    Taj Mahal & Hank Williams are justifiably iconic and impervious to criticism. The Bill Haley comparison is spot-on musically, deano, but lyrically it sounds more like inspiration for Mr C Berry.
    Lucero is, as DsD might suspect, not quite my cuppa. Impressive horns.

  6. Lucero: top marks DsD, stand out track for me this week, thoroughly enjoyable. Checking out their back catalogue as I type.

    Loved the guitar on Eleventh Dream Day, but the voice didn’t quite do it for me but a decent tune nonetheless, just needed a ‘stronger’ voice to go with the guitars.

    Well it won’t surprise you to know that I like the direction Robert Plant has gone, especially enjoyed the vocal combination with Alison Krauss and the last Band of Joy album and this tune is really good, tho’ I’d prefer it if he wasn’t so desperate to get “novel” instruments in the mix, for my money they’re superfluous to the way his voice has developed.

    Taj Mahal was nice and mellow.

    Hank didn’t really do it for me and the Wolfgang Reichmann didn’t transfer to my I-pod so not had the chance to listen to it yet.

  7. Wolfgang Riechmann: I’m not quite as anti as Chris, but this is perhaps a bit too subdued for my liking. I like the sound of it but I want it to break out into widescreen (pop). Maybe I’m just missing what I’m anticipating! The “la’s” certainly help turn it into something a little more ‘mantra-like’ than I was expecting (and therefore more interesting).

    Eleventh Dream Day: A bit turgid for me. And something about the slow pace makes me restless. What would you do while listening to this in concert? It’s too slow to mosh/dance/whatever to. I suppose you’d nod appreciatively. Oh no, now there’s a wibbly guitar solo…

    Robert Plant: Oh this is better. Nice guitar work. Sprightly. No yowling yet. Bit less keen now it’s gone all fiddly.

    Taj Mahal: Like his voice and the tenderness of the arrangement but I think I prefer the original.

    Hank Williams: Very jaunty. And very Rock Around the Clock.

    Lucero: Surprisingly, my favourite of the week. Raunchy, raucous, fun. I think I was expecting Zucchero, so perhaps that’s why I was surprised!

  8. Hi

    The first two tracks didn’t really do a lot for me, but I did enjoy the Taj Mahal, the Lucero, and obviously Hank. I like the Robert Plant, I have the album with Alison Krauss and find that a good listen too.

    In terms of Chris’ comment above, I agree, Move it On Over is musically like Haley, but more a sort of Berry lyrics. After all, Hank sang about dogs, and Haley was more about cats in seafood stores!!

    PS – apologies for the brevity of my response, something seems to be thieving hours out of the day…there are supposedly 24 hours in a day, but it sure doesn’t feel like it sometimes.

Leave a Reply

