LET’S GET TOGETHER AND FEEL ALRIGHT.

Back in the 70’s/80’s I used to enjoy making tape playlists of my various favorite musics, reggae was high up there then. I must have made hundreds, for myself, my car, my friends and many of them wound up in the living room along with all the VHS, the CD’s and the vinyl from whence many had originated. But then several years ago we had the big clean up and since they were not getting played much they were all consigned to the storage room upstairs, at one point I did a quick count and there were over a thousand. In latter years I sleep much less, often lying awake for several hours in the middle of the night, so I set up a cassette player with a pair of earbuds and started playing my cassettes: I’d usually have a dozen or more which were randomly chosen on the headboard. It’s wonderful, I’m re-living my musical tastes of those decades and also playing lots of interviews and musical documentaries and live performance tapes; I look forward to going to bed and I don’t mind a bit when I wake up at 1am. Last night I played a tape labelled ‘African & Jamaican dance music for Nathan” God knows why I have it and not Nathan but it was wonderful, 90 minutes of memorable music. Here’s side one of that cassette, a dozen+ cuts of favorite classic reggae. Let’s dance!

4 thoughts on “LET’S GET TOGETHER AND FEEL ALRIGHT.

  1. I was thinking the other day that I’d like to find the old cassette a university friend made me, of some classic reggae, enjoyed your mix very much.

  2. Have been looking forward to getting stuck in to this playlist. Listened to Legend at the weekend to set the mood, now I’ve got some time so it’s head phones on and chill for the next hour or so. Bliss.

Leave a Reply

