Sing A Rainbow – Indigo/Pink

cover_gdead-europe72

 

In Week 6 of this Spill Challenge we reach the nuanced end of the spectrum.

 

We should only be looking for Indigo  Songs but I’m also asking for Pink ones because, according to the song, pink is heard when you sing a rainbow and indigo is not. Three-syllable words are awkward things to fit into lyrics, it seems.

 

At least they didn’t take the ground-zero approach of Wyngate Junior, as reported by his proud punk Dad, or this would have been a one-week-only event.

Red and red and red and red
Red and red and red……

As usual, no embedded videos please; links only.

Have fun!

40 thoughts on “Sing A Rainbow – Indigo/Pink

  1. Well, could go with the Huskers again with When Pink Turns to Blue. But that would be cheating – it was already put up for Blue. I’d feel too guilty putting up the Furs as i know it’s Leavey’s favorite. Indigo Girls would be probably cheating too. So would Pink, or the Floyd too, but i might have to resort to those. So i guess for now i got nuttin.

  2. Well actually we haven’t reached the end of the rainbow, there’s still one more to go, violet, and there’s at least one very obvious song for that. Read up on your Newtonian opticks.

    • I may not be a New Tonian, gf, but I do remember that Richard Of York Gave Battle In Vain. I’m actually well aware that we have a week left.

    • We could easily have more than a week….

      Good thing for everyone this isn’t my challenge series, i’m researching oil paint color charts as we speak.

  3. Mood Indigo – Frank Sinatra

    And for pink:
    Pink Houses- John Mellencamp
    Pink Bullets- the Shins
    Pink Caddilac – Bruce Springsteen

    (Deanofromoz here by the way. Still can’t work out if I am signed in on my phone or not)

  4. Peter Gabriel – Indigo (sounds quite Genesissy)

    I’d go for a Duke Ellington version of ‘Mood Indigo’.

    Psychedelic Furs – Pretty in Pink
    The National – Pink Rabbits
    The Scaffold – Lily the Pink

  5. Lots of great suggestions already, but I cannot resist Aerosmith’s “Pink”, Nick Drake’s “Pink Moon” and Caravan’s “In the Land of Grey and Pink”.

    I have a couple of indigos as well, Peter Murphy’s “Indigo Eyes” and “Indigo Meadows” by The Black Angels from their recent album of the same name.

  6. I’ll go (initially at least) for

    The Bonzo Dog Band – My Pink Half of the Drainpipe.

    Which isn’t much about the colour itself of course. You could change it to blue or green and the song would still work. Wouldn’t be as funny for some reason though. LINK

  7. Indigo Girls would have been my first thought but pleased that Chris has extended it to include Pink too.

    Yep amylee was right I’d go for the Furs so donds to Tempusfugit and for the Duke tune.

    Donds to Deonofromoz for The Boss.

    Well that leaves me very little.

    A little bit of current country from Eric Church and Two Pink Lines, which is about waiting for the results of a pregnancy test.

    Eric Church – Two Pink Lines

  8. It’s been bugging me all night that it is eminently possible to use the correct colours in that song and so prevent millions of kids from getting them wrong in science class.
    All you have to do is split one of the notes into two to replace Pink with Yellow:

    Red and violet
    Yellow and green
    Indigo, orange and blue

  9. Allowing indigo and pink doesn’t vastly increase the options, does it?

    But there is a Stephen Malkmus & The Jicks song that almost has both in its title: Pink India. Oddly, the lyrics kinda make sense and connect to the title. Sort of. Ish.

  10. I’ve made a list which is very short….apols for any repeats….



    Mood Indigo – Duke Ellington
    Pink Cadillac – Natalie Cole
    Lily the Pink – The Scaffold
    Pink on White Walls – Paul Weller
    The Pink Panther Theme – Henry Mancini 🙂

    • Have just added –

      A White Sport Coat and a Pink Carnation – Marty Robbins

      which somehow surfaced from the depths of my memory this morning. Will have a listen to other people’s suggestions when I have a moment….but if I had to pick just one, it would have to be Mood Indigo by Duke Ellington

  11. I making too many playlists – writing too many articles and trying to finish some work…
    BUT

    a list is needed:

    Indigo Mood – Truth
    Mood Indigo – Dakota Suite
    Pink and Blue – The Mountain Goats
    Pink Noise Waltz – Diablo Swing Orchestra
    Pink Glove – Pulp
    Pink Light – Laura Veirs
    So Soft So Pink – Wildbirds & Peacedrums
    Pink Orange Red – Cocteau Twins

  12. Battleships confide in me and tell me where you are
    Shining, flying, purple wolfhound, show me where you are
    Lost in summer, morning winter, travel very far
    Lost in musing circumstances, that’s just where you are

    is purple indigo ish

    never saw pink military stand alone .. bet they were a right racket

    • Yes mention indigo on a odd little track Circus of heaven
      Outside great animals, as tall as the trees, tuning their colours to indigo and gold
      dropping red and emerald snow

      Or Alexi Sayle .. who did ‘andigo’
      Whenever my clients are late with their invoices, I don’t get angry, I just make silly noises
      and I go bing, bang, yuck, yock, wibble bibble, blaah

  13. OK, a bit late, but here’s me pink slips.

    Let’s start with a band I phoned into RR this week during the family trip to London:
    Satchel – Mr. Pink
    One of a few Reservoir Dogs characters as songtitles on the band’s EDC album; this is – happily for this Spill-thread – the most listenable.
    Richmond Fontaine – Pink Turns To Blue
    A very early tune; this is much more Green On Red than their later noir! 😉
    Girl In A Coma – Pink Lemonade
    Dananananakroyd – Pink Sabbath

    The Book Of Knots – Third Generation Pink Slip
    Magoo – Pink Dust

    If I’d been first in with them, Shane’s Wildbirds & Peacedrums and Laura Viers suggestions would be placed here as the pace of this playlist slows.
    Califone – Pink And Sour
    The Deftones – Pink Cellphone

    Yes, this DOES belong down here at the, um, “atmospheric” end of the playlist.
    Dosh – Pink Floyd Cowboy Song
    And let’s finish by getting a bit late-night jazzy with one I’m surprised hasn’t been mentioned already.
    The Czars – Little Pink House

    D’yunno, I like the way that selection flows. If anyone else does too, please shout up, and I’ll ‘Box it as a playlist.

Leave a Reply

