Panthersan’s Best Albums of 2014 – Joint Number 2s

Aphex Twin – Syro

syro

I have to admit that I bought into the hype and got pretty excited about the prospect of a new Aphex Twin record. I dismissesd the negative reviews whose only criticism seemed to be that it sounded like Aphex Twin and used up some of my very very limited record budget for the year. And I was not disappointed. I love everything about this record, from the stylish itemised bill of the cover art (Mmmm…triple viny) to the ridiculous elbow-leaning-on-the-computer-keyboard track titles, to the playfulnesss and variety of the music on it. Yes, it does sound like Aphex Twin – magnificently so. It’s one album that I can come back to again and again and find something new. An instant classic in my book.

Scott Walker & Sunn O))) – Soused

soused

First off, I should say that I know nothing at all about Scott Walker. I’ve never heard any of those old highly-revered albums or any of his more recent avant-garde stuff, I don’t think i’ve ever knowingly heard him at all. I don’t know if this is what he usually sounds like, but his voice, a deep, operatic, mournful wail on this record, took a bit of getting used at first. But, with Sunn O)))’s familiar resonant bass tones and slightly rockier-than-usual backing these epic, dark, often unsettling tracks soon burrowed themselves into my consciousness and stayed there for days on end. A late-night dark night of the soul contemplation record for those with particularly dark souls.

9 thoughts on “Panthersan’s Best Albums of 2014 – Joint Number 2s

  1. I’ve recently been listening to Aphex Twin again after a bit of a break, but haven’t explored the new album, I’ll have to have a listen. I was pleasantly surprised by Sunn O))) and Scott Walker. I’m an ambivalent fan of the latter, he is a big influence on a lot of artists I like and I should love him, but find his choice of material off putting, however this album is the most I’ve ever liked Sunn O))) so it’s win win for me.

    • Yeah, I think it’s the most accessible I’ve heard Sunn O))) (not a bad thing in my book), although that is pretty relative because it’s still pretty heavy and out there compared to most heavy music

    • Listened to the first Aphex Twin song. I was a bit meh about it, until around 3 minutes in when the buzz and then the vocals started. Then i liked it a whole lot more.

      I can’t say i liked the vocals much on Scottt Walker / Sunn O))). Think i would like the music without the vocals a lot more though, so someday i should probably get around to checking them out.

      • Oh, you’d like Sunn O))) by themself, one of my all-time best bands. Check out their Black One album if you’ve never heard it.

  2. Both of these were albums i planned to check out, but never got around to it. So now you’ve given me a good excuse. And i’ll toss in your #1 there too. Might be a few days till i get to them.

    Was there not a lot of good metal out this year? The little bits i’ve listened to didn’t do much for me.

      • sweet. I wish Chinny tossed a few into the festive Spill, but knowing him, he would have passed on the metal and put up Lady in Red type pap anyway. No, i’m just kidding if you’re lurking, Chinny.

  3. Amy – on the metal front I haven’t listened to as much as I usually would, but I absolutely loved the brutality of the Trap Them record, spent quite a bit of time with the new Behemoth and it might just be the fact that I love their original stuff, but I thought the Exodus album was thrashingly great too!

    Trap Them
    http://trapthem.bandcamp.com/

    Behemoth

    Exodus

    • Exodus rocked. I’m on a metal quest myself here – found myself some decent thrash, and some other decent genre metal too. I’ll toss the ones that make the cut onto my grabbag list, which i’ll probably post in a few days.

Leave a Reply

