Earworms 5 January 2015

15485552_s

Here we are, back to “normal” for many of us, the first full week of 2015. I hope you’ve all had a decent break and that today isn’t too painful. Me? I feel like crawling back to bed and sleeping until April, but unfortunately that’s not likely to happen. So let’s make the best of it with some upbeat earworms to cheer us along. Thanks for all contributions, and please keep the worms coming to earworm@tincanland.com. Pass the coffee.

Davido – Aye – bishbosh: I seemed to come across a load of ‘best of Nigerian Afropop’ lists in the last couple of weeks of the year. This was the song that particularly stuck with me. Something about the (to these Western ears) off-kilter rhythms that nevertheless resolve satisfyingly. I’m dancing about architecture, aren’t I?! Oh well…

Burning Spear – Appointment with his Majesty – goneforeign: Burning Spear, AKA Winston Rodney is a serious rastaman who’s undertaken the advocacy of Marcus Garvey as his lifelong mission. in 1980 he formed his own record label, Burning Music, that gave him total control of his recordings and independence from Island records, his original label. He’s recorded dozens of albums and still lives in a very simple cottage at the beach in St. Annes.

Troy Cassar-Daley – Play – Deanofromoz: Some Aussie country music for you. A fun song all about playing guitar. Infectiously catchy.

The Band – Ain’t Got No Home – CaroleBristol: The band recorded an album of covers called “Moondog Matinee” in 1973, when they were not getting on that well as a group, there were lots of ego issues and substance abuse problems and the creativity was waning as a result. It is, to be fair, a patchy album, but this Clarence ‘Frogman’ Henry song is infectiously toe-tapping stuff.

Les Claypool’s Duo de Twang – Battle of New Orleans – shoegazer: another from the “unexpected covers” series.

Alberta Cross – Magnolia – LeaveitAllbehind: A Swede (Petter Ericson Stakee) moved to England met up with Terry Wolfers and then moved to New York to begin work on their debut album as Alberta Cross. Terry has since left but whilst together they released two albums: Magnolia is the opening track from the second album Songs of Patience. Totally earwormy.

All images courtesy of http://www.123rf.com

14 thoughts on “Earworms 5 January 2015

  1. Wow they are all really catchy this week. Probably the only one that didn’t do much for me was the first one. Sorry bishbosh. Good selection everyone

  2. A very uplifting and jolly set of tunes to get the New Year off to a cracking start.

    Favourite was deanofromoz’s one, great fun country tune.

    Least favourite but still had my feet tapping (out of time) was Les Claypool’s Duo de Twang.

    Thoroughly enjoyed listening to all of them, thanks.

  3. Not entirely convinced by Davido. I like the rhythms but I’m not keen on what they’ve done to the voice – autotune?

    Troy Cassar-Daley was hugely entertaining. Burning Spear can do no wrong although I have heard more powerful tracks by him. Alberta Cross I liked but I would have been just as happy if it had been a couple of minutes shorter.

    Absolutely loved the two cover versions by The Band and Les Claypool’s Duo de Twang. Both songs I already love and great renditions of them. Joint favourites of the week. Played both several times.

  4. What a cheery start to the year! We are an upbeat lot aren’t we? I can’t see myself wanting to hear anything else by Davido, but it’s an attractive syncopation.
    Burning Spear feels very comforting to me, I like it.
    Apologies to Deanfromoz, I have an allergy to country music and your track is setting me off.
    Carole, I’m going to be wandering around the house singing wowowoo, wowowOwoo all day now!
    Not so keen on the last two, but all had something to offer. Thanks everyone for making a cloudy morning brighter.

  5. Davido: Oh yeah, I suppose it is quite auto-tuned! Weirdly, I hadn’t quite registered that. I suspect it’s the Nigerian equivalent of a Pitbull track but I do find it quite jolly.

    Burning Spear: Sort of more calypso-ey than I was expecting. Cheery. Like it.

    Troy C-D: I’m afraid I’m a bit allergic to yeehaw voices like this – especially if I’m told that the singer isn’t actually from Tennessee. Just puts me off a bit. (Which is a rather ludicrous stance to take given that everyone and his wife sings in a generic US accent, regardless of where they come from, so why not adopt a specific one?)

    The Band: Ooh it’s a cover of that song from The Lost Boys. Fun, although I think I prefer Corey Haim’s original.

    Les C: Yeah, this is jolly too.

    Alberta Cross: Favourite this week, I think. Uplifting.

    Thanks all – that was a very enjoyable set. I may listen again. Now.

  6. Hi Bishbosh, I understand what you mean. He probably hams it up a bit more on this track compared to some of his others, but like you say, probably does have a default Americanesque voice (singing that is, certainly not in normal talking).

    By the way, I never had a chance to reply to your comment on my Billy Bragg/Queen post before Christmas. Thanks for sending that stuff through.

Leave a Reply

