Earworms 16 February 2015

27323496_s

Some more great music for you this week, eclectic as ever. Thanks for all the contributions and I hope you will join me in a collective ‘Spill hug for DsD. May this get the week off to a good start, and please keep the worms coming to earworm@tincanland.com.

Elbow – One Day Like This – tfd: My second favourite local band, Kobold, is mostly a covers band these days, unfortunately – but some of the songs they choose are just lovely. In fact, not being a fan of orchestral backing to rock songs, I prefer Kobold’s version of this but they haven’t recorded it so you’ll just have to listen to Elbow.

Lloyd Cole and the Commotions – Four Flights Up – deanofromoz: Ok, I have come to the party late with Lloyd Cole, and I realise that he is probably well known to most of you already, but a new discovery for me, recommended by several people. I was pleased to find the album Rattlesnakes in a discount bin that I was rummaging through just before Christmas (yes, you might have noticed a trend, that is pretty much the only way I get music these days). Really enjoying the album and here is something from it.

Wire – Outdoor Miner – bethnoir: I sort of missed out on Wire at the time, but their songs sound kind of perfect to me, little gems, all different and cool. Catchy too.

Lucero – Drink ‘Til We’re Gone – DsD:

“Life is short, despite all y’plans
So tell the girls they’re pretty while you can
‘Cause one day they’re gone
And all you got left’s
Some empty bottles and an old country song”

This song is one of a few I have on a short loop at the moment. As ever, Ben Nichols can nail heartache with surgical precision. I will get back to you all, my friends, but it’s still too hard at the moment. As soon as I sit at my PC of an evening long enough to start thinking …

Don Covay – It’s Better To Have (And Don’t Need) – CaroleBristol: This was a 1974 single by Don Covay, who is possibly not as well-known as he should be. Although he had hits in the 1960s, he is probably more famous as a songwriter than a performer – he wrote “Chain Of Fools” and “See Saw” which were hits for Aretha Franklin and his songs were covered by everyone from The Rolling Stones to Steppenwolf. Anyway, he died on January 30th at the age of 76. This song was played all the time in a pub I used to go to in East London, where I lived when I was 18.

Salif Keita – Tekere – goneforeign: From his 1995 album Folon. Recorded in Mali, Tekere means ‘clap your hands’, it’s a song about jealousy, about how too much jealousy is easily turned into maliciousness.

 

Image courtesy of http://www.123rf

24 thoughts on “Earworms 16 February 2015

  1. This is a coincidence, I assure you. I had no intention of posting another Dead-related song this week. But look what is today’s song in the annual Dead Covers Project. It’s just too cute to pass over.

    Monkey and the Engineer: an old Jesse Fuller number that Bob Weir would drag out from time to time.

  2. A very varied selection this week.

    I am not a huge fan of Elbow, but I don’t actively dislike them, so I won’t complain about One Day Like This. I don’t remember ever hearing the LLyod Cole song before but it was OK. I used to own Wire’s “Pink Flag” album but gave it away about a decade or more ago, because I’d not played it since about 1980. That was all of their music I knew. Outdoor Miner was therefore new to me and I rather liked it.

    Unfortunately, I wasn’t particularly enamoured of the Lucero track. I don’t really know why, it kind of just passed me by.

    I like Salif Keita a lot. I’ve got two of his early albums, and this track was my fave of the week.

  3. After TB’s efforts a while back, I have a better appreciation of Elbow’s oeuvre. This one is a tad too ‘anthemic’ for me though. The second half is, essentially, Hey Jude. Na, na, na, na-na-na, naah…..
    I retain fond memories of Rattlesnakes and remember this one (although the title means nothing). Clever pop.
    Wire passed me by, too. This is pleasantly groovy.
    Lucero is sincere (I hope that voice is genuine) and I’m grateful it didn’t go into the threatened rawk meltdown on the chorus. [We’re still thinking of you, Rich.]
    The Don Covay track sounds like it was made significantly earlier than 1974. Not as great as his other hits…..
    As usual with a gf track – whether ‘world’, reggae or jazz – it’s quality music. And this one’s mainly a nice two-chord vamp to jam with. Lovely and sunny, despite its subject matter (are you sure it’s about jealousy, gf?).

  4. Strong selection Ali and the story of my life this week,
    Don Covay – a tune my brother bought on first release which I ‘purloined’ during the mid ’80’s as a fave on the warehouse/club circuit.
    Wire – The ‘Chairs Missing’ LP which this is off being my entry point and decided to see them live @ the Notre Dame hall off Leicester Sq. which was a very prickly affair playing only new material – self indulgent versions of ‘154’ tracks.
    Lloyd Cole – was a constant in contrast to Don Covay during the mid ’80’s, especially the tour to support this LP with the Blow Monkeys.
    Which kind of brings me to the present and as a curmudgeonly 50 something, eschewing the Elbows & Luceros in order to listen to music in the vein of Salif Keita.

    • I saw Wire when Chairs Missing was barely available in the shops and the same thing happened. Nothing but tracks from the (then) new album and nothing at all from Pink Flag. An initially enthusiastic crown turned very surly indeed. When they finally played I Am the Fly they may well have prevented a riot,

  5. The two singles were Outdoor Miner and It’s Better to Have. I have both of these on 7″ vinyl which is now barely playable.Wire I loved from back in 1977. I bought their first three albums. This track is a little gem that owes something (I think) to Syd Barrett.
    Don Covay’s track was given a rave review in Sounds magazine by John Peel who later made it number two in his round up of the year’s singles. It was beaten into second place by The Faces’ “You Can Make Me Dance”. I reckon Don was robbed. I love the eccentric way he begins some of the lines e.g. “My my my my clouds have done have lost their………………………….silver lining”. Should be ridiculous and isn’t.

    Elbow are ok by me. I used to have the Seldom seen Kid album on my old computer (kaput) and my old IPod (ditto) but it must have been taken from a borrowed CD cos it ain’t there now. “Audience With the Pope” is the only track of theirs I actually love but this is pretty good too. As someone who saw the Beatles performing Hey Jude on Top of the Pops when I was ten I’m quite partial to an elongated “na na” ending.

    Salif Keita – a great groove. The other two I quite liked. I generally enjoy a Lloyd Cole song without ever being moved to acquire any of his music. This one was spritely enough to jolly up a rainy February afternoon. I was convinced on both playings of the Lucero that he was going to start singing Norwegian Wood. Once I accepted that this wasn’t going to happen I liked his voice and song writing style.

  6. Ooh, I know several of these (funnily enough!).

    Elbow: Well, it’s a classic, isn’t it? I’m sure I’m fundamentally misunderstanding the nature of music or underestimating the potential combinations/permutations of musical notes or something, but it staggers me that musicians can still come up with (ostensibly?) new tunes this… undeniable. I can see the Hey Jude-ness of it, but I think that’s undercut by Guy Garvey’s idiosyncratic, poetic turn of phrase (When my face is chamois-creased), awed-but-everyday honesty (Holy cow, I love your eyes), abashment in the face of his emotional overwhelm (I can only think it must be love/Oh anyway…)… Love it.

    The Commotions: Another classic, from an album of them. Witty, catchy, literary (if a tad pretentious), deft, doesn’t outstay its welcome… Love it too.

    Wire: Know this one too! Pretty irresistible, innit? I didn’t really become aware of them until Silk Skin Paws and nearly-hit Eardrum Buzz, by which time I’m sure they were totes passé. And then I heard earlier stuff like this when Elastica were getting hammered for plagiarising them (among others). Love it three.

    Lucero: I can see why this speaks to you so deeply at the moment, Rich. And with that in mind, I’m perhaps appreciating it more than I otherwise would. (Bit too Americana-y for me as a standalone piece of music.) Love to you, mate. x

    Don Covay: Not really my thing, I’m afraid. Accomplished but just leaves me a bit unfussed. Entirely my failing/loss.

    Salif Keita: Not a Salif album I have (I’ve just got Moffou and M’Bemba). Irresistible. I saw him a few years back at the Festival Hall (I think), on the back of an album that was somewhat lukewarmly received (Talé, I think). He was awesome. So joyous it brought me to tears. Love this too.

  7. Aha, I thought most people would know the Wire track already, I won 3 of their album reissues from BBC6Music, back when they did competitions, which may have been a bit too much to take on in one go, but I love this track, I see the Syd Barrett connection, Severin.

    I can’t quite get on with Elbow, but I have a deep affection for Station Approach because it reminds me of a Mancunian ex-boyfriend, but otherwise not my cup of tea, I suspect that a simpler cover, as by Kobold would appeal more to me, it’s a well written song.

    Lloyd Cole is an admirable fellow too, nice to hear this again. Salif Keita is very cheerful, made me smile. Thanks for all the worms 🙂

  8. Diverse selection this week!

    Lucero track is the top tune for me (recent discovery courtesy of DsD, best wishes to you during this tough time)

    Don Covay – who he? decent enough.

    Better check that Mrs. Leavey ain’t listening as she’s the Elbow fan not me but whilst I struggle with a Guy Garvey’s voice sometimes it does grow on you and I can’t deny the “rousing” quality of this tune. Not my favourite tune from Elbow but enjoyable.

    Lloyd Cole – “harmless” not a fan, don’t really know too many of their songs and not sure I’m missing too much.

    I must have been in the same place as Beth too as Wire passed me by.

    Love the intro on Salif Keita, and enjoyed that immensely, I do appreciate GF’s tunes they’re so different to my normal fare.

  9. Hi everybody. Thought I’d better check in, as I’d provided a worm this week.

    First of all, thanks for your continued good wishes. I am miles behind (and not working chronologically) with replies to your individual emails. I’ll just say here again that I really do appreciate the support – love you too, Bish! – WILL take you up on the coffee offer, Ali.

    Re the worms this week, I just wanted to add my tuppen’th about Elbow. I hope Chris will forgive my [self-]indulgence, but I absolutely bloody adore One Day Like This . . . {dramatic pause} . . . provided it ISN’T the studio version.

    It’s a song which comes into its own as a live communal love-in, and for me, manages to walk that tightrope above the pit of mawkish bonhomie-by-numbers. In my opinion, it’s the best crowd singalong of the new millennium, and to that end, I’ve Dropped it as the climax of the band’s 2014 Glastonbury set. [Cue to 49mins to go straight to it.]

    For what it’s worth, as I’ve added that [almost] whole set, there’s another song that is better, imo, than the studio version. One that, had I been able to find it on its own, would definitely have been in my 2014 Festive Spill selections:
    My Sad Captains [Cue to 36mins for that one.]

    The studio version has a repeated, “bright”, guitar chord which for me is at odds with the diffused warmth of the brass and the vocals. It’s blissfully absent from the Glastonbury version. I repeat-played the BBC iPlayer video of the Elbow set to death until they took it down, and sadly, didn’t manage – despite Shoey’s offer of help – to find the time/means to download it.

    Blimey! Is that the time? Must go to bed. On my own (DsMam & girls at DsGran’s for half-term), so wasn’t clock-watching.

    G’night all.

  10. One thing about being me in this crowd is that I never recognize anything posted at Earworms except my own bits, it’s basically generational. When you lot were evolving into teenagers and developing musical tastes I was already middle aged and off in a musical world of my own. But I’m not complaining one bit, that’s why I signed on here umpteen years ago. I wanted to understand what a different generation were listening to and to hear some of their/your selections; and my weekly dose of Earworms does the trick. Today’s lot were typical, never heard of any of them except for Elbow, I’d heard that name before. So it was interesting to listen to this playlist, some I enjoyed, some not so, but generally all pleasant and I always enjoy reading your comments.
    Long ago I realized that assembling a musical playlist verges on being an art form, choosing half a dozen titles and assembling them into a whole is an art and every week I assess these in that manner; Ari never fails us regardless of whether you like the tunes or not.
    I was so taken with Tekere that I searched youtube to see if they had it live, they do, several versions, worth checking.

Leave a Reply

