Earworms 2 March 2015

25929656_l

I know I had a birthday last week but the senior moments are catching up with me. Since then, I’ve melted a box of chocolates, poured orange juice in my tea and trodden on the cat while upsetting more orange juice down the wall and into the plug socket. Perhaps I need more sleep – (pause for “corniest link of the year” award) – or less orange juice. Anyway, more goodies for you, enjoy and keep sending the worms to earworm@tincanland.com. Thank you!

Skuobhie Dubh Orchestra – Insomniac – glasshalfemptee: Toffeeboy’s wonderful survey of Scottish pop has reminded me of Kenny Anderson’s previous band Skuobhie Dubh Orchestra. I recently saw him in his King Creosote incarnation, and wanted to share this genuine earworm. Ironically, this track is actually quite soporific, despite the title.

The Barr Brothers – Come in the Water – CaroleBristol: A group new to me but who are getting a fair amount of airplay on BBC6Music. I love the sumptuous vocals here, it has a blue-eyed soul feel, especially in the chorus, that reminds me of early Hall and Oates a lot and there is a nice restrained guitar break at the end which gives me goose pimples when the voice comes in over the top.

Nenad Rajčević – Neću Da Me Lažeš Mila – Sweethomealabama: Okay, I don’t know a word of Bosnian, and I can’t find a lyrics sheet, so this song could be about a lost dog for all I know. What I do know is it’s a great slow burning, soulful waltz that I found on a crate digging blog and I can’t get enough of it.

Pixies – Velouria – bethnoir: I heard this used in a TV programme the other day and it reminded me that whereas I was never the hugest Pixies fans, they had some wonderful pop moments.

Hard Fi – Feltham is Singing Out – deanofromoz: So, the place where I buy my discount second hand CD’s sell them for $5 each, or 4 for $10, so often I find two things I like, and then might as well make up the numbers with something else that I am less sure on. So based on that, I thought I would give the album Stars of CCTV by Hard-Fi a go. Still haven’t listened to it yet, but I am already familiar with this track, Feltham is Singing Out. Its a powerful, all too believable, but depressing tale of how someone descends from party animal, to recreational drug user to addict, to criminal, to prisoner and then ultimately suicide … yes, a nice cheery one for you. I will be interested to hear the rest of the album.

Scientist – Spacetime Continuum – goneforeign: From the 2000 CD ‘Scientist Dubs Culture Into a Parallel Universe’, anything related to Culture deserves a listen. I’m not the world’s biggest Dub fan unless it’s incorporated into a ‘real’ song, a-la BMW but I do have a soft spot for Scientist, AKA Hopeton Brown. He started off as an apprentice to the great King Tubby and went up from there. This is the DUB version of Culture’s excellent Roots Reggae release “Payday” and lists several friends in the credits.

Image courtesy of 123rf.com

19 thoughts on “Earworms 2 March 2015

  1. A rather nice selection today. I wasn’t particularly enamoured with the Bosnian song, but I listened to it again and it improved.

    I do like a bit of Pixies and I like a bit of theremin, so Velouria works nicely for me, but it would be unfair to make it my pick of the week because I know it so well.

    Therefore I nominate Scientist and Spacetime Continuum as my favourite ‘worm this time around.

  2. Belated birthday wishes Ali.

    Varied selection again this week with the stand-out tune being “Scooby-Doo”, brilliant, playing it again and again 🙂

    Enjoyed the Barr Brothers, though felt it went on a little bit.

    Thought the Pixies sounded like Placebo in places (that’s a good thing).

    Didn’t understand SHA’s Bosnian offering; harmless but not really my thing.

    Hard-Fi sounded like a more aggressive version of The Jam or The Enemy but that aside the tune along with the subject matter didn’t really float my boat.

    Scientist required several “listenings”, enjoyed the reggae bits but the overall piece probably wasn’t for me.

  3. I wondered if the Pixies might be familiar to everyone, it does get stuck in my head though, so I thought it qualified 🙂
    I wasn’t too keen on Scooby Doo, my bad.
    The singing on the Barr Brothers song is pleasing. I love the strings on the Bosnian track and the tempo, goes a bit eurovision at the chorus though.

    I kept wanting the dub to go somewhere, must not be in the right frame of mind of it, always a pleasure to hear new sound though. Thank you Ali! Must be something in the air at the moment, I went kept driving by the places I wanted to go today and having to turn around and go back!

  4. Agreed re. the dub, it sounded different at home but here I thought it rather drab dub, not going anywhere after a nice start.

  5. Insomniac was gorgeous I thought. Pixies and Scientist did it for me too. I don’t need a dub to “go anywhere” really just sustain a mood. Quite liked the others including the Bosnian offering.

  6. Maybe I’m uncritical Maybe I’m easy to please. Maybe I’m in the mood. Whatever, I enjoyed the whole set. Standouts, for me, were Barr Bros & Scientist. Thanks everyone.

  7. Big cheerio to all of you folks…. It is fantastic to see that song I recorded many, many years ago is still generating some interest. It is on the B side of my very first single recorded for Radio Television Belgrade. And the lyrics are all about struggle we all face in dealing with the drug addiction of the ones we love….

    Kind Regards

    Nenad Rajcevic

Leave a Reply

