Earworms 30 March 2015

33020717_s

The Spring is sprung, the grass is ris, I wonder where the music is? Well, it’s here of course, extracted from our heads alive and kicking. Happy Monday, and thanks to all contributors. Please keep the worms coming in to earworm@tincanland.com.

Songhoy Blues – Soubour – AliM: I heard this on BBC Radio 6 and it’s firmly stuck in my head. The Songhoy is an ethnic group from Mali, you can read more about this band and their music here: http://www.transgressiverecords.com/artists/detail/songhoy-blues

James Reyne – The Rainbow’s Dead End – deanofromoz: James Reyne is one of my favourite artists. He was the lead singer of late 70’s/80’s rock band Australian Crawl, and was known as a bit of a hearthrob. But it is in his solo career that he has really forged out a strong body of work, and I have probably seen him live more than any other musician. This song I would describe as a quintessential James Reyne song – ie. if you don’t like this, there is probably not much point in you exploring any more of his work.

Jeff Beck – Cause We’ve Ended as Lovers – and – Roy Buchanan – My Friend Jeff – tincanman: Beck recorded his Stevie Wonder cover on Blow By Blow in tribute to the man who’d schooled him on the Telecaster; a year later Buchanan said thanks on A Street Called Straight.

Rufus Wainwright – One Man Guy – goneforeign: This is a genuine ear worm of the classical variety, can’t get the bloody thing out of my head. I’m not a huge fan of Rufus W, I much prefer his old man who I regard as a totally honest artist. Loudon wrote this song and he really means it, Rufus just sings it; perhaps it’s the presence of his sister doing vocal harmony that makes me like it.

Scott Matthew featuring Ian Matthew – Help Me Make It Through The Night – bishbosh: Up there with “Something Stupid” in the ‘inappropriate songs for a parent-child duet’ stakes, the tenderness of this rendition nevertheless gets me every time.

Image courtesy of 123rf.com

13 thoughts on “Earworms 30 March 2015

  1. Ah! Songhoy Blues, lovely. I kept on meaning to send this in as a ‘worm but forgot. Glad to see it here. The album is on my wishlist.

    “Blow By Blow” is my favourite Jeff Beck album, and “Cause We’ve Ended As Lovers” is a knockout. Brilliant stuff.

    I didn’t mind James Reyne, vocals a bit Neil Young-ish and a nice enough country rock song. Not bad.

    Roy Buchanan was an awesome player, he really made it sound effortless. Another fantastic track.

    I like Rufus Wainwright but I know why a lot of people don’t. This is a nice track, less mannered than much of his later stuff.

    Scott Matthew was nice enough but it didn’t really grab me.

    So, fave this week? Because I own the Jeff Beck, I am going with Songhoy Blues, absolutely brilliant groove there.

  2. Glad you like Songhoy Blues. You’ve mentioned Radio 6 so often I thought I’d give it a go, I can listen via the TV and there’s some brilliant music on there. It reminds me of the heady days of Radio Caroline and discovering lots of new music. Thanks! Worms are boxed, btw.

  3. Just deleted my own comments. I shouldn’t try to type them directly in while I’m playing the songs. basically agree with Carole.
    Roy and Jeff great guns on the guitar. James Reyne very Neil Youngish. Which is good.
    Rufus I sometimes love and sometime can’t be bothered with. I prefer his dad’s version of this song. Scott Matthew didn’t do a lot for me I’m afraid.

    Songhoy Blues was fantastic. How come I never hear anything this good on the few occasions I tune in to radio 6?
    Probably don’t do so often enough as I’m a Radio 4 person 90% of the time.

  4. Drat – just lost a post. Long story short – really loved this set – earworms seems to get better and better – thanks to Ali and the team. Guitar heavy bunch this week, gets off to a fantastic high energy start from Songhoy Blues. There’s almost a rule for me – if it’s from Mali, I like it. And this sure bears that out. Hard to think anything that followed would match it, but the Tinnie pairing were superb – two masters of the geetar. The James Reyne I liked too, and as Carole says, very Neil Young (which is a plus in my book). Nice juicy worm from Rufus. The Scott track punctured the ecstasy, I’m afraid Bish! (Might have sounded better in the company of a different set of songs). I’ve got them all on repeat now.

    • That’s alright, ghe! We all think our own tastes are exemplary – of course! – but even I knew this one might be a little iffy. (I still love it though!)

      Will get round to listening later today…

  5. When I saw the title Songhoy Blues I thought it sounded very familiar, until I played it. I was thinking of Songhai, the name of the region where Ali Farka Toure lived, on the edge of the Sahara along the bend of the river, I’ve read quite a bit about it. The song wasn’t what I expected, all my stuff is 30 odd years old, this was what current Malian music sounds like, a strong mix of the ancient and modern; I loved it, I need to get out more.

  6. Hi all, thanks again for your contributions and for Ali’s curating skills. My thoughts, for what they are worth:

    Songhoy Blues – Soubour – after the first ten seconds, I was thinking I was not going to enjoy this, but by the end of the song it started to win me over. Ali, I have an internet radio thing (see how tech savvy I am!) and I have discovered that I can listen to BBC stations, so I have started listening to BBC6 a little bit.

    James Reyne – The Rainbow’s Dead End – I had never noticed Neil Young, but now that you mention it I can see where you are all coming from. Glad most have enjoyed it, when you put one of your favs up here, it is always interesting to see how others are going to take it.

    Jeff Beck – Cause We’ve Ended as Lovers – and – Roy Buchanan – My Friend Jeff – generally speaking, I am not much of a fan of overblown guitar solos, but I liked these, the Roy Buchanan one more so. So yes, I was surprised.

    Rufus Wainwright – One Man Guy – I can see where goneforeign is coming from in his comments above. I liked this, but I can’t really put my finger on what in particular I liked about it. Although I have heard of Rufus, I am not very familiar with his work, other than one other track. This was nice.

    Scott Matthew featuring Ian Matthew – I love the song, but this version didn’t really do it for me. At the risk of being predictable, I am probably more a fan of the Johnny Cash version. And yes, bishbosh, the Frank and Nancy thing has always bothered me.

  7. Songhoy Blues: Ooh nice, tight, uptempo groove. I wasn’t really expecting that.

    Jeff: ‘Fraid not for me. It just seems a bit slow and meandering (and loooong), which as extensively discussed before (I bore even myself) is down to my deficient attention span, nothing else.

    James: Nice clean opening guitar sound. A bit less keen on the vocal. The song itself is a bit FM Rock for me – and reminds me of something else. Soul Asylum’s Runaway Train perhaps. Not at all bad, just not really my bag. But I can hear that if I’d grown up with it, I’d probably love it. The sort of song that sounds ready-fitted for nostalgic affection.

    Roy: There aren’t gonna be any words in this one either, are there? Prefer it to Jeff. At least there’s a groove.

    Rufus: I have tried ever so hard to love Rufus (and occasionally succeeded – Poses, Oh What A World, Go or Go Ahead, Dinner At Eight, Going to a Town) but he’s often just too much and too nasal for me. He can be an exhausting listening experience, his persona crowding out the listener rather than welcoming him/her in. But this is pleasantly spare and unadorned, perhaps because it’s not his song. The voice is still a bit drawly-nasal though.

    Scott and Ian: As I said upthread, I’m not really surprised this isn’t anyone much else’s cup of tea. It’s an odd old version (but not as odd as his version of Whitney’s I Wanna Dance With Somebody on the same album). But I rather like its gentle vulnerability.

  8. I agree with the Neil Young comments, it was the first thing I thought when I heard James Reyne. I’ve surpised myself by liking the Rufus Wainwright, that’s two of his, now!

Leave a Reply

