Earworms 20 April 2015

8785170_s

Another cracking bunch of worms this week, absolutely no theme whatsoever except that they’re all rather splendid. Thanks everyone, and please keep the worms coming in to earworm@tincanland.com. Enjoy!

Goran Kajfes Subtropic Arkestra – Dokuz Seki/Esmerim – CaroleBristol: This is apparently a mash-up of two Turkish songs given an avant-garde jazz treatment by Goran Kajfes, a Swedish trumpeter of Balkan origins. It is the single from a forthcoming album called The Reason Why Vol. 2. I’ve been hearing this a lot on Lauren Laverne’s 6Music programme and I find it irresistible.

Jason Vieaux – Misionera – glassarfemptee: When I want to chill out, or to have some background music while reading, I often choose classical guitar music. This is one of my favourites. I go to concerts by classical guitarists occasionally, and I am pleased to find this regularly crops up in the repertoire.

Chairmen of the Board – Since the Days – Albahooky: Back to 1970 with a b-side from the superlative Chairmen Of The Board that has a suitably overwrought lead vocal from Danny Woods, who ‘May not be the one you want, but (oh baby, baby) I’m the one you need!’

Lesley Gore – No Matter What You Do – tincanman: It’s her party and she’ll hold it in the garage if she wants to. RIP.

Big Bill Broonzy – Key to the Highway – goneforeign: Big Bill toured the UK several times in the 1950’s, I saw him twice. Once at a club in London where he performed with Humph and Chris Barber plus several members of the Basie band with Jimmy Rushing. The second time was a Sunday afternoon concert in Ipswich where he was on the bill with Brother John Sellers; when the show ended I went backstage, no one stopped me and there was nobody else there, I was only about 17. I had a long conversation with Bro. John and when he left Big Bill asked me “Is there anywhere around here to get something to eat?” I told him “Yeah, I know a cafe that’s open”, he said “OK, let’s go”. So we did and I spent the next hour or so learning the blues. My memory of him is that he was the most compelling person I’d ever met, he dominated that stage like no one I’d ever seen before.

Bridie Jackson and the Arbour – Far from the Tree – AliM: A great folkie/acoustic all-female band based in Newcastle, this single was released recently. Some of the proceeds went to the Epilepsy Society. I think the song speaks for itself, I find it quite haunting.

Image courtesy of 123rf.com

 

21 thoughts on “Earworms 20 April 2015

  1. Once again, all lovely pieces. I knew the Big Bill Broozy, a true classic. I love his singing and playing. My favourite was the new to me Bridie Jackson and the Arbour.

    • I saw Bridie J and co. in Huddersfield recently, they were very good live and did an excellent cover of The Cure’s “Love Cats”! Their musicianship is spot on, very accomplished and professional. I’d never come across them before.

  2. My apologies, I didn’t realize that I’d already told that tale re. Bill. Once I start scribbling I lose track, sorry.

  3. Really enjoyable set. It’s impossible to pick a favourite seeing as I like anything Balkan-tinged (the first track shows a new and different take on the typical Balkan brass I listen to), soul, (Geordie) folk, blues and 60’s pop. The classical guitar just makes the whole thing perfect. All the tracks are quality examples of their genres.

  4. From the dropbox I’ve got Alabama Shakes and not Lesley Gore!! Like it, though I’ll be honest I’ve tried several times to listen to their first album when it was released but just didn’t get on with it. Anyway, that tune isn’t in the playlist above.

    Big Bill Broonzy – yep, traditional blues, nice.

    Bridie Jackson and the Arbour – Far from the Tree – loved the voices, good tune.

    Chairmen of the Board – Since the Days – oh, really, really liked that.

    Unfortunately Goran Kajfes Subtropic Arkestra – Dokuz Seki/Esmerim wasn’t really my bag nor the Jason Vieaux – Misionera either.

    Now the Lesley Gore – No Matter What You Do that was missing from the box, oh yeah like that too.

    Favourite Chairman of the Board closely followed by Alabama Shakes and then equal third was Bridie and Lesley Gore with Jason and Goran following up behind.

  5. Anyone up for a sometime post-election weekend London social?

    (Kind of silly thing to post on a post hosted by a lovely lady in the North frequented by Californians, Aussies & the occasional Finlander – but could use some cheering up if anyone’s around).

    • Shoey! I wish I could, but it’s a long way. I’ll mention your post on the RR page on Facebook, more RRs might see it there. Hope all OK.

    • keep me informed – I’m up to my neck in stuff but might be able to do a day trip on the Saturday (or overnight if I had a sofa to stay on) would be good to meet. Any of my e-mails are as useless as another – but I do find the messages eventually!

      Let me know your plans.

    • Shoey, pardon me for being stupid, but when, exactly? As soon as there’s an election coming I stop watching the telly. Genuinely don’t know when it is, let alone how long after it that you’re over!

      Have to say it’s unlikely, but I am, f’rinstance, due to be only 40 miles north of London on Sat 16th May.

      • not my area: I only know the Shacklewell Arms in Dalston ‘cos I see bands there and some pubs off the Chatsworth Road near Hackney.

        I’m sure the locals can sort it out (depending on what area the meet up would be).

Leave a Reply

