Earworms 11 May 2015

‘Spill social 9 May 2015, Severin, Shoey, SaneEm, GHE, (tfd, mnemonic), tarxien, S.O.Webcore

Severin, Shoey, SaneEm, GHE, Tarxien, S.O.Webcore

What better images to use this week than some of us at the ‘Spill get-together-with-Shoey on Saturday. Much talk about music, and some splendid CDs from the more organised among us, which GHE has boxed for your delectation. On to business, here is this week’s set of worms, and a challenge from tinny. Please continue to send any spare worms to earworm@tincanland.com – thank you!

France Gall – Ich Singe Meinen Song – Sweet Home Alabama: I’ve never listened to too much of Gall’s non-French work, but this has me wondering what else I may have missed. And this was actually relegated to a B-side.

??????? – ?????????? – tincanman: Nope, not the Talking Heads. ’Spill points if you can identify it without cheating.

Shawn Smith – Cloud To Cloud – DsD: For those in need of a pick-me-up, here’s a positive mantra from Shawn. This was submitted for wrangling three hours before SS’s Manchester gig – I’m REALLY hoping he plays this; I could do with the singalong. “Living a life that’s just begun / there’s many a song still to be sung / there’s many a hug left to be given / many a sunrise to be risen.” It may *backspacebackspacebackspace* would undoubtedly have offended my English teacher at school, but sod him, I don’t care.

Grace Potter and the Nocturnals – Tiny Light – LeaveitAllbehind: recent discovery this for me. Nominated a couple of suitable tracks for DsD’s stint for RRSA vinyl. Then took a listen to some of the band’s other stuff and this one just seems to have stuck.

ALiM, tfd, mnemonic, tarxien, S.O.Webcore

AliM, tfd, Mnemonic, Tarxien, S.O.Webcore

Aswad – Three Babylon – severin: I bought this single after seeing them support Eddie and the Hot Rods at the Greyhound Hotel in Croydon in 1976. It’s rather good.

The Chambers Brothers – People Get Ready – goneforeign: Here’s a bit of gentle Gospel that shuffle threw up yesterday, I don’t think I’ve heard if for close on 50 years, it used to be a regular favorite. I saw them live at a university lunchtime cafeteria gig, way before they became known, it was instant love and then they started playing regular club dates around LA. And then came ‘Time!’.

11 thoughts on “Earworms 11 May 2015

  1. Oh, blimey, that one of tinny’s is driving me mad. Am so far avoiding Shazaming it, but I’m sure I know the voice. Will own up if I have to look it up …

    • OK, I gave up. Shazamed it, looked the result up online, and … nothing. Have no memory of it at all.

      Re the whole half-dozen: it’s accurate to say that my fondness for these tunes waxed and waned once throughout the playlist. No real surprise there.

      Lunchtime.

  2. Monday morning here and I have big appointment later today so an affirming playlist must be an omen that all will go well. If you believe in omens. Which I don’t. But, still…always goo to cover all the bases, wot?

    Had only heard Get Ready by the Impressions so that was a real treat. tx GF. Googled and the Chambers and Everlies both covered it the same year, 1965, it came out. You sure didn’t get much of a head start on the charts in those years, it seems.

  3. France Gall – not too sure about that one.

    ?? – I heard “Simeon the whale” but I presume it is Rusted Root’s Send Me On My Way.

    Shawn Smith – like that, so he’s also the front man for Brad, hmmmm, might need to explore some more.

    Aswad – like that too.

    Chambers Brothers – Oooh, that one is also good.

    Close call Shawn Smith in at number 1 followed in joint second by Aswad and Chambers Brothers, fourth ??? with France Gall following up at the rear.

    Cheers everyone.

  4. I like a bit of the ye ye style and now I know I enjoy it in German too. France Gall, very cheerful for a Monday. Now I know that ?? is Rusted Roots I could pretend not to have thought “oh I know that voice!” But I did think that and I was wrong. Liked it a lot though.
    Shawn Smith and Grace Potter both good and uplifting stuff. Chambers Brothers, sublime.

  5. Anyway, I liked Grace Potter, Aswad and The Chambers Brothers, but I didn’t much like the other ones.

    I used to own the Aswad song on a vinyl LP of the 122 singles, and it cannot therefore be my fave, so Ms Potter and the Chambers Brothers jointly get the award this week.

  6. Aswad hit the spot for me this week. Liked the last part of Tiny Light – it was almost two songs, and came alive with the guitar break, for me. The mystery song was unknown to me, but I enjoyed the Graceland vibe. Thanks all, as ever. look forward to next week! And good luck, Tinnie…

Leave a Reply

