Spillyear 1992

1992

I really enjoyed last week’s 1984 love-in. It was clearly a time when pop music was all shiny and new for a large slice of the ‘Spill demographic. For me, that came a few years later. By the early 90s, I was spending all my paper-round money at Our Price (or sometimes in the independent record shop where you could buy second hand cassettes for around £3.99, which seems absurdly expensive now) and the Melody Maker albums of the year list was a hallowed religious text.

So what were your top 3 records of 1992?

Listen to the playlist here

Add your choices

 

 

132 thoughts on “Spillyear 1992

  1. I could have agonised for ages over my choices, but actually these 3 came almost immediately:

    1. Suede – The Drowners
    “The Best New Band In Britain”, said the Melody Maker front page, above a picture of some pretty floppy haired boys nobody had heard of. They played this on the Radio 1 Evening Session soon after. I was never so excited about a new band before, and probably never have been since.

    2. St Etienne – Avenue
    To be honest, I didn’t quite get St Etienne at the time, although I knew I was supposed to like them. This record was number one for a record-breaking 16 weeks in heaven.

    3. REM – Nightswimming
    My older brother proclaimed REM the Greatest Band in the World. And he had a point.

      • I didn’t like REM when I first heard them (I blame “Losing My Religion”) and it took a while til I went back the way (I still don’t like “Losing My Religion” much). Suede’s debut record was flat out amazing of course, and still is.

        • I still don’t like REM. I can see why others do, but even though I have bounced around at indie discos to Stand and Orange Crush, I’ve never wanted to buy anything by them. Each to their own though.

    • I remember really liking both Suede’s Animal Nitrate and REM’s Drive. I wasn’t keen on Automatic For The People but it’s firmly associated with 1992 in my head. My flatmate bought it and played it to death. He then heard a rumour that REM were gigging in the UK and spent an afternoon refreshing ceefax pages to try to find information. He then sent me to a local Waterstones (for some reason) to ask if they had tickets, which was quite embarrassing, but he couldn’t leave the house because he was checking ceefax. Guess what? There were no REM gigs.
      A few weeks later two of my mates came to stay, and that was the weekend my flatmate split up very messily with his fiancé. One of my mates fell asleep early on before things had kicked off and had the unnerving experience of waking in a flat to find a couple he didn’t now breaking up noisily around him. However he has a very black sense of humour, and saw the funny side, so much so that he couldn’t help having a giggling fit, which made him instant target for the scorned woman’s rage! Me and my mates decided it was best to get out of the flat for a bit. When we got back the fiancé had gone and my flatmate mate was blasting out Everybody Hurts. That was the moment for me that that song became a cliché.
      I still like Drive though.

      • First time i heard Everybody Hurts, i thought – what the hell is this? Is everyone supposed to be primal screaming along with Everybody Hurts at shows like they shouted along with i am human and i need to be loved? Is it earnest, disingeneous, deadpan, cynical black humor, serious – i’ve come to the conclusion that like the Smiths, it’s all of the above. It’s not my favorite, but I like it a lot better now than i did at the time.

      • Yeah, Drive is far and away my favourite track from that album. Which I too played to death in 1992/93. I was on a uni year abroad in Siberia and phoned my parents (on a particularly rickety line) to ask them to send it out to me to cheer me up. Along with the Banshees’ greatest hits, Twice Upon A Time.

        The rest of the album is pleasant enough but almost too polished/well crafted. I like the fact that one perhaps has to try a little harder with Drive (though I do still enjoy The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonight and Nightswimming and Find the River). I must admit, I’ve always found Everybody Hurts a bit too direct in its emotional appeal. It’s almost too universal to connect with me at an individual level – I don’t find anything specific to hook into. And no mystery. (It is of course a lovely song.)

      • I was talking about it with a mate only a few weeks ago (probably telling him the above story for the 417th time) and he said that Stipe wrote Everybody Hurts after reading about how high the suicide rate was for men in the US. The song was deadly earnest, and attempt to appeal to people who might be contemplating ending it all I suppose. But that does mean as Bish observes that it lacks the enigmatic quality of most of REM’s stuff.
        They are one band where there’s a handful of songs I really like, but generally I’m not bothered, other than Murmur which I like and actually have on CD.

      • “I was on a uni year abroad in Siberia ”

        ..????!!! What kind of course involved a year in Siberia? I’ve flown over Siberia a couple of times – several hours with no sign of human habitation other than one very long road.

      • Modern Languages, innit. Specifically Russian. Which was a terrible idea for a degree for me because: a) I’m painfully self-conscious (especially then); and b) I hate being seen/heard to make mistakes. Not a great combination when trying to learn to speak a new language… Added to that, Siberia in 1992/93 was a miserable backwater of hyperinflation, horrific food (the family I lived with had an entire fridge devoted to pickles, which was preferable to them trying to force-feed me slices of frozen lard), virulent homophobia… Oh and the family I was living with specifically requested a male student as they wanted to marry their daughter of to a ‘rich’ Westerner. Yeah, good luck with that… I meanwhile was miserably, unrequitedly in love with my best (fellow English student) friend out there, who – being essentially straight – wasn’t remotely interested. Except when incredibly drunk and/or lonely. It was the worst of times, it was the worst of times. (Everybody hurts.)

  2. A quick look at the charts (Top 100 singles of ’92 – Top-100-1992 – Singles) suggests I was listening to Stay by Shakespeare’s Sister, Ebenezer Goode by The Shamen and Tamsin Archer’s Sleeping Satellite.

    Music library suggests it was a ‘best of year’ with albums from: Simple Minds, Fleetwood Mac, Siouxsie and Belinda Carlisle, two releases from The Boss (neither of which I actually bought in that year) and the classic Automatic for the People by R.E.M., which I did buy.

    Back later with top 3.

  3. You know, i got all excited about this, till i realized it was another ort of tween year – lot of stuff happened before 1984 and ’92, but a lot of stuff was still to happen. Still – some good stuff out there. But this also isn’t very hard for me as there are some standouts. Poppy ones, even. Indie rules.

    Pavement – Summer Babe
    Lemonheads – Confetti
    L7 – Pretend We’re Dead

    Runners up –

    House of Pain – Jump Around
    Arrested Development – Tennesee
    Automatic for the People pick – The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonight

  4. Wow, so much schlocky stuff charted that year. I scanned the Billboard chart and had to take an insulin shot. My faves this year were easy to winnow down to 4; in the end, Elton & George had slightly less plays than:

    R.E.M. – Man On The Moon
    Big fan of the band for years by that point and Andy Kauffman was such an original.

    Eric Clapton – Tears In Heaven
    Still get a lump in my throat when I hear this, even after a quintillion listens. How anyone who is a parent could not is beyond me.

    Red Hot Chili Peppers – Give It Away
    Blew me away the first time I heard them and every new album was still wowing me at this point.

    • Since ’94 i had lived in NYC for a few years, and in ’92 i was in LA. Nevermind and Blood Sugar Sex Magic were huge there at the time.

    • A pedant writes that BSSM and Give It Away were released in Sept ’91 (says Wikipedia, anyway. Maybe it was ’92 internationally.) My pick from that album would have to be Under The Bridge though – you just couldn’t get away from it, and i had just recently moved to the City of Angels. It was so different from Give It Away.

  5. 1992. Hmmmm, I was listening to a lot of old stuff back then and not really bothering with new things. It was the year that Spiritualized released Lazer Guided Melodies and was also the year of Rage Against the Machine’s eponymous debut, but I didn’t get to hear those albums until a couple of years later.

    Thinking back, it seems to have been a time between things for me. I wasn’t much interested in grunge then (and I’m still not, really, apart from a few things) and I’d just stopped going out around the Bristol club scene. I think that I was suffering from a bit of disillusionment with music, to be honest.

    However, there were things I did buy that year and the three tracks I’ve chosen are very much tied up with the relationship I was in at the time.

    k.d. lang – Season of Hollow Soul
    Sophie B. Hawkins – Damn I Wish I Was Your Lover
    R.E.M – The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonite

    • Didn’t realize that RATM debut was that year – i had the chat with Rich before i think, that despite living in LA, and being fairly near to the Rodney King thing that happened in ’91, i also don’t remember hearing them till much later.

    • just enjoying the k.d. lang song, very familiar, I must have bought Ingenue at some point and lost it again, must get it again.

    • Ooh, was that the year of Sophie’s Tongues And Tails? In that case, as Samn…. has already been picked, I’ll prewarn you that I Want You from the same album will be floating somewhere near the DsD top picks.
      Still got lots to do, so back later.

  6. I spent 1992 in Norwich, had a wonderful time, saw Suede live and was instantly converted, tried to see Roy Harper, but he cancelled at the last minute, without even looking I know my top three would be
    Einstürzende Neubauten – Die Interimslibenden
    Roy Harper – Evening Star
    Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Straight to You

    • Donds for Nick. I nearly went for Papa Won’t Leave You, Henry in my three, but I decided to stick with folky ladies!

  7. I think I’ll go:

    Buffy Sainte-Marie: The Big Ones Get Away
    Michelle Shocked: Come A Long Way
    10,000 Maniacs: These Are Days

    • Oh, dond for 10,000 Maniacs, didn’t realize that was ’92. I probably didn’t hear that until later as well, my memory sucks.

    • Can’t find a youtube for Michelle and don’t know if vimeo works but here that is (and I’ll replace her with Tori Amos’s Silent All These Years in the list):

      • Toridonds. I bought that on cassette single, with “Smells Like Teen Spirit” on the B-side. I’ve never been an avid fan, but it’s such a striking debut. “Excuse me but can I be you for a while? My dog won’t bite if you sit real still. I’ve got the Antichrist in the kitchen yelling at me again…”

        That’s a glorious 10,000 Maniacs album too, though “Stockton Gala Days” would be my choice.

      • I still grin/gasp at the lines:

        So you found a girl
        Who thinks really deep thoughts
        What’s so amazing about really deep thoughts?
        Boy you best pray that I bleed real soon
        How’s that thought for you?

    • I was just watching the playlist and wondered who had added Tori Amos and then wondered if I’d forgotten what Michelle Shocked looked like!

  8. 1. “Leave Them All Behind” – Ride
    2. “Confetti” – Lemonheads
    3. “Motorcycle Emptiness” – Manics

  9. Leonard Cohen – The Future
    Meat Beat Manifesto – Original Control
    Andy Fairley – False Starts

    Grunge goes mainstream in the US: Sugar, Alice In Chains, Rage Against The Maxine….
    Machines rise in the Uk: Orbital, Orb, Cabs stripped down remixes, a resurgent On-U Sound, Oakenfold on the mix. Wolfgang Press….

    Another bumper year.

  10. soon I discovered that this rock thing was true…

    sugar kane – sonic youth
    puss – the jesus lizard
    weirdo – the charlatans

    the close others
    conjure me – afghan whigs
    trigger cut – pavement
    a good idea – sugar
    hush – tool
    dame chance – young gods

    • Donds for Sugar Kane, Weirdo, A Good Idea.

      Tool’s videos were far too scary for me. I’m still too feart to even youtube them.

  11. I turned 15 halfway through 1992. I think I may have been listening to cassettes of “Wish” by the Cure and I had “Copper Blue” by Sugar on one side of a tape and “Beaster” on the other (suggesting that it was actually 1993 when I took those out of the library and taped them). The walkman was important for me, cos I could go round school with Manics, Sonic Youth, Lemonheads all to myself, as well as Extreme (LOL) and how could 1992 go past without mentioning “Everything About You” by Ugly Kid Joe?!

    The rise of alternative rock/punk for me in 92 (and shoegaze!) was the thing that killed off any of the hard rock & metal I was listening to – 1993 shaping up to be the best music year of my life (but that’s another story).

    • I nearly went with High from Wish. Saw them somewhere in Newcastle on that tour. I (deliberately) lost everyone I was with and squirmed my way to the front to mosh out (in a gothy way). Good times.

  12. Done it! There wasn’t much to choose from

    Schwartzeneggar – Child Of The Times
    Steve Ignorant started doing stuff that was better than the stuff he’d done with Crass. But as it wasn’t Crass hardly anyone paid any attention
    https://youtu.be/xbpzm4cSg4w

    The Adicts – Rockers In Rags
    The Adicts doing what they do best. They should do it more often
    https://youtu.be/Krrb2HgKiLI

    James Ray’s Gangwar – 35 Thousand Times
    Out-Eldritching Eldritch
    https://youtu.be/0wkatbb9j1s

  13. Wolfgang Press — Louis XIV (from Queer the best album ever).

    Spiral Tribe – Forward The Revolution (from a field in Hampshire losing my mind)

    Daisy Chainsaw – Love Your Money (from my local pub falling off stage into my arms)

    plus this lot:

    SL2 On a Ragga Tip

    The Sugarcubes – Hit (Album Version)

    Queen Latifah – How Do I Love Thee (Extended Club Mix)

    Ultra Vivid Scene – Cut-throat

    E – Fitting In With The Misfits

    eric’s trip – kiss me on the head

    Lush Untogether –

    Bettie Serveert – Palomine

    Leonard Cohen – The Future

    Carter USM – Suppose You Gave A Funeral And Nobody Came

    The Darling Buds – Sure Thing

    The Wedding Present – California

    1992 – I bloody loved it LINK

    • Donds for Daisy Chainsaw. I briefly took up the bass guitar around this time – that was one of the few riffs I learnt to play. I was blown away by “Hit” the first time I heard it too. And I’d probably enjoy listening to “On A Ragga Tip” hugely now.

      Was 1992 the year the Wedding Present released a single every month?

  14. 1992 is a hard one to pick from. DsMam & I had been together for four years, both in good, settled, decent-salaried, little-pressured, middle-management jobs. Marriage & kids weren’t even on the horizon; the mortgage was peanuts; I was fast turning into HMV’s fabled £50 Man, and footloose friends for pubs / footy / gigs were plentiful (Heads-up, DaddyPig – I went to Wembley for the Charity Shield in August ’92 – Liverpool 3, Leeds Utd 4, including that accidental Strachan backheel!)

    Albums I bought and listened to a lot that year included the already-mentioned efforts from R.E.M., Sophie B. Hawkins, RATM, (Oh hell yeah! I remember being sat at the teatable open-mouthed as Radio 1 accidentally played the full version), G’n’R, Tasmin Archer (her “homecoming” gig at Bradford’s St. George’s Hall was a memorably emotional affair), L7 (remember the infamous appearance on The Word?), 10,000 Maniacs, Tori Amos, Arrested Development, etc., etc.

    It was the year I “discovered” Dr. John, buying that year’s Goin’ Back To New Orleans as a result of our first stay in that fine city.
    Pot-lucking on bargains – particularly cassettes – gave me albums by Distant Cousins, Gin Blossoms, Red House Painters, Jon Secada (yes, really!), Warrior Soul, Lyle Lovett, Neneh Cherry (thought ‘Money Love’ was bloomin’ ACE!, and that led me directly to En Vogue’s Free Your Mind the same year, but single only – didn’t buy the album).

    It was the year of second albums by Thunder, Gun, Black Crowes, Electric Boys; all of whom already were, and have stayed ever since, firm DsD favourites. In terms of rock otherwise, I was slow into grunge, but did buy albums from Blind Melon, Stone Temple Pilots, Ugly Kid Joe, Little Angels and more that haven’t maintained their place in my affection over the years, but also from Tom Cochrane, 2 Tribes, Bon Jovi, Little Village, Cowboy Junkies, Del Amitri, Melissa Etheridge and Faith No More , that most definitely have.

    Oh, and Green Jelly’s Three Little Pigs was 1992. Just sayin’ … ;o)

    Picking three tunes only is going to be a pig of a job; not going to try now. G’night all.

    • Excellent. I remember buying The Cowboy Junkies album after hearing a few snippets on Rapido (…anyone?) and thinking it the most beautiful thing I’d ever heard. I hold to that opinion. Another of my #4 choices.

  15. 1. Sugar – Changes
    2. Dinosaur Jr. – The Wagon
    3. Sonic Youth – 100 %
    hors categorie: Gorecki – Symphoniie #3 (London Sinfonietta/Zinman)
    donds thus far: Siberry/lang, Pavement, Bettie Serveert, anything by the Lemonheads, and last but not least eric’s trip!

  16. Wow, this is so hard….1992 was a great year. Donds for Suede, RATM, Sugar, Charlatans, G’n’R, Ugly Kid Joe (oh..come on – it’s great!), Shamen, L7, Lemonheads, Manics….and most others I missed. I was listening to all of them and had them all on cassette.

    I’ll go for:

    Nirvana – Turnaround (Incesticide was released in 1992)
    Alice in Chains – Junkhead
    Senseless Things – Hold it Down

    • You’re right – Incesticide was in ’92. I’d take both of the Vaselines covers, but i didn’t know of them at the time. We were still on Nevermind and discovering Bleach, and In Utero was yet to come.

      Can’t believe i missed Dirt too. Would? and Rooster were all over MTV, either of them would have made my list.

      • And that’s why I mentioned that I’d been slow on the uptake with grunge. Apart from Pearl Jam, what I’d heard by that point sounded a little too ugly for my tastes. I have changed my mind since, obviously, and one of the first keys that unlocked Seattle’s doors to me was the Singles film soundtrack album, which I bought pretty much on release because of a review promising some PJ that I hadn’t got, either on Ten or on B-sides. S’funny: I do like that album a lot, but I’ve never seen the film.

      • I didn’t get “Empire Of The Senseless” til 93 when it was re-packaged with another cd of their early stuff. Then I played the beejeeesus out of it. So, donds.

  17. Pulp – Babies
    Flowered Up – Weekender
    Moby – Go
    Arrested Development… (Damn that’s four! Okay! Grrr!)

    Fuel

    • 1992. Economic depression in Finland and a shite job. Brother-in-law had dealings with criminals and the baliffs were calling to collect his debts! Woke up drenched in cold sweat after having a nightmare that told me I should stop doing the intoxicants and get a different job. Heard my mother had finally had her MS confirmed. Went back to Blackpool to help – spent most of the spring, summer and autumn in the UK earning lots of cash, despite being sacked three times by mother for ‘insubordination’. Didn’t go and see the old friends much as their toxicity levels were just too high. Realised I was now a ‘weekender’. Suddenly, the clubs were a bit too crazy.

      The guys from Panasonic and lots of others were beginning to make a great scene in Turku. Lots of trancey sounds were getting stuck in my head, shoegaze was on the record deck as were lots of British pop sounds like Suede, Ride, Pulp and Boo Radleys and er… Wannadies and Popsicle, even though they came from Sweden. It was so good to get away from Finland and the metal. Loved some grungy stuff, esp. L7, but was more interested in Pavement and Belly and Sonic Youth. Donds for almost everything on the list.

      Back in Finland I pitched an idea about making a parody video diary and nobody was interested. A year later, I cried when I saw Steve Coogan had done it and better than I could. Went on to the next project about getting lost in the spooky Finnish forests and recording it lots of p.o.v. shots of inexplicable events.Years later i bawled when I heard about the Blair Witch Project. Went on to the next reality tv project about filming a group of people surviving on a Finnish island… You get the idea. An acquaintance went on to produce the first Duudsons episodes… Always in the wrong queue.

      In the UK I got to see Stockport County playing great football. Lost twice at Wembley that season to Stoke and Peterborough. Oh to have such disappointments these days.

      Love most of the stuff mentioned and on the playlist. A fun but mindfucking time.

      • @barbryn I checked. It’s ’92. But found out that both Maher brothers have died. Sad.

        @Blimpy Had Lush’s Sweetness and Light on repeat. The Gepetto and Dusted EP’s had me slavering in anticipation of their album. Plus, y’know. Tanya Donelly. Oooh! Throwing Muses “Firepile”.

        Sorry for PKN crashing out in the Eurovision semis. Apparently introduced with words to the effect of: “This is the shortest song in Eurovision history and some say that even then it’s too long”. I guess they needed glitzy clothes instead of Hard Skin t-shirts. On the plus side, it changed opinions about people with disabilities and inspired a lot of people elsewhere around Europe.

      • Gah! Sweetness and Light was 1990. But the Spooky album was 92, and that means Superblast.

        1992! Oh the election of that year. Never been so disappointed until this year. Music was a definite escape that year.

      • Cheers. I had to put in the full length versions of Weekender and Geek Love because the baggy shoegaze meets prog doesn’t work otherwise. The skip button is your friend. IIRC, Geek Love was a big Peel fave.

  18. My only access to music in 1992 was on MTV, really. These stick out in my mind. If they’ve already been picked, then donded.

    Arrested Development – Everyday People
    Black Crowes – Remedy
    Snap – Rhythm is a Dancer (despite the tasteless rhyme)

    Justified and Ancient by The KLF was released at the end of 1991, but figures in the 1992 Billboard chart. Can I have this if my other choice are already taken? If not, I’m off to Mu Mu Land.

    • That whole “end of one year but feeling like the year after” thing has been a big stumbling block when I think about what I was listening to in any particular year. It is fine in the context of this series, though, I think, because I’ve tried to limit my choices to things that I actually own, or owned at the time, also to things that I was aware of at the time and not music that I like now but discovered later. The situation where I have to own up to something I liked back in a particular year but cannot stand now hasn’t arisen yet, but I expect that it will before long. The question is will I be honest enough to admit it when the time comes?

      • if I listened to something in 1993 vs 1992, i doubt i would ever remember so I’ve just gone on the basis of what was released in the year, with a caveat that, if i knew definitively i hadn’t got into it until later then ignore it. i like a Death in June song released in ’92 but definitely wasn’t listening to them then. i don’t think i owned weirdo in ’92 but it was played constantly in the clubs i was going to so i think that’s ok.

        what was interesting for me at least is that 1992 seems to have been a vinyl/cd crossover year. i have a fair few of the year’s releases on vinyl (afghan whigs, sugar, ministry, sonic youth, moose, lemonheads, urge overkill) and others on cd (jesus lizard, pavement, nirvana, tool, young gods, come). shame i didn’t stick with the vinyl format assuming it was always available. of course i may have just bought some of the cds later.

        • I know exactly what you mean about vinyl/CD crossover. For me it was 1991, the year I bought my first CD player. I can even remember the last album I bought on vinyl. It was Buddy Guy’s Damn Right, I’ve Got the The Blues. Funnily, I actually bought the vinyl after buying the CD player because when I went to the shop, they didn’t have the CD in stock but they did have the record.

  19. I was mostly buying cassettes in 1992 and I have not got very far in trawling through them to see what I was actually listening to at the time.
    So far…………..

    Mary Coughlan – Magdalen Laundry

    more to follow!

    • I bought cassettes that year too, because I’d left my record player back home and CDs were very expensive, still haven’t rebought all of the things from that time, but don’t play cassettes much these days.

      • I was all cassette too. I didn’t get a CD player until 1994 (my18th birthday present!) and a record player until 1997 (my 21st birthday present!)

      • Van Wolf mentioned that 1992 was a vinyl/cd switchoverr year. I didn’t buy my first CD player and CDs until 1995. I was buying cassettes, and still have large boxes full of them consigned to the top of the wardrobe. Mrs Fugit does not agree that they look cool filling the shelves in the front room. We’ll be moving on in a year or so and a decision will have to be made whether to keep them or dump them.

      • I’d grown up with LPs and saw cassettes primarily as a means of allowing me to listen to stuff in the car. I was very reluctant to buy pre-recorded ones, given the sound quality and propensity to get tangled up, although I bought a few around 1990.
        I bought my first CD player in 1991 (I reckon), when The Marble Index was re-issued on the format.

      • Keep of course! Cassette culture is alive and well and mostly releasing droney/ambient/experimental music in ridiculously limited editions (I was listening to a cassette album by a Russian artist yesterday on Bandcamp that was released as an edition of 25 – that’s twenty five!).

      • The Gangwar album that I picked one of my tracks from I still only have on cassette, I keep meaning to rectify that. It’s a paradoxical situation that I think the album’s really good, so don’t play it because I’m worried about knackering the cassette. At least a fair bit of it is now on youtube.

      • I bought a new cassette for the first time in decades a few weeks ago. So shiny! So very very shiny! Good album too, I’ll have to ‘spill it at some point.

    • The only pre-recorded cassettes I’ve ever bought were the ones the NME used to put out back in the early 1980s. I used to have hundreds of albums on cassette that I’d borrowed and taped but I chucked them all away ages and ages ago. I still have a cassette deck, though. It is in a box down in the garage and probably doesn’t work any more, because it hasn’t been used for about 20 years.

      • The last time i bought (or recieved as a gift) cassettes was The White Album i think. So that would have been early 70’s. Cassettes were annoying, the tape was always getting caught and the heads always got dirty, leading to unspooling and ultimately ruined cassette. Good riddance. We had 8-track players though, in our cars. I made my own 8-track tapes.

  20. 1992 saw the premiere platters from a pair of prodigious, pagan performers: Peej and Pavement. And the release of Two From The Vault, which gave me only the second live versions of New Potato Caboose and The Eleven I’d ever heard. So, one of those two will be in my 1992 contributions, plus:
    PJ Harvey – Water
    Pavement – In The Mouth Of A Desert (as others have been nabbed)

    • Donds for PJ Harvey….I think I might have heard it on the Evening Session or something at the time, but I didn’t really know who she was until much later

    • I’ve added The Eleven.

      The playlist presentation is vastly improved this week. It’s now comparable with YT! 😉

    • I didn’t buy Two From The Vault until 1993, or it might have featured on my three. I never heard anything by Pavement until around 1997 or 8.

      • I confess I’ve used the dates on the albums in deciding what to select for these posts. I’ve no idea when I actually bought what. I’m moderately sure I bought these early on though…

    • My girlfriend at the time was at the same school as Polly – her brother was in the same year, it was quite a big deal playing PJ around our place… (i.e. we got to hear ALL about the school years – OFTEN!) …… 20 odd years later she’s still my best mate AND we still get to hear about Ms. Harvey.

  21. In 1992 I had just started going out with the kids’ dad (as he was to become), having met at work. I’d started the job in the October of the year before, really enjoyed it and thought I’d stay working there until ripe for my pension (cue manic laughter)…
    The first song I’ve chosen will give you an idea of the German pop scene at the time. The next two I got to see in concert together on an open-air stage in a big park, complete with picnic, one of my favourite concert memories.

    Die Prinzen – Gabi Und Klaus

    Bonnie Raitt – Something To Talk About

    Lyle Lovett – Church

      • Yes, that was indeed one to remember!

        I can’t add die Prinzen to the playlist as I can’t find a halfway decent vid on youtube, but if you click on the link in my post it’ll take you to a clip on their homepage. They were HUGE in Germany that summer, the borders to the former DDR not having been down too long and bands from there still having a sort of novelty bonus. They’d all been choirboys at the famous Thomaner Choir in Leipzig.

  22. I think I may have been inhabiting an alternative universe in 1992 because I can’t remember anything much. I was 33, working in the Directorate of Rural Affairs, which was a bit of a nightmare because I lisp on R (“Diwectorwate of Wuwal Affairs”) so when I answered the phone I used to say “:Hello, Footpaths”, which made very little sense … anyway … had lots of cassettes which I still have in the drawers of what I laughingly call my dressing table (though I keep my make-up and comb in the kitchen cupboard with the cat food). Living in Bristol with my ex-ex. Probably listening to:

    Eric Clapton – Unplugged (a new concept back then) – I’ll go with “Malted Milk”;

    Peter Gabriel – Us – I’ll go with “Digging in the Dirt” – remember seeing the Secret World extravaganza on TV and enjoying it;

    Annie Lennox – Diva – I’ll go with “Little Bird”.

    • Oh yes, we used to play Peter Gabriel a LOT at work (I was working in a record-and-book shop), the Clapton Unplugged too!

    • Never liked Eurythmics much, but i have a particular aversion to solo Annie through no fault of her own, i worked at a restaurant in NYC that played her albums incessantly. (Along with Basia, which induces homocidal impulses in me.). I can still take No More I Love Yous for some reason, but not much else.

  23. I doubt I’m going to reach anything I can call a final decision here. I would probably have included one of the REM songs already mentioned if I’d been quick enough but instead I’ll go for:

    Satanic Reverses – Disposable Heroes of Hiphoprisy
    Magdalen Laundry – Mary Coughlan
    Sleeping Satellite – Tasmin Archer

    and if that doesn’t bring your party to a standstill, I don’t know what will.

  24. Ok, let’s see which of my faves are already other people’s picks … and let’s add 3 different artists to the playlist:

    2 Tribes – File under Rock
    This ain’t Soul II Soul, it’s rock’n’roll!
    Little Village – Solar Sex Panel
    A paean to the alleged virility of bald men, no less!
    GUN – Watching The World Go By
    Definitely my favourite current band *in* 1992.

  25. 1st child, new city, new life – gave up music mags, most music radio save the odd Leeds pirate radio station as discovered Radio 4.
    These featured sometime during the year :
    ‘Skunk Funk’ – Galliano
    ‘Poppa Large’ – Ultramagnetic MCs
    ‘Who Chooses The Seasons’ – Omar w/ Carleen Anderson

Leave a Reply

