Retroworms 15 June 2015

29042073_s

Here is the first in an occasional series of retroworms. If you think it’s a bad idea, I’ll stop!

I’ve been compiling earworms for a couple of years now, and every so often I make a playlist of a few favourites – just enough to fit onto a CD. Anyway, here is the first one I did – please don’t take it personally if I haven’t picked one of yours, (a) it may be in another compilation and (b) the list is completely subjective. In the normal run of things I never pass over an earworm, whether I like it or not. Hope you enjoy the music and let me know if you think I should go and stick my head in a bucket.

Meanwhile, please keep sending your worms to earworm@tincanland.com. Many thanks!

Barb Jungr – Fisherman’s Blues – Tatanka Yotanka, June 2013
Claude Vasori – Drug Pop – Beltway Bandit – April 2013
Ed Harcourt – The Man that Time Forgot – Beth Noir – March 2013
Eddie Reader – Never Going Back Again – Zalamander – February 2013
Frou Frou – Breathe In – Abahachi – May 2013
Hanne Hukkelberg – Ticking Bomb – severin – April 2013
Hanni El Khatib – Heartbreak Hotel – tincanman – March 2013
Katzenjammer – God’s Great Dust Storm – severin (may not have been a worm, but definitely severin)
Lianne Hall – Abandon Ship – glassarfemptee – May 2013
The Men They Couldn’t Hang – The Colours (Remix) – bishbosh – May 2013
Milladoiro – Muiñeira de Chantada – Beltway Bandit – July 2013
Radio String Quartet Vienna – Birdland – Nilpferd – June 2013
Rokia Traore – Aimer – Nilpferd – April 2013
Salif Keita – Bobo – bishbosh – March 2013
Songdog – Gene Autry’s Ghost – glassarfemptee – July 2013
Sore – Nancy Bird – barbryn – May 2013
Toufic Faroukh – A Night in Damascus – goneforeign – July 2013
Van Halen – Ice Cream Man – tincanman – April 2013
The Youngbloods – Darkness Darkness – Fintan – May 2013

Image courtesy of http://www.123rf

16 thoughts on “Retroworms 15 June 2015

  1. Lots of nice things to listen to which I didn’t know. I especially liked;

    Hanni El Khatib – Heartbreak Hotel
    Milladoiro – Muiñeira de Chantada
    Katzenjammer – God’s Great Dust Storm
    The Men They Couldn’t Hang – The Colours
    Sore – Nancy Bird
    Toufic Faroukh – A Night in Damascus

    I also liked the Salif Keita track, but I can’t honestly fave him because I already like him a lot and own a couple of his albums.

    But my absolute favourite was;

    Radio String Quartet Vienna – Birdland

    Which I thought was excellent on many levels.

    There weren’t any tracks that I didn’t like, though.

  2. Ali” You’ve got a unanimous ‘great idea’, keep it up, though I did miss the regular one yesterday. I’ve been trying, unsuccessfully, to burn a disc, Apple doesn’t recognize the format of the cuts, won’t even let me install ’em in iTunes. My contribution, ‘Damascus’ is only 8kb on your list, my original is 5.1mb! I don’t understand how 8kb can be played, yet it can.

    • No idea, I’m afraid. I would have thought they should download into ITunes as .mp3s but can’t offer any useful advice.

  3. “Now that’s what I call earworms” – what’s not to like? One of the advantages of getting old and forgetful is that more and more music sounds fresh and new!! Or maybe I really hadn’t heard some of these before. Anyhow, got off to a great start with the very wonderful Barbr Jungr! Now to listen to the rest. Thanks Ali.

  4. I’m with ghe: I expected to recognise a load of these, but far more of them than should sound entirely new to me. Particularly enjoyed the Eddie Reader, the Katzenjammer, the Lianne Hall…

Leave a Reply

