Earworms 10 August 2015

14254994_l

I am indebted to Ravi this week for choosing one of my favourite artists and one of my favourite songs (not that I’m biased, you understand). Hope you enjoy this laid back selection, which should take you wafting gently into the new week. Many thanks to all, and please keep sending your worms to earworm@tincanland.com.

Richard and Linda Thompson – Hokey Pokey – severin: A sexy folk song about ice cream. I think. From the album after I want to See the Bright Lights Tonight and sometimes overshadowed by it. Whenever I do play this one it’s an instant earworm so …

Rory Gallagher – Barley and Grape Rag – Ravi Raman: One of the regularly overlooked guitarists. Rory Gallagher’s Barley and Grape Rag.

Ibeyi – Stranger/Lover – Fuel: Ibeyi are French/Cuban twin sisters who sing in English and Yoruba. They look, and sound, very beautiful and have an impressive musical pedigree. “Ibeyi” means “twins” in the Yoruba language. (Ed.)

Alva Noto & Ryuichi Sakamoto – Berlin – abahachi: My discovery, courtesy of MrStepAbahachi, from Minimalism week. Piano. Electronic effects. Nothing in excess.

Malouma – Char’aa – goneforeign: Malouma is from Mauritania, she grew up in the rural Trarza region of South West Mauritania, that long strip between the Sahara and the Atlantic. Malouma is also known as a militant singer, a spokeswoman for women’s rights in a Muslim Country. In 2007 she became one of Mauritania’s senators. She writes her own songs and sings in Hassania – Mauritanian Arabic.

Pure Phase Ensemble 4 – Morning Rise – AliM: An interesting new promo from their new album, Live at Spacefest – PPE4 is a project involving Mark Gardener of RIDE, Ray Dickaty (ex Spiritualized) and a group of musicians from Poland’s top indie groups.
http://33rpmpvc.blogspot.de/2015/08/pure-phase-ensemble-4-feat-mark.html

Image courtesy of 123.rf.com

6 thoughts on “Earworms 10 August 2015

  1. Nice set, especially the opening number of course.
    I admit I’m not always great Rory Gallagher/blues rock fan but the song here was great. Will go back and listen to some more.
    Ibeyi were lovely, Alva and Ryuichi were hypnotic and Malouma was irresistible.

    Have only listened to Morning Rise once and it’s intriguing. Needs another listen I think but very atmospheric.

  2. I knew the R&LT and Rory Gallagher tracks already, so I won’t comment on either, becuse I am a fan of both.

    I loved the other three songs on the playlist, and Alva Noto and Ryuichi Sakamoto was my favourite of those.

    Overall, though, I enjoyed the PPE4 one the most. I love a bit of spaced-out psychedelia.

  3. Enjoyable as ever – standouts were Ibeyi (loved the bass and the ear wormy piano twiddle), and I too was very taken by Pure Phase Ensemble Four – I even bought the album for all of five euros. Onwards…

Leave a Reply

