25 thoughts on “Spillyear 1964

  1. Some obvious names to get the playlist started:

    The Beatles – I’ll Follow The Sun
    Apparently they were quite popular at the time. Beatles For Sale was my favourite album as a small child. Still love this one – just one of those perfect McCartney ballads (although it’s played surprisingly quickly).

    Bob Dylan – The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll
    One of his most deadly and compassionate lyrics, combined with one of his prettiest melodies.

    The Kinks – You Really Got Me
    RIFF!

  2. Donds for all those, especially the Fabs. What a year for wonderful songs. Three I love – a very quick pick –

    The Zombies – She’s Not There
    The Searchers – When You Walk In The Room
    Roy Orbison – It’s Over

  3. donds for the Zombies and Beatles. Ok then, there’s two down.

    Muddy Waters – My Home is in the Delta
    Simon and Garfunkel – The Sounds of Silence
    Rolling Stones – Time is on My Side

    A Dylan is on here too, just not sure which. Would go for My Back Pages, but i think i might have put the Byrds cover up for another year. So It Ain’t Me Babe, i guess, followed by The Times They Are A Changin and All I Really Want to Do.

  4. I was five years old and hadn’t really formed a musical opinion. Songs I remember from that time – as opposed to ones which I would chose now – hmmm …

    Louis Armstrong – “Hello, Dolly!”
    Sounds Incorporated – “Spanish Harlem”
    Marianne Faithful – “As Tears Go By”

    Another good year, looking at the charts. It must have been the year I started school – Mrs Slater, our teacher, had a classroom in a tin hut at the bottom of the playground. She taught us about “tens and units” and there was an alphabet frieze around the room. In the afternoon we had to have a small bottle of milk which was warm and disgusting, having been left in a crate in the playground since the morning. Then we had to lie on a mat on the floor to have a nap, though I’m not sure that anyone ever slept. Mrs Slater had a slippery knee (achieved by a petticoat under her nylon frock) – she would pick a child to sit on it each day when she read us a story. She was ancient (to me) with grey hair and a sturdy physique, but quite kindly.

  5. Manfred Mann – 5-4-3-2-1
    The Nashville Teens – Tobacco Road
    Lulu & The Luvvers – Shout (she was very impressive to a lad of my tender years)

    ‘Twas a good year for pop.

  6. 1) Chad & Jeremy – A Summer Song – The British invasion set off a mad rush of the major American labels signing distribution deals with any British act they could find. This one slipped through the cracks and was picked up by a tiny indie label. Just a perfect song – simple lyrics get straight to the point and a perfect arrangement

    2) Elvis Presley – Viva Las Vegas – The King’s movie soundtracks are a definite mixed bag, but he sizzles on this one. Great frenetic arrangement.

    3) The Ronettes – Walking In The Rain – One of Spector’s greatest productions.

  7. Hi all.
    Even by my wildly-swinging standards, life is head-swimmingly busy at the moment. That’s why I’ve fallen off the commenting soapbox recently.

    But I can’t miss the opportunity to nominate the very first tune that mattered in my life.

    The Supremes – Baby Love

    UK Number One the day I was born in November of 1964.
    Everyone say “Aaaww!

    And donds for Little Red Rooster, which took over the #1 slot from it when my age was still being measured in hours.

    Now back to work … where am I again? If it’s Weds six a.m. it’s Bradford
    (Weds p.m.: Oldham
    Thurs 6am: Bradford
    Thurs eve: Hawick
    Fri 6am: Bradford
    Fri pm: Halifax
    Sat all day: Bradford
    Sat eve: Market Drayton
    Sun: DAY OFF!!!
    Mon: Redditch / Mkt. Drayton
    Tues: middle of nowhere in Cheshire
    Weds: 0430 alarm call to go back to Redditch
    Thurs: daytime Redditch, eve Bletchley
    Fri: daytime Redditch, eve Halifax *
    Sat: Manchester

    * DsMam’s b’day.

    You get the picture. Don’t expect me here or on RR much for a while.

    • Donds for The Supremes and look after yourself. More donds for Lulu, Mary Wells, Dusty, Animals, Martha Reeves, Millie.

      And a few more stompers: Gloria Jones – Tainted Love; Dobie Gray – The ‘In’ Crowd; Jimmy Radcliffe – Long After Tonight Is All Over.

  8. 1964 was another Beatlemania year, with A Hard Day’s Night coming out and carrying all before it.

    Once again, I am only going to pick songs that I actually liked in 1964, but there are several of those over which I shall draw a veil.

    However, Mop-Tops aside, there was much to like in 1964, including my mother’s inexplicable bête noire, Dusty Springfield, who I have to pick.

    The BeatlesA Hard Day’s Night
    Mary WellsMy Guy
    Dusty SpringfieldI Just Don’t Know What to Do with Myself

    • Spot on about the Fab Four, Carole. I vividly remember staying in the cinema to watch A Hard Day’s Night through a second time immediately…

      I think my favourite of theirs from 1964 is I Feel Fine. The opening note was such a hook, and I was getting started playing the guitar, so it was love at first hear..

  9. I did not experience the year first hand but there was some great music around by the looks of it,
    Rolling Stones – Tell Me
    Animals – House of the Rising Sun
    Shangri-Las – Remember (Walkin’ in the Sand)

    The first because Mick n Keef wrote it, the second because it’s such a classic and the last because loads of people have covered it and it’s a song that works no matter what you do to it.

  10. I imagine that, at the time, I was mostly enjoying the usual mix of BBC Light Programme favourites but one actual pop hit I did like at the time and still do is:

    Millie – My Boy Lollipop
    I think I had a bit of a crush on her at the age of five.

    A soul classic I may or may not have heard at the time

    Martha and the Vandellas – Dancing in the Street

    And one which was definitely on the radio in 1964 so I think it should count although it was released in Dec 63. I do recall singing along with this one.

    Swinging Blue Jeans – Hippy Hippy Shake

  11. Ah, yes My Boy Lollipop. That was hugely popular, wasn’t it? I almost picked it, but I have vivid memories of playing at Motown girl groups in the school playground (i.e. three of us pretending to hold a mike and doing dance routines etc) and singing along to Mary Wells, so that sort of swung it for me.

  12. Sandie Shaw – There’s Always Someone There To Remind Me

    Bob Dylan – Percy’s Song (Recorded during the Times sessions but not released until ’85)

    Astrud Gilberto & Stan Getz – The Girl From Impanema

  13. Too quick a pick from me really – rushing to go out. Could have had all time favourite Downtown by Petula Clark, or This Little Bird by Marianne Faithfull. Maybe Pretty Woman instead of It’s Over…except the latter is perhaps more typical. Also Walk on By by Dionne Warwick.

  14. I’m only 9 months late to these annual blog music year collection thingies, so I’ll add my top three (which haven’t been picked yet : donds to Fab 4, Kinks, Dusty, Martha Reeves and The Supremes in particular).
    Girls On The Beach – The Beach Boys (sublime)
    I Can’t Hear You – Betty Everett (tuuuune!)
    Mississippi Goddam – Nina Simone (musical still hasn’t been written for it !)

Leave a Reply

