Earworms 24 August 2015

23830548_s

A varied and very-difficult-to-spell-correctly selection for you today. Next week, songs by Fred Jones. Hope you enjoy, many thanks for the contributions and please keep sending your spare earworms to earworm@tincanland.com. Happy listening.

Kadri Gopalnath – Kanne Kalaimane – Ravi Raman: This is a song called Kanne Kalaimane by a classically trained musician – Kadri Gopalnath. He pioneered the use of the saxophone in Carnatic music. I’m kidded for liking this by highbrow types coz this is a film tune composed by Ilyaraja. Kadri himself plays this album down while secretly admitting to an extreme fondness for it, and one that I share.

Israel Kamakawiwoʻole – ʻUlili E – deanofromoz: Some Hawaiian folk music, just Israel’s vocals and the ukulele. I picked up a compilation album of his, because his brilliant cover of Over the Rainbow/What a Wonderful World (if you haven’t heard it, look it up) has been getting a lot of airplay over here, particularly on the easy listening station that I tend to listen to of a morning. I have to say, I was a little disappointed with the best of. I was hoping for ukulele music, but a lot of the tracks had orchestral backing which I didn’t think quite worked for me (maybe I was just looking for cliched Hawaiian sounds, I don’t know), but this track sort of fitted with what I was hoping to get … it’s quite lovely. I think its about a bird, but I might be wrong.

Jocelyn Pook – Upon This Rock – AliM: As far as I can work out this amazing song is a fusion of ancient Persian poem and classical orchestra. Jocelyn Pook is a film music composer (e.g. Eyes Wide Shut) who also works for TV and dance (e.g. the National Ballet at Glastonbury, a couple of years ago). She has worked with the Communards, Peter Gabriel, Massive Attack, Laurie Anderson and others. Why have I never heard of her before?

Anna von Hausswolff – Move On – Fuel: Anna Michaela Ebba Electra von Hausswolff is a Swedish singer, songwriter and pianist. This is from her debut album, “Singing from the Grave” (2010).

King Crimson – Sleepless (dance mix) – CaroleBristol: Back in 1984, King Crimson had a strange thing happen, they had a dance-floor hit (for about five minutes) with Sleepless, a track from their ‘Three of a Perfect Pair’ album. There are several remix versions of the song around, this one is by François Kevorkian, a French DJ who started out on the New York underground club scene, later worked at Studio 54 and was one of the pioneers of House music. Anyway, the bass line by Tony Levin is all kinds of brilliant.

Herbie Hancock – Rockit – severin: Written by Herbie and Bill Laswell and released as a single in 1983. I only own an MP3 of this because I ordered the “Best of…” album from Amazon for somebody else several years ago. Some time afterwards the digital version appeared on my computer. It’s magic I tell you. Probably over-familiar to many but it was entirely new to me and I liked.

Image courtesy of 123rf.com

9 thoughts on “Earworms 24 August 2015

  1. I really enjoyed this playlist. The eclectic nature of the tracks was great and I liked the pacing and dynamic of it. Ending with Rockit was brilliant.

    I vaguely know the name Jocelyn Pook and the track kind of reminded me of some of Lisa Gerrard’s film score music, like the soundtrack for Gladiator.

  2. Yes that was an epic journey and all bar one were new to me. Programming just right. Loved ’em all but especially … no, just ’em all I think.
    1) Beautiful
    2) Charming
    3) Epic
    4) Ethereal
    5) Invigorating
    6) Manic?

    Fave was number 4 if pushed.

  3. Re: Rockit – Post-disco, the few instrumentals to get any kind of airplay tended to be movie or TV theme songs. “Rockit” absolutely floored me when I first heard it – something so futuristic and experimental and yet instantly catchy and danceable. I’d never heard turntable sounds like that before.

  4. I love the feel of the first four: beautifully unmoored. I’ve definitely heard that Jocelyn Pook voice/instrumental sound on a film soundtrack somewhere (though definitely not the embarrassingly awful Eyes Wide Shut).
    The drums on the last two made my soul die a little. When both sets of musicians are able to deliver rhythm with nuance and personality, why sub-contract it to a machine? I do remember Rockit very well, and the feeling of ‘Et tu, Herbie?’ that accompanied it at the time.

  5. Wow, what a stunning set – great bit of curation there, Ali. Hard to single anything out, but I think Anna von Hausswolff just pips it – very strong voice. The KC was a surprise, would never have guessed this was anything to do with the!

  6. Not had chance to listen yet, and I’ve a head full of tunes from guruing, so I probably wouldn’t enjoy anything right now. NIce to see the appreciation for Ann von H. She’s not an easy listen but works really well in playlists.

Leave a Reply

