62 thoughts on “Spillyear 1966

  1. I’ve added these three so you don’t have to:

    The Beach Boys – God Only Knows
    The Beatles – Tomorrow Never Knows
    Bob Dylan – Visions of Johanna

    Music, bloody hell…

    • Love all three. All sound as startling in their different ways as they did 49 years ago. Would probably have picked the Beatles and Dylan tracks myself. Onward and upward…..

    • Blonde On Blonde was the first Dylan album I didn’t buy – I had all the others but BonB was a double and I couldn’t afford it. (Of course, I’ve got it now.)

  2. I’m gonna jump in quick with the Rolling Stones Paint it Black, Jimi Hendrix – Hey Joe and Yardbirds Shapes of Things!

  3. I think I’ll go for:

    Velvet Underground – All Tomorrow’s Parties (apparently it was a single in ’66 even tho the album was next year)
    Beatles – Here There and Everywhere (my other favourite from Revolver and it reminds me of someone special)
    Supremes – You Can’t Hurry Love (by far my fave Supremes song)

  4. I was 18 in ’66, in love and yet to discover music in a serious way. And looking back these are the songs that probably meant the most to me at the time.

    1) Dusty Springfield………………..”You Don’t Have to Say You Love Me”

    2) Crispian St Peters………………”Pied Piper”.

    3) Bob Lind……………………………”Elusive Butterfly”.

  5. Top 3 – ignoring the fun that is Jan and Dean meet Batman:

    The Monkees – Let’s Dance On

    The Troggs – Wild Thing

    The Ecstacy of Gold – Ennio Morricone

    closely followed by – but knocked out because ***
    THE SEEDS – PUSHIN’TOO HARD *** on 1966 album but already a single the year before
    FLEUR-DE-LYS – ‘Circles’ *** The Who cover; but I do prefer this.
    Nancy Sinatra – Bang Bang (My Baby Shot Me Down) *** Kill Bill probably made it for me, rather than a stand alone choice.

  6. This is really, really difficult but trying to avoid artists already mentioned..

    The Kinks – Sunny Afternoon
    Simon and Garfunkel – The Sound of Silence
    The Mamas and the Papas – California Dreaming

  7. Donds for any Fabs, Monkees, Dusty, Beach Boys and Dylan. Would probably have chosen songs by Beach Boys and Monkees anyway but was keeping away from anyone already mentioned. So many good songs. A happy year,

  8. So many great songs. I vividly remember the effect of these:
    The Beatles – Eleanor Rigby (sonically)
    The Kinks – Dedicated Follower Of Fashion (visually: Ray in his full pomp on TOTP)
    The Lovin’ Spoonful – Daydream (guitaristically)

  9. First off the LP’s;
    1. Revolver – The Beatles.
    2. Blonde on Blonde – Dylan
    3. Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme –
    Simon & Garfunkle
    Sounds of Silence – ditto
    4. East-West – Butterfield Blues Band
    5. Sunshine Superman – Donovan
    6. Buffalo Springfield – Buffalo Springfield
    7. Fresh Cream – Cream

    Some memorable cuts:

    Summer in the City – Lovin’ Spoonfull
    Paint it Black – Stones
    Cryin’ Time – Ray Charles
    Sound of Silence – Simon & Garfunkle
    Rainy Day Woman – Bob Dylan
    Monday, Monday – Mama’s & Papa’s
    These boots are made for walkin’ – Nancy Sinatra
    !9th Nervous Breakdown – Stones
    Eleanor Rigby – Beatles
    River Deep, Mountain High – Ike & Tina Turner

    For what it’s worth – Springfield
    If I have to pick three from that lot it’d have to be;
    1. East-West
    2. For What it’s worth – Springfield
    3. Rainy Day Woman – Dylan

    Sad to omit – Rigby, Silence, Paint it Black, Monday….

  10. One day in 1966, having saved up enough money to buy a pair of boots, I set out for London Town. I looked in loads of shops and tried on loads of pairs but couldn’t find any I liked. I stopped in the Antique Supermarket and bought a silver ring with a zircon. Then I went to HMV at Marble Arch and was browsing through the racks when I found an LP by a band I’d never heard of with a cover that appealed to me. I asked to hear it…and blew the rest of my money. When I got home my mother told me off for not having bought a pair of boots – which I thought was a bit of a cheek as it was my own money. That album was the Incredible String Band’s first one.

    Smoke Shovelling Song by the Incredible String Band.

    Saw them at Potters Bar Folk Club later – they were very surprised when I sang along. Saw these characters too:

    Lord Franklin by Martin Carthy, from Second Album
    Black Waterside by Bert Jansch, from Jack Orion

  11. The Isley Brothers This Old Heart Of Mine
    Spencer Davis Group – Gimmie Some Lovin’
    Four Tops – Reach Out, I’ll Be There
    Buffalo Springfield – For What it’s Worth
    The Supremes – You Keep Me Hanging On
    Love – 7 and 7 Is

  12. I am trying hard to remember what I knew and listened to in 1966.

    Some of the songs have already been mentioned, but I would have claimed Keep On Running by The Spencer Davis Group, except that it appears to have been released the year before. Bugger.

    I will grab Sloop John B by The Beach Boys though. I am also going to nom The Small Faces and Sha-La-La-La-Lee>/i>, which I remember buying, and my final nom is a track from Revolver, an album which my friend’s big brother had and played all the time.

    So, here we are;

    The Beach Boys – Sloop John B
    The Small Faces – Sha-La-La-La-Lee
    The Beatles – And Your Bird Can Sing

  13. Well, I can’t argue with anything posted above, it was a pretty good year. But bearing in mind that I was 7, my tastes were still developing and what I really listened to was governed by what my parents listened to, songs I particularly remember are:

    Herman’s Hermits – No Milk Today
    The Sandpipers – Guantanamera
    The New Vaudeville Band – Winchester Cathedral

      • I have an irrational dislike of that song because when I worked in the Co-op as a student it was on their playlist and I heard it twice in an evening all summer. It’s actually quite a pleasant ditty if I can dissassociate it from feeling chilly in nasty fabric uniform whilst rotating the lard so the soonest dates were at the front.

      • You know the story about that song. The musicians who recorded it were session men so, when it was a hit, the record company needed some people to appear on Top of the Pops and go on tour.

        They offered the gig to the Bonzo Dog Doo Dah Band who were doing a similar style of 20s/30s music at the time. They all said no except Bob Kerr who left the Bonzos and they put together a group around him who would fit the bill.

        When the other Bonzos watched their performance on the telly, Bob had brought their entire act with him. It was a long time before any of them spoke to Bob again but it did inspire them to write more of their own stuff and parody the current rock scene. So without the New Vaudeville Band, possibly no “We Are Normal” or “Canyons of Your Mind”.

        Link to the Wiki entry for the Bonzo Dog Band. There’s a paragraph about it at the end of “formation and early years”.

  14. Not a musical thing, but 1966 marked the first transition from one Doctor to another in Doctor Who.

    William Hartnell was becoming seriously ill and difficult to work with, so it was decided to replace him. The idea of having him somehow renewed (by dying and being reborn, he was, after all, an alien) was developed and Hartnell was replaced by Patrick Troughton.

    This was later worked up into the idea of Regeneration, thus enabling the series to continue when actors left the role.

    • Fifty years on it’s still regenerating and also teaching kids in Finland how to speak English:

      I spoke to a classmate of my second child yesterday, an eight-year-old girl. She’s a second year, so won’t start learning English until next year. I asked her how she learnt English, thinking one of her parents must be a native speaker or that they lived abroad for a while.

      Her answer; “My favourite TV programme is called Doctor Who.” I then noticed her Tardis school bag. Her friend then joined in by saying “I can English because I listen to songs. I like Star Wars. But I also like Doctor Who now. I liked the one with Davros but I didn’t like the scary one with the ghosts.” At this point I said, “I like the daleks”. And they both said “Exterminate! Explain! Exterminate!” Thankfully, second child appeared and rescued me.

      According to second child, they’re good girls cos they also play Minecraft. By the way, she did say, “I can English.” It indicates that at least one of her parents is a Swedish speaker.

  15. I was too young to know these songs at the time but

    Stuck Inside of Mobile – Bob Dylan
    Eight Miles High – The Byrds
    Substitute – The Who

  16. My memory of the Great Event celebrated in the photo above is in French. Through our Insurance Agent (they used to call at your house to collect premiums back then), my parents organised for a French boy, Marcel, and I to do a summer exchange. He’d managed to survive living in our modest semi taking occasional local days out in 1965 and so I went there in 1966. My folks drove me over to their houses on the Loire and my Mum thanked her lucky stars that she hadn’t known the extent of our hosts’ wealth the previous year, or she’d have died of shame. In addition to the two houses and a major agricultural equipment business, they had a boat that they liked to take down to Spain for their long summer holiday.
    Which is where I listened to some of the commentary of the World Cup Final, on the radio of a large Citroen towing a boat through the French countryside. It would have been more exciting at home in English, I’m sure.
    But the holiday was a fantastic experience where I learned I could survive apart from my family, I could eat more than just beans & chips and there was some interesting stuff elsewhere in the world. I was 13 at the time and, in retrospect, it was a sort of bar mitzvah deal I suppose. I ended up flying back to Manchester from Paris tout seule and my folks remarked how grown-up I now seemed.

  17. Not much left for me to pick over! Donds for Hey Joe, God Only Knows, Eight Miles High, Here There & Everywhere, all Mamas and Papas and Lovin Spoonful, Simon and Garfunkel. And any others i probably missed. So what’s left. Still a lot to pick from.

    Stones – Under My Thumb, Lady Jane

    Beach Boys – Wouldn’t it be Nice

    Monkees – I Wanna Be Free

    S&G – For Emily, Wherever I May Find Her

    Beatles – Rain

    Dylan – I Want You

    I’ll try to knock it down from there.

    And some honorable mentions for Seekers’ Georgy Girl and the Rascals’ You Didn’t Have to Be so Nice.

  18. all of the above and Georgie Fame get away
    the Beano album of Mayall with Clapton ( Flint & McVie ) was april 66 apparently so Hideaway or Steppin’ out

  19. Late as usual… Have I missed someone grabbing HendrixHey Joe? I’m actually not such a fan of Blonde on Blonde largely because of a deep loathing for Just Like A Woman, Rainy Day Women and Leopard-Skin Pillbox Hat, all of which showed a nasty streak of sexism, but I would go for Stuck Inside Of Mobile… if it hadn’t already been claimed. Lots and lots of records that I thought were ’66 turn out to be ’67, so I’m actually struggling slightly,

    • I nabbed Hey Joe first thing, Aba and see your point about Blonde on Blonde, I’ve never liked Just Like A Woman either for similar reasons.

      • Although Rainy Day Women is a title that (like a few of his) has little to do with the lyric. Being as how it’s all about getting stoned in a variety of circumstances.

        Much prefer Highway 61 and have hardly ever played BoB all the way through at one sitting. Often used to skip Pledging My Time when I played side one.

        Only rarely put on side four. I think you have to be in just the right mood for Sad Eyed Lady. I think its length was more an attempt to outdo his previous epics than something demanded by the actual song.

  20. Truly happy year, at art college, Radio Caroline the station of choice playing throughout the day. Going for a swim after college as lived not far from the beach. Often went there with my landlady who became a good friend, lovely lady. Tiny room with outside loo, cost £2 a week or just over, I was allowed to have bath in upstairs flat (which was occupied by the landlady’s daughter and her family) once a week! If not limited to 3 songs would also have added Happy Jack by The Who, I’m A Believer or Last Train To Clarksville by the Monkees and Barbara Ann by the Beach Boys, my favourite song to bop to at the disco we went to each week. Mostly made my own dresses, one of which glowed beautifully in the ultra-violet light. Good Vibrations by the Beach Boys was another favourite that year, and the Beatles We Can Work It Out. Often did a day-trip to London and took in an art gallery or two in the morning and a play – sometimes two – in the afternoon/evening. Remember The Homecoming, US, Inadmissible Evidence, Son of Oblomov featuring Spike Milliagan – some lovely ad-libs – (despairingly) ‘Ah, who could love a man like me?’ (looks intently at someone in the audience) ‘You? See you after!’ Not sure these were all 1966 but around that time. Saw, locally, Chris Barber’s jazz band. A very good year.

    • P.S. I did have a washbasin in my room, in case you wondered! And one small electric ring to do all my cooking though sometimes I used my landlady’s gas stove in the kitchen. There was a chip shop very handy and a general store which inevitably overcharged you.

Leave a Reply

