Spillyear 2006

https://i0.wp.com/img.timeinc.net/time/magazine/archive/covers/2006/1101061225_400.jpg

I’m looking forward to next year, because years ending in 6 seem to be great ones for music.

I started getting seriously back into new music again around 2006 – partly because of RR, and partly because all the music in the world was becoming instantly available in your living room. And there some great albums: the emergence of the last great British guitar band (to date), a tragic contemporary soul masterpiece, and one unique record that I couldn’t live without (‘Spill points for guessing all three).

But whaddyall think?

Add your top 3 here

Listen to the playlist here

70 thoughts on “Spillyear 2006

  1. My number one record from this year is, by leagues, Ys by Joanna Newsom. I had the privilege to see her at Brighton Dome on Sunday night, and she was mesmerising. But I’m not going to try and convert anyone here, and the songs don’t exactly lend themselves to a collaborative playlist. So here’s my three other choices:

    1. Arctic Monkeys – The View From The Afternoon

    Almost 10 years on, that debut album still stands up brilliantly (although pressing * unlock before texting someone may have dated). Maybe three or four tracks of filler, but the rest is all killer.

    2. The Pipettes – Pull Shapes

    Because pop perfection.

    3. Amy Winehouse – You Know That I’m No Good

    Stunning voice – but stunning songs too. I wish that about now we could be eagerly anticipating her fifth album.

      • Interesting, Still Take You Home is one of the few I’d call filler. I mean, it’s fine, but I wouldn’t pick it above Mardy Bum, or When The Sun Goes Down, Red Light Indicates Doors Are Secured, From The Ritz To The Rubble…

      • @barbryn: It’s a long list, innit. I had intended to stay away from the ones I’ve seen on RR; the ones you name are superior for sure. Take You Home just strikes me somehow, which is weird because I’ve never been a ‘take the girl home at the end of the night’ guy. No moral superiority or anything, they just didn’t want to go.

  2. The Zutons – Valerie was 2006 I think. But I get very vague with more recent music. 2006 wasn’t even that recent… Anyway, it’s a cracking song.

  3. In 2006 I was living near Kirkcudbright in SW Scotland with my aged dad, and things were starting to unravel a bit – mostly because of his deteriorating health. More and more I would find myself escaping to music in the evenings, and I started listening to Bob Harris’ country music programme on Radio 2. It was there that I discovered my album of the year, Diana Jones’ My Remembrance Of You and added her to my list of favourite new women country singers – the others being Gillian Welch and Mary Gauthier.

    My brother emigrated to Australia in 2006 (taking with him the bones of his deceased dogs, dug up from the garden and dried in a pottery kiln. I could shop him to the Aussie authorities…) but my sister continued to help with our dad so that I could still go on holiday to Texas and see the Gourds of course – several times, if possible. Their 2006 album, Heavy Ornamentals isn’t one of my favourites of theirs, but hey.

    It was still four years to my epiphany but, had I known about it in 2006, I would surely have enjoyed Tom Petty’s third solo album Highway Companion.

    My Beloved by Diana Jones
    Burn The Honeysuckle by the Gourds
    Square One by Tom Petty

  4. I think I bought precisely four albums in 2006 and the Morrissey one wasn’t as good as his previous one so that’s out.
    The Bob Dylan (Modern Times) however was, for me, his best since Desire in 1976.

    I used to know a long-term Dylan fan who had followed his career since the early sixties, owned every bootleg and rarity. He proclaimed it the best thing he’d ever done.

    I wouldn’t go that far and I know I’m in a minority round here in thinking this the best track on the album but I have to pick:

    Bob Dylan – When the Deal Goes Down

    Then there’s Amy of course. I’m going to pass as she’s been mentioned already but would have picked Back to Black (the song) as my favourite. Instead I’ll go for one of the most uplifting singles of the year:

    Corinne Bailey Rae – Put Your Records On

    And finally the other album, and two of the beat singles. Narrowly beating Chelsea Dagger I’m going for:

    Fratellis – Whistle For the Choir

  5. It’s a pleasant journey back to 2006 musicwise for me. I agree Barbryn, ending in 6 is good.
    1. Secret Machines – Alone, Jealous and Stoned
    the first time I remember hearing a band in the mainstream who didn’t seem to mind if people guessed they liked Hawkwind, a seachange perhaps?

    2. Midlake – Young Bride
    this got played a lot on BBC6Music and I loved it, the rest of the album is not as arresting to me, but I still listen to it regularly

    3. CSS – Alala
    such fun!

    missed out Espers, Isobel Campbell and Mark Lanegan and Vetiver who all could have been there for me.

      • I think the slightly exotic scale of the violin at the beginning of Young Bride made me imagine that the rest of Tales of Van Occupanther would have a less familiar sound, but as it turns out I love the 70s Fairport filtered through West coast USA (as I hear it). It was a year where I embraced more American music which I’d been resistant to previously.

    • I didn’t know Ballad of the Broken Seas in 2006 otherwise it would have been one of my picks. I didn’t really get to know Isobel Campbell and Mark Lanegan’s music together until later on.

      • A friend sent me a copy of the album, I had only come across Mark Lanegan from QOTSA and had no interest in Isobel before their collaboration, but I love the music they’ve made together. It’s a kind of alchemy sometimes, isn’t it?

        • I have no idea, but that could be true. He seems to be very flexible about what he will sing on which is not always a good thing perhaps, but he certainly struck gold with Isobel.

      • Thanks, barbryn. These posts are a really good way of revisiting stuff that might get overlooked otherwise and I love the variety that appears, thanks for doing them πŸ˜‰

  6. 1) The Blues are still Blue – Belle and Sebastian
    2) A Certain Romance – Arctic Monkeys
    3) The Story of Yo La Tengo – YLT

  7. I always have trouble remembering what songs came from what year, however, 2006 was when Seth Lakeman’s Freedom Fields album was released, I think the one I’ve chosen was also released as a single but there are a number of good songs. Then Show of Hands album Witness, and finally, before anyone else mentions her (hopefully) Amy Winehouse

    Seth Lakeman – The White Hare
    Show of Hands – The Dive
    Amy Winehouse – You Know I’m No Good

    I might have picked Innocents Song for SOH but it was listed on RR for songs with stringed instruments so have chosen a different one which tells a story about parents and children

    • I’ve had to look at my photos to see what was happening in 2006. My elder daughter’s wedding in Leiden stands out above all, a truly magical occasion and so lovely to remember. There was also my first trip to Rome in the Spring, the Folk and Boat Festival at Middlewich with some pictures of a local Border Morris group called Clerical Error wearing some magnificent and very original costumes; then Shrewsbury folk festival – there’s pictures of Les Barker and also Eliza Carthy – then another trip to Holland and the Sculpture Park at the Kroller-Muller museum, and later some Hallowe’en celebrations. And there’s a picture of a friend from schooldays who later that year I fell out with drastically and finally, together with another friend I hadn’t seen since I was 16. So musically it was mainly folk festivals and on checking I’ve just realised that I also went to Cambridge Folk fest (no photos) and that was where I saw Emmylou Harris and my lifelong indifference to country music evaporated and I became enthralled by her singing…. but too late, I can’t alter the boombox list I’ve already done it so just imagine her singing The Pearl which is what I should have added instead of Amy good as she was. And I also saw Richard Thompson there and Rodrigo and Gabriela and several others that I might have added to the list but too late now. In fact I now recall that I mainly went to see RT and but saw all these other people as well..Amadou and Mariam, Cerys Matthews, and I bought their albums too. .Never mind. Sigh. If anyone finds out how to remove a boombox listing, let me know…

      • sounds like you had a good year, musically. Did you send me a clip of Clerical Error? I’ve not seen them, but the name is familiar. I’ve managed to get to a couple of Days of Dance this year which have been a lot of fun.

      • I really must remember to take more time on my choices – I rarely remember which song came from which year and my CDs are all stashed away so I have to google to check, which can be time-consuming. So my list should have been –

        Emmylou Harris – The Pearl – or maybe Red Dirt Girl
        Rodrigo y Gabriela – Diablo Rojo – or something else from that album
        Seth Lakeman – The White Hare – keeping that one. Seth was also at Cambridge on that occasion

        Anyway, I continue to be a big fan of Emmylou, RT of course, and Seth

      • Self-indulgently I’ve added Emmylou’s The Pearl to Boombox and, sorry this video also has Red Dirt Girl on it…but I had to pick this particular video because that was when she appeared at Cambridge in 2006 and I’m somewhere in the audience…not that you’d be able to spot me! Wonderful singer, great performance. I thought she represented the very best of the US

      • Another musical memory from 2006 was that at my daughter’s wedding reception the music consisted almost entirely of early Beatles stuff….which was lovely but I felt a little strange, like I’d stepped through some kind of portal to 1963!

    • Sorry the particular Emmylou video at Cambridge has been withheld by the video owner for use on anything othr than youtube so you can watch it there if you want to see that particular performance (recommended). Have added a different audio only youtube video of The Pearl. have also noticed belatedly that barbryn had added Amy Winehouse before I did and I’d somehow overlooked it.

      So my list is now, Seth, Show of Hands and Emmylou.

  8. 2006, I was only 47. Can’t really imagine it. Young Munday was 4, and started school about 3 days after his 4th birthday – much too young IMHO. Can’t remember much about it, I was working, young Munday was a bad sleeper and I spent a lot of time falling asleep on the floor while attempting to read him a bedtime story. Nowadays I fall asleep in my soup instead. I’ll go with:

    Razorlight (I don’t care!!!) – America
    Jose Gonzalez – Heartbeats (originally released on album in 2003 but then released as a single in 2006 following the mesmerising coloured ball advert)
    Paolo Nutini – Last Request

  9. A little something for everybody, and nobody too, this year. Lotta shit, and some good stuff too. Big respect for Amy Winehouse and Corrine Bailey Rae, love the voices but the tunes aren’t quite up my alley. Well, Corrine’s kind of are. dond for Paolo Nutini.

    Fake Takes of San Francisco would have been my Monkeys pick, but i believe i already used that for 2005, when the single first came out.

    Black Keys – Just Got to Be
    Arctic Monkeys – I Bet You Look Good on the Dancefloor
    Red Hot Chili Peppers – Snow

  10. Another good year (aren’t they all?). Nu rave was just taking shape, indie guitar rock was credible again thanks to the Monkeys and best of all for me, I had just discovered the fledgling Not Not Fun records and was getting deeper and deeper into the noise of noise music, buying everything that came out on Load records, as well as acquainting myself more and more with Swedish and Norwegian metal – noisy times!

    Will go for:

    Raccoo-oo-oon – Visage of the Fox
    The USA is a Monster – The Spirit of Revenge
    Enslaved – Entroper

  11. The Killers – When We were Young
    The Decembrists – Crane Wife 3 – just beats out Shankhill Killers mentioned earlier
    TV on the Radio – Wolf Like Me – these guys don’t seem to be as popular as I think they should be, or are they an acquired taste?

    Modern Times, Arctic Monkeys, Midlake are all still regularly played. I seem to have missed out on how brilliant Amy Whitehouse was. I knew of her, and thought her stuff was good, but never understood the huge level of popularity she enjoyed. Looking forward to listening to the playlist once it’s compiled

  12. I am not sure that 2006 was a bumper year for me, to be honest. I really didn’t like most of the popular stuff that seemed to get the airplay and the critical plaudits. Unlike most people, I’ve never much liked the Arctic Monkeys, so I shall swim against the tide when it comes to them.

    Still, away with the negativity, what did I like and. more importantly, what was I buying?

    Firstly, David Gilmour‘s On An Island, which I still like a lot, so I will have something from that. I’ll have to pick a track from Back To Black by Amy Winehouse too. I’d like to list a track from Broken Boy Soldiers by The Raconteurs but I didn’t know about that album until a couple of years later. The same thing goes for Thom Yorke and his solo outing The Eraser. Modern Times ought to be my third pick, but I am drawn towards the Emma Bunton album that came out in 2006 – no, I’m joking. No Emma Bunton here.

    So;

    David Gilmour – Take A Breath
    Amy Winehouse – Tears Dry On Their Own
    Bob Dylan – The Levee’s Gonna Break

  13. 2006 was a pretty fantastic year for music, which I didn’t at all appreciate until this week’s SpillYear. tx @barbryn!

    There’s at least a dozen 2006 albums I still listen to regularly; I picked these three because it seems an interesting mix that speaks to how spoiled for choice we were. There’s some TinFaves I had to leave out, but maybe someone will come along and shut them. Besides, you don’t me to bore you trotting out the same old predictable stuff week after week. It’s not like this is RR πŸ™‚

    Lily Allen – Friday Night
    Mountain Goats – Woke Up New
    Hold Steady – Stuck Between Stations

    * full disclosure: I didn’t think much of Lily Allen at the time. Probably me being a grumpy old gus, or maybe jealousy because she could afford to order in Chinese and I couldn’t. I remember arguing with Paul Mac on the blog about her merits. Turns out he was right. grrr

  14. I seem to have bought only Primal Scream’s Riot City Blues in 2006 (and a Dick’s Pick or two).

    I remember the fuss surrounding Arctic Monkeys and Amy but, tbh, didn’t really get on board with either at the time. I have since come to appreciate the former’s craft, energy and chutzpah and the latter’s enormous talent, both as a songwriter and conveyor of real emotion through her voice. The film doc, Amy, is a worthy portrait of her tragically short life and the BBC Arena prog – Amy Winehouse: The Day She Came to Dingle – contains several superb examples of her talent.

  15. Lots of albums had great tracks on – but because of Arctic Monkeys faking how important myspace was – lots of record companies rushed out works by bands not very well formed.

    It was the record labels last hurrah (we could only release stuff iF we found a German TV program to use 3 seconds of a bands music – that payed for the next CD – and we’d do it again) .. but the computer or mp3’s were beginning to be the release of ease. I wanted to produce high end vinyl with books and art in the style of old 4AD releases, limited to 100 each time or t-shirts with mp3’s on memory sticks attached. My partners thought I was an idiot (they have a case) but many record companies went down that route eventually – special releases drag me back to buying LP’s… I gave up the struggle and went back to enjoying other peoples work – I didn’t have the cash to play with anymore with a 1 year old wanting to be fed and stuff… so I got to enjoy:

    Hanne Hukkelberg, Elvis Perkins, Tap Tap, !!!, Diablo Swing Orchestra, The Year Of, M. Ward, Gisli, The Manhattan Love Suicides, Now It’s Overhead, Shantel, Beirut, Howling Bells, The Knife, Viva Voce, Radical Face, The Flaming Lips,, Libelle etc etc etc

    I’ll pick three of a similar indie persuasion:
    Tapes ‘n Tapes – Insister
    Archie Bronson Outfit – Dart For My Sweetheart
    Hot Club De Paris – Sometimesitsbetternottostickbitsofeachotherineachotherforeachother

    all time favourite tracks:
    De Rosa – Hattonrigg Pit Disaster
    Brakes – No Return
    Tuning – It’s Because… We’ve Got Hair
    The Whitest Boy Alive – Fireworks
    The Year Of – Stephen Hawking
    The Walkmen – Lost In Boston
    Yo La Tengo – Black Flowers
    Elvis Perkins – While You Were Sleeping
    The Radio Dept. – The Worst Taste In Music
    The Long Blondes – Lust In The Movies
    Casiotone For The Painfully Alone – New Year’s Kiss
    TV On The Radio – Wolf Like Me
    Hanne Hukkelberg – Break My Body
    Clearlake – It’s Getting Light Outside

    oh and was it the year that the geeks began to inherit the universe?
    Erlend Øye from indie folk duo Kings of Convenience (my generations Simon and Funkuncle) and the frontman of the band The Whitest Boy Alive and Hot Chip (my Generations Buggles) played funky music while wearing GLASSES…. the shock!

    • Matt’s just been trying out crowdfunding to finance his new record – and succeeded. He reached his goal in no time! That’s just the production costs for the actual CDs, mind, as he got free studio time in return for favours and everybody played for free too. And nowadays you don’t need to pay expenses even because they just play it at home and email it in.

      He’s really chuffed! (Because he’s got a four-year-old who eats LOTs and is growing out of his clothes all the time…)

      • Crowdfunding is ace – you pay for something you want – you just have to wait and the artist creates something they want using money from people who appreciate it. Win Win as long as the person creating is okay with working out the correct price for the rewards and can create to a deadline! not always the case (I’m still waiting on one record two years after the deadline).

        Studio time in return for favours is good too – I like barter – but ‘everybody played for free’ is a debate that a lot of musicians and artists are questioning now… We mostly love what we do, I’d produce art even if no-one bought it – but free has becomes the expected going ‘rate’ for those wanting to take advantage… I’m sure those working with Matt have worked out a lot of give and take between them; calling it ‘free’ belittles their talent and worth…so needs to be re-worded otherwise making music or being an artist becomes this little pastime that people do for ‘free’ in their ‘free’ time – rather than a cultural and emotional experience that enhances the joy/pain of human existence.
        It’s a subtle thing that I’m having to learn.

      • Ouch! They did it because they love Matt and wanted to help with the project. If it makes any money, he will share it out.

  16. I kinda slept through 2006.

    1) Red Hot Chili Peppers – Snow ((Hey Oh)) – Their slower songs other than “Under The Bridge” are underrated, and this is among their finest

    2) Chris Cornell – You Know My Name – Best 007 theme for years, and Cornell has one of the best rock voices in years.

    3) Saliva – Ladies And Gentlemen – Because the world needs big boombastic, fist pumpin’, fireworks shootin’, bodyslammin’, arena rockin’ jock anthems every once in a while, thassall.

  17. Hello strangers!
    Just HAD to comment on 2006 – the year I started on RR; a year I absolutely splurged on new-to-me music (fileshares, I admit); a big year for releases bought on CD, and Darcey started the year 3weeks old, so I was at home a lot to listen to it all.

    Donds from the above for Cornell, Gilmour, Emmylou, Secret Machines, amongst others. It was the year before I discovered Lanegan, and two before I was introduced to The Handsome Family, so nothing from their 2006 releases, subsequent DsD faves both. King Creosote’s KC Rules OK was a 2005 release that I was slow picking up on, so I’m ignoring that (though it was HUGE in my 2006 listening).

    If absolutely forced to pick just three tunes, they’d be:

    Willard Grant Conspiracy – Dance With Me,
    which was my “pacing-round-the-den-at-3am-with-an-unsleeping-baby” lullaby,
    Calexico – All Systems Red, and
    Guillemots – Redwings.

    But that lot comes from a L-L-O-O-O-N-N-G longlist:

    UFO – Heavenly Body,
    Killing Joke – Invocation,
    My Morning Jacket – One Big Holiday (live),
    Josh Ritter – Girl In The War,
    Danko Jones – Sticky Situation,
    Black Crowes – If It Ever Stops Raining,
    Richard Butler – Good Days Bad Days,
    Motorhead – God Was Never On Your Side,
    Micah P. Hinson & The Opera Circuit – You’re Only Lonely,
    Tool – Vicarious,
    DBT – A World Of Hurt,
    Veruca Salt – Damage Done,
    Tom Waits – Lowdown,
    Gov’t Mule – Mr. High’n’Mighty,
    Lucero – 1979,
    Yo La Tengo – I Feel Like Going Home,
    Clint Mansell – Death Is The Road To Awe,
    Damien Rice – Rootless Tree,
    Thunder – The Devil Made Me Do It,
    Susanna & The Magical Orchestra – Love Will Tear Us Apart,
    Strays Don’t Sleep – For Blue Skies,
    Jesu – Stanlow,
    iLiKETRAiNS – A Rook House For Bobby,
    Absentee – We Should Never Have Children,
    Shooter Jennings – Gone To Carolina,
    Blood Meridian – Let It Come Down,
    Ginger – GTT
    or Drinking In The Daytime,
    Shack – Cup Of Tea,
    Richmond Fontaine – Dayton, OH,
    Th’ Legendary Shack Shakers – Iron Lung Oompah
    or Ichabod!,
    Carrie Rodriguez – Big Kiss,
    Steve Adey – Find The Way,
    Rebel Meets Rebel – Cowboys Do More Dope,
    God Is An Astronaut – Forever Lost.

    That list excludes stuff I know I listened to a lot then, but which has faded slightly, from the likes of Beach House, Annuals, Rocco DeLuca, Brightblack Morninglight, Centro-Matic, Cyann & Ben, Head-On, Johnny Cash, Michael Schenker, William Elliot Whitmore et al.

Leave a Reply

