Earworms 23 November 2015

12148890_s

Monday again, and another unclassifiable selection of great music for you. I hope everyone is okay out there; best wishes to Ravi who is off on his travels shortly. Thanks to all for the earworms and please keep them coming to earworm@tincanland.com.

C S Jayaraman – Kaa Kaa Kaa – Ravi Raman: You know how a crow seems to call others when it spots food? This song is ostensibly about that but takes a hefty swipe at the inability of humans to share and help each other. Sung by C S Jayaraman, who went against the grain in so many ways. Unconventional voice, very humble beginnings and insistence on mentoring others with leftist leanings … He made it big as did many of his protégés. I’m off to Muscat till January, so am not sure if I’ll be contributing any more this year. I’ll sure be listening though. Earworms has been one of my best finds this year. Cheers all and thanks for all the lovely music.

Robert Plant & Alison Krauss – Rich Woman – glasshalfempty: A recent sampler CD from Rounder records, celebrating their 45th anniversary (download from Rounder.Com) had this gem from the acclaimed 2007 album ‘Raising Sand’ by the unlikely pairing of Robert Plant and Alison Krauss.

Paragons – On The Beach – tincanman: Listening to 60’s Jamaican vocal group The Paragons (The Tide Is High) is a lot like listening to Northern Soul; the songs sound familiar but you can’t decide if it’s a cover or an overlooked treasure.

M’Bilia Bel – Mmae Ta Vi – goneforeign: We’ve had M’Bilia Bel here before, this one’s a change for her, I don’t have any others where she sounds like this. She’s with Tabu Ley Rochereau here which was not uncommon. A very different Soukous sound.

Pablo Lubadika Porthos – Madeleina – CaroleBristol: While I was digging out the Gun Club earworm, I took the opportunity to revisit the rest of the NME mixtapes I’ve got. I know nothing at all about Pablo Lubadika Porthos but this track “Madeleina” is a nice jolly toe-tapper with some rather nice horns punctuating the soukous guitar riff.

Neil Young + Promise Of The Real – A Rock Star Bucks A Coffee Shop – tincanman: Anger at big business inspires some catchy and crunchy guitar from Neil and Willie’s son Lukas Nelson (the band is his). The lyrics are either forthright or trite, depending on your world view, and the video https://goo.gl/cWwnu0 is Neil at his confounding best – having a laugh, firing darts. From his latest, “The Monsanto Years”.

Image courtesy of http://www.123rf.com

24 thoughts on “Earworms 23 November 2015

  1. Raising Sand is a pretty tough act to follow and as ghe says it was an unlikely pairing, but what an album it has turned out to be! My pick of the week. And re: Neil Young – he really seems to be on a mission to fight the corporate world. Good on him.

      • Ha ha ha. Really enjoyed that. The crow has quite a few fans here. It was our (now defunct) club’s mascot as well, so when it popped up on my mix I couldn’t resist passing it on. Cheers.

  2. Bit of a mix 🙂 I liked the Madeliena, and I too know nothing about the artist.

    I remember the buzz about Raising Sand and it was well deserved. My only quibble is that at some point in every song, I’m convinced its going to break into Fortune Teller. But that’s the trademark of T-Bone Burnett production, not Alison & Robert’s doing.

  3. Like them all a lot but especially the Plant/Krantz one and Madeleina.

    Did Carole or anyone already post this link? You can listen to some of the songs from the old NME tapes on youtube.

    I always like a whistling intro btw so thank you for that Neil. Song’s not bad either.

      • Actually, scratvh that. It looked like it, but is a different site. I got them from a site where you could download the entire set of tracks for each tape.

        I posted about it ages ago. I can’t remember if it was on the old Blogger ‘Spill or on here.

      • Ah right. Well anyway it got me searching for my own old NME cassette mixes. Found All Africa Radio, The Tape With No Name, Straight No Chaser, Bush Fire and I Dreamt I was Elvis. That should keep me busy catching back up. The only thing I can play them on is a gadget I bought to put taped music on the computer. That proved so cumbersome I now use it as a Walkman.

  4. I bought “Raising Sand” when it came out, but never liked it. I think I’ll have to give it another listen! Loved “Madeleina”. Really dislike the Neil Young song – sorry tinny, but look on it as an achievement as I very rarely dislike anything! Can’t argue with the sentiment, though.

    • I like Raising Sand and I saw Robert Plant and Alison Krauss in Cardiff when they were touring together. It was an excellent show, with some interesting Led Zeppelin reinventions, including an absolute standout Battle Of Evermore and a weird but effective slowed down Black Dog with the guitar intro replaced by banjo.

  5. The only tracks that I’d not heard before were the C S Jayaraman and M’Bilia Bel ones, and I think that the latter was my favourite.

    Neil Young seems to be enjoying doing what he’s always done – ploughing his own farrow and thumbing his nose at the music biz. I applaud that, but, to be honest, it sounds like he phoned this one in while doing something else. It is Neil-By-Numbers and that whistling is seriously irritating.

    Anyway, good luck and bon voyage to Ravi on his travels.

  6. Another interesting week, I must admit to looking forward to Monday mornings just for Earworms.
    2 through 5, what’s not to like, RP & AK, the Paragons, M’bilia and Madaleina; Pablo Lubadika was a new name to me and I thought I was pretty familiar with Zairian music.
    I like a lot of Neil’s early stuff but I’m getting a bit bored with his current crop, one of the papers I read has an ongoing piece about his house in Hawaii that’s for sale, he wants $25 million for it!
    I find Ravi’s weekly offerings to be interesting, I don’t understand Indian music but I enjoy listening to it. Twenty odd years ago I became aware of a raga with a violin lead, I was amazed, I’d never heard anything like that before. I mentioned it to a friend at the British embassy in Delhi and when she came to visit later that year she brought me 25 CD’s of various Carnatic music including ragas with violins, saxes, guitars, flutes etc. I pulled ’em all out yesterday and started scanning through ’em.
    Ravi, I must admit that I had to ask Google where Muscat is, when I was a kid Muscats were a variety of grapes. It looks like a pleasant climate for a short spell, hurry back.

    • Thanks, and to Carol, ghe, severin and the rest of you.
      25 CDs! You have much more than me, GF though I tend to be very picky and stick with instrumentals, mostly. You’d most definitelty have two compositions called Vathapi and Endharo Mahanabhavalu. Check them out.
      The way I go about listening to or picking Carnatic music, is choosing, instrument, raga and musician in that order. In the raga business it is normally Sindhu Bhairavi my all time favourite and then Nata, Goula, Arabhi, Varali and Sri.

  7. Re. Neil Young’s property holdings, I have a close friend who lives on top of the mountain overlooking SF airport.
    He bought some acres from Neil Young who owns the mountain and built his house there. He told me the story that NY had told him; with the success of Heart of Gold he bought 18,000 acres of mountaintop property and built his primary residence there, my friend is his neighbor.

  8. Jyotsna Srikanth was just on MIdweek, on Radio 4 talking about Carnatic music.
    She also played some with a Swedish influence (which I couldn’t detect). It’s quite brief but a bit of a coincidence for us so I thought I’d post here.

    The programme isn’t available immediately after broadcast but will be soon.

    Here’s a link to the programme’s website.

    Jyotsna Srikanth is the final guest so you may want to skip to the last 10/15 minutes.

    • Severin: I left it a bit late but I finally noticed your link to Jyotsna Srikanth, very interesting and it prompted me to ask Wiki for more, they had all the details.
      When I first heard that Carnatic violin I had no idea that there was an entire genre of Indian violinists, I thought it was a one-off.
      I liked the Swedish influence, must find more. This reminds me of an album I featured here at the Spill some years ago, it was From Senegal to Setesdal, by Norwegian singer Kirsten Braten Berg accompanied by Senegalese musicians Solo Cissokho and Kouame Sereba on their traditional instruments.

Leave a Reply

