Earworms 7 December 2015

It’s that time again – more wonderful music for you. Please spare a thought for Ravi this week, whose friends and family are caught up in severe flooding in India. Our thoughts are with you. Meanwhile, thanks to all for the top-ups to the worm bank. Please keep them coming to earworm@tincanland.com, and let me have any Christmas worms by Sunday 20 December.

Grice – Frozen Water – CaroleBristol: I was listening to a recent cover CD from Prog magazine in the car and this track really hit me. It is by an artist called Grice, about whom I knew nothing until I found his website – http://www.gricemusic.co.uk/biography.html – and looked him up. This track reminds me very much of Talk Talk’s wonderful “Spirit Of Eden” album, which can only be a good thing. The trumpet is also very Miles Davis in inspiration.

Elvis Costello and the Attractions – Motel Matches – Albahooky: As you put out the call, here’s one where the 2nd half of the chorus just seems to land on your tongue out of nowhere: “Falling for you without a 2nd look / Falling out of your open pocket book / Giving you away like motel matches …”

Joe Tex – The Love You Save (May Be Your Own) – tincanman: Sweet slice of Southern soul pie from 1966. Dunno what else you could want in a song, really.

Anirudh Ravichander; Badshah – Aaluma/
Anirudh Ravichander; Dhanush – Maari – Ravi Raman:
Considering the music from India that I’ve boxed so far, these are from the opposite end of the spectrum. Lyrics, dialect and tune – all from the seaside hutments in Madras. The beats of both songs are integral to the long wakes that can go on for more than 6-8 hours, with guys, fuelled by cheap booze, thrashing out the drums in relays.

8 thoughts on “Earworms 7 December 2015

  1. I really enjoyed putting these together, some wonderful music here, all new to me. Grice reminds me slightly of Vangelis, too – great track, so many unexpected turns.

  2. Yes, good stuff all round. I know that I shouldn’t really promote the track I supplied but I really didn’t know Grice at all and every time I hear it, I like it even more.

    Apart from that, everything was splendid. I already knew “Motel Matches” and Ravi’s two tracks were, as always fascinating but Joe Ely did it for me. That was the best one this week.

  3. Ravi: Both of these cuts revealed to me how limited my minimal knowledge of Indian music is.
    I didn’t recognize either as being Indian. It would help if you included a few words of explanation for these uneducated ears. I’m reading a book just now, very interesting’ it’s ‘Words without music’ by Phillip Glass. Today I read the chapter titled ‘Ravi Shankar’, he tells in the most interesting manner how they became involved together in creating the music for a film in the ’60’s. He went on to become one of Shankar’s students ditto Alla Rakha for percussion. Well worth a read. Fans of Koyaanisqatsi would appreciate the chapter about his work with Godfrey Reggio

  4. Grice is very VERY reminiscent of Tim Bowness, no? Possible shades of Barzin too. Albums from both are in the DsD collection, if anyone wants to hear what I mean.

    Motel Matches is the type of song EC’s voice is perfect for. Always fades too soon for me.

    Oh that Joe Tex is ace. New to me, you won’t be surprised to hear.

    I’m definitely not in the right mood for Ravi’s two selections, but I promise to return to them.

Leave a Reply

