Earworms 14 December 2015

25796714_s

Some days the rain may fall – it’s certainly falling round here, this feels like one of the darkest winters I can remember, even though it’s not particularly cold. Anyway, here are some songs to dispel the gloom – thanks to all contributors and please keep those earworms coming to earworm@tincanland.com. There’s still time to send in your Christmas worms if you wish to: deadline Sunday 20 December.

Kim Churchill – Some Days the Rain May Fall and Window to the Sky – severin: I sent a Kim Churchill track in to the worms a while ago and I think people liked it. I actually managed to miss the fact that he released an album in 2014 so didn’t include him in my Festive Spill entries. This by way of atonement. I’ll leave it up to Ali which one to include (but both would be good – no pressure). (OK! Ed.) Oh btw he’s Australian in case anyone doesn’t know.

Aby Wolf – Flower In Winter – tincanman: One of the finest voices in the midwest teamed up with an experimental DJ in Minneapolis to see what would happen. I like it. (Wolf often performs with Dessa, an RR fave).

Robert Randoph & The Family Band – Calypso – Ravi Raman: I saw these guys at a jazz fest here last year and was hugely impressed. Skilled, fast guitar, thrumming bass … it’s as if their music was made to order for me. Coming from a gospel background, Randolph plays a mean pedal steel guitar. This song is from their debut studio album Unclassified.

Poems for Jamiro – I Learned It from the Whispers – debbym via ali: Poems for Jamiro are a duo (Nina & Leila) who won a music award along with my son last year. I really like their music, even though they work with synthesisers a lot, which I’m normally not the greatest fan of, but they sing such beautiful harmonies as well as playing diverse other instruments, they completely won me over. I think they’re a band you’d be delighted to ‘discover’ if you came across them at a festival on a fine summer’s afternoon.

Lou Reed & Antony Hegarty – Candy – AliM: Not usually a fan of Lou Reed or Antony Hegarty in terms of vocals, but this is the exception that proves the rule.

Kim Churchill – Window to the Sky – severin: See above.

Image courtesy of http://www.123rf

13 thoughts on “Earworms 14 December 2015

  1. I love “Some Days the Rain May Fall”, can’t stop listening to it. Just seems totally appropriate to me at the moment. In fact it’s a very good selection all together, I’m on my nth listen. Thanks all. (Worms are boxed).

  2. Thanks Ali. I’ve had two listens so far and agree about the selections in general.
    Flower in Winter and I Learned it From the Whispers were both beautiful. Candy Says was great – I’m a fan of both those voices. Calypso was absolutely fantastic.
    The bookends were pretty damn good too.

  3. Yes, lovely selection this week – especially liked Flower in winter, with Some days the rain a close second. Calypso reminded me of the Mahavishnu Orchestra for some reason – which is a good thing, of course. Funnily enough, although I love both Lou and Antony, this duet didn’t really do it for me as much as I hoped.

    ‘Some days the rain may fall’ reminded me of an 1889 painting by Norman Garstin, called The Rain it Raineth Every Day – which is a bit how it feels at the moment. The painting depicts the rain lashed promenade at Penzance. The story goes that the city fathers thought it would put off the tourists, and hid it in the basement of the town hall for fifty years!

    Here it is – Ed :http://www.penleehouse.org.uk/artists/norman-garstin

    • “When that I was and a little bitty boy
      With a Hey Ho, the wind and the rain
      A foolish thing was but a toy
      And the rain it raineth every day …”

      (or something to that effect)

      • Carole/Ali: There’s another number by RR* in the year-end list I sent, called Squeeze. More Satriani than Mahavishnu. Read about this RR saying he had no clue about the entire Southern Blues or Rock music (which he calls non-religious music’) until after he got his breakthrough. His performance here was remarkable. Audience full of youngsters expecting EDM and he had them hopping and jumping within minutes of starting.
        *There’s something about RR and me this year – insert appropriate emoticon or LOL msg here.

  4. I just saw the comment asking for some background on the two worms I sent last week, so here goes:
    Most Indians too would be unaware of this music. The songs, like I said last week, are from the other end of the spectrum from the Carnatic or Hindustani music that are often associated with India. Not only do they have folk roots but are also confined to the South Indian and more specifically the Tamil speaking people.
    The songs come from the Theru Koothu (literally street dance) genre, one that spread theatre, dance and music across the South Indian villages, though it is now a disappearing art form.
    The beats are integral to funeral processions and the long wakes that follow in Madras. Nine out of ten who thrash the skins in such affairs are amateurs. Usually there are three instruments, a double sided dholak type drum and two single sided ones, one beaten with the hand and the other with a stick. There can be, and usually are, more. The second song I sent, Maari, highlights all three of the basic beats and in fact starts with the classic Koothu beat.
    The lyrics, which are almost made up by my city’s slang, maybe clear as crystal to me but people who don’t hail from here would not only not understand the songs but would consider them to be prime A List candidates for RRSA Nonsense Lyrics.

  5. A nice interesting set of things by people I’ve never heard of, plus Lou ‘n’ Antony. I liked them all, which makes picking a favourite rather difficult.

    So I won’t, because it would be invidious.

  6. I hadn’t heard any of these before, although I’m familiar with Lou and Antony of course. They were all good, I liked Aby Wolf best. I’ve found that I only seem to enjoy Antony’s voice when he sings with someone else. A lovely performance of Candy Says though. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

