Earworms 21 December 2015

48098164_s
Happy Christmas and good wishes for the New Year, wishing you all peace, love and happiness. Thank you for all the wonderful worms; please keep them coming to earworm@tincanland.com. Now chill.

Christmas Selection Box – goneforeign:
The Beachboys – Little Saint Nick
Simon & Garfunkel & NBC News – Silent Night
June Christy – Merriest
Chuck Berry – Run Rudolph Run
Louis Armstrong – Christmas In New Orleans
Eartha Kitt – Santa Baby
Billie Holiday – I’ve Got My Love To Keep Me Warm
Auld Lang Syne – ? – soundclip?
Dexter Gordon – The Christmas Song

Reverend Horton Heat – Jingle Bells – DsD

This Ascension – Carol of the Bells – bethnoir: A gothic Californian band covering a festive song, gentle and pretty, Happy Christmas everyone.

Hard Left – New Year – Panthersan: Merry Christmas, Happy New Year!

Calexico – Gift X-Change – DsD: Bit of a downer, musically, but the lyrics are beautiful:
“Something’s missing in your life, you’ve felt it all along / Retrace your steps, balance and checks, where it all went wrong / I hope you find some inner peace along the way, / Whatever it takes, I hope you’ll make it home for Christmas Day.”

Count Basie Orchestra – Good Swing Wenceslas and Silent Night – severin: A new album from the legendary orchestra. Their first Christmas album, I gather, to celebrate their 80th birthday. It’s very good of course.

Sufjan Stevens – Happy Karma Christmas – glasshalfempty: SS is a prolific artist, with a great album this year in the shape of Carrie and Lowell. His outpourings include many Xmas songs of his usual quality and novelty. Here’s “Happy Karma Xmas” from the album “Silver and Gold” of a couple of years back. Merry Xmas to all wormers.

IAMX – Silent Night – bethnoir: IAMX are generally a rather dark bunch, but this version of Silent Night is rather beautiful I think.

Kormac and Irvine Welsh – Another Screen – Shoegazer: Christmas earworm!

CeeLo Green – The River – tincanman: Unlike Aaron Neville, who was apparently born in full voice, Thomas DeCarlo Callaway is still learning to use his vocal gifts. This shows he could be the best we’ve ever heard if he wants.

Seasick Steve – Xmas Prison Blues – AliM: Hallelujah, hallelujah!

Hayes Carll – Naked Checkers – tincanman: That catch in his voice probably gives him many chances to play board games naked. “Your Mama called the preacher, Your Daddy called the law / That’s OK, we won’t come home on Christmas, or any other holiday”.

The Darkness – I Am Santa – bethnoir: They’ve got Roger Taylor’s son, Rufus on drums and have gone the whole 70s TOTPs christmas hog in the video, it’s Christmas, be kind.

David McAlmont – Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas – DsD:
Why? Because it’s David McAlmont, that’s why!

Siouxsie and The Banshees – Red Over White – Albahooky: A quick one for Christmas; and you can forget the cuddly Santa accompanied by jolly snowmen.

Xmas Jazz Party – Ravi Raman: Here are some Christmas tunes for you. All the very best for the holiday season and the coming years. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J5iffs26aG8

Image courtesy of 123rf.com

 

24 thoughts on “Earworms 21 December 2015

  1. I couldn’t think of anything to send this year – even the new Kate Rusby left my socks uncharmed – but I’m sure my bah humbug will transform to seasonal festive feelings when I listen to this playlist. Happy holldays, everyone, and a huge great THANK YOU! to AliM for another year’s worth of worms.

  2. I’ll echo debby’s words: a huge great THANK YOU! to AliM for another year’s worth of worms.
    Your calm dedication is a lesson to us all and I am continually impressed by the way you put songs in similar keys together (albeit maybe not consciously): it demonstrates a natural musical ear.

    My very best wishes to one and all at this time of year. Whilst I’m not normally a fan of Christmas, this year I have had the enormous fortune of spending some time with the most beautiful, loving, sexy, wise, crazy woman I’ve ever met and she has made we want to join in all the glittery nonsense. I may not make it to next Christmas… 🙂

    • Go Chris!!!!!

      If you survive Christmas, I’m going to see Jason Isbell at The Ritz on Sat 23 Jan.

      Riding solo at the moment ….

      • I just checked out a couple of his songs on YT and found this comment under one of them: ‘By far my favorite artist that I’ve discovered since I found the grateful dead when I was 13’.
        Maybe I should consider the possibility of going along, particularly now that the sky is yellow and the sun is blue!

  3. What a great list, I’m not a fan of Christmas music but this is a unique collection. I didn’t intend that all mine be featured, I said ‘take your pick from this lot’ but they all come together. Happy hollidays to all Spillers.

  4. And thanks and best wishes to Ali (and Sam) from me too – particularly as I didn’t get round to sending Christmas cards.

    Are these ‘Boxed? I’ll add them to the 800 Christmas songs I’ve got on my car stereo’s SD card.

    Cheers everyone.

  5. Looking forward to finding time to listen, in amongst the deluge of spill loveliness. And I’ll add my sincere thanks to Ali for being such a steadfast and accomplished curator. And seasons greetings to all in the spillerverse. Been good to meet so many again this year, at shoey’s bash and the tenth anniversary. It’s rolling, Bob.

  6. I must’ve missed the last posting date for Tincanland, so here’s my contribution: Tracey Thorn – Joy

    When I find an album is a ‘grower’, it usually means I’m slow on the uptake. When it’s a Christmas album, it takes years ! At first I thought this song sounded too low-key for its title, but I was missing the point. The line, Because of the dark, we see the beauty in the spark sort of sums up the album.

    Happy Christmas to you all, and many thanks Ali and all the more punctual contributors for this playlist, it will be on in our kitchen during the festivities !

  7. Ali: Of course I’ll add my commendations to all the other Spillers, a thousand thanks, Merci mille fois, graze mille!
    You do a fabulous job, thank you.

  8. Thank you everyone for the thank yous, I enjoy doing it, you’re a lovely bunch of people and I wish you all a super Christmas and very happy new year with hugs.

  9. Best wishes to all from this corner of India too. May you all have the best of health, humour and success in your endavours in the coming years. RR & Spill = two of the best discoveries of 2015 for me. And Ali, thanks again.

Leave a Reply

