Panthersan’s Best Albums of 2015 Number 1

1 Stara Rzeka – Zamknęły Się Oczy Ziemi

Stara Rzeka

Their first album made my number 5 two years ago and has only grown in my estimation since. This is the follow up and possibly final album from Polish uncategorisables Stara Rzeka. This album is slightly mellower than the first with more acoustic plucking and the more metal elements stripped back to dirgey droning, with an even more expansive musical palette. Stara Rzeka somehow manage to tie together every type of music that I hold dear: spacey drones, dark metal, reflective acoustic guitar, experimental electronica… it’s almost like an amalgam of my other 11 Best Albums of 2015 (well, most of them….not so much Sleaford Mods in there!) condensed into one beautiful, melancholic, shape-shifting indefinable whole. If this really is their last album, they have left behind a small, but perfectly formed legacy that I know I will be listening to for many years to come.

4 thoughts on “Panthersan’s Best Albums of 2015 Number 1

  1. Hi panthersan, I’ve heard of this album but hadn’t taken the time to explore it, thanks for the nudge. Again, it’s on youtube which gave me the opportunity for a full run through this am. Particularly liked the shimmering anklets and anguish of Czarna woda.
    Thanks for posting all your 2015 selections, I’ve enjoyed listening to them and reading your very fine descriptions.
    *As an aside, a Polish film from last year that definitely merits a recommendation is Ida by Paweł Pawlikowski; it’s a gem. Happy Holidaysto you and yours. littleriver. x
    ps. if you’re in touch with the lovely Sakura outside of this meeting place please give her my love and best wishes for 2016.

    • Thanks lr, it was fun to write up all the stuff that swirls around my head when I’m going about my daily listening.

      Watched Ida at the beginning of the year after your (?) mention of it on the ‘Spill – absolutely loved it, thanks.

      Am halfway through Duke of Burgundy at the moment – love the whole aesthetic and the insulated world the film builds.

      My personal favourite film was Force Majeure. A brilliantly understated look at what pathetic, ego-led cowards most of us modern men really are! Finally got around to watching The Look of Silence too, which was just as disturbingly important as The Act of Killing, but slightly more subdued.

      A big Merry Christmas to you and thanks again for listening!

  2. Hi Panth,

    This sounds like it may be more up my late-night-listening alley.

    I don’t get to comment much at this time of year given my family status, but your finding the time to write and post a year-end Top## is appreciated.

    Hope to get to listen at some point over the next ten days.

    Cheers, and Merry Christmas to you and yours.

    Rich C.
    DsD

    • Thanks Rich, it’s always a pleasure, never a chore! – think you might appreciate Stara Rzeka, they have enough of a post-rock instrumental thing going on for the DsD palette, I think.

      And a very Merry Christmas to you and the C clan too.

      Panthercub is super excited – sake and gingerbread have been left out for Santa-san (going down very nicely, thank you) and he went to bed worrying if he had been a good enough boy (possibly not to be honest, but I’m sure Santa-san will forgive him!).

Leave a Reply

