Earworms 18 January 2016

5069894_s

Beth, I’m sorry, but this week is probably not going to be one of your favourites. A couple of cautionary tales here – be careful whose knee you fondle. And just remember, country music aint nothin’ but the blues with a twang. Thanks to all contributors, and please keep those worms coming to earworm@tincanland.com. Listen to the tracks here:
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/1dhgt9dbauco7ca/AACWxbR5lHcenjwkfD9uynQBa?dl=0

The Delines – Sirens in the Night – glasshalfempty: The Delines released Scenic Sessions this year. The languid and bleak vignette of ‘Sirens in the night’ is an absolutely typical Willy Vlautin slice of life.

Doug Seegers – Going Down to the River – tincanman: Two years ago Seegers left a homeless shelter in Nashville determined to give sobriety a better chance this time. He was busking, playing this song, when a Swedish documentary maker heard him. Jump ahead a few months and his song tops the Swedish iTunes chart. Jump ahead a few more months and the 62-year-old’s debut album has gone platinum. PROFILE: http://goo.gl/IkLF7b

Shamekia Copeland – Drivin’ Out of Nashville – goneforeign: A blues singer with a country message. “Drivin’ Out Of Nashville,” is about a struggling singer who resorts to extreme measures to combat sexual harassment. Catch the Charlie Pride reference, the only other black, country singer.

Holly Golightly & The Brokeoffs – Coulda Shoulda Woulda – tincanman: A Brit with styles ranging from garage to countryabilly, Golightly’s latest album isn’t one to run off to the record shops (?) for. But if you fancy a dance ’round your flat while cleaning up, this title track is just the thing.

Gary Clark, Jr. – Grinder – Ravi Raman: I normally don’t go in for distort heavy guitarists but I like this guy, especially this number from his latest album Story of Sonny Boy Slim which has a very Jimi Hendrix sound.

Louis Berry – 25 Reasons – AliM: This lies somewhere between Dr Feelgood and Paulo Nutini – a young Liverpool artist with much promise. I chose another track, “Rebel”, in the Festive Ones. http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/whats-on/whats-on-news/musician-louis-berry-kirkby-named-8960011

Image courtesy of 123.rf.com

17 thoughts on “Earworms 18 January 2016

    • In other news, I’ve had an unexpected envelope arrive from the UK. Wondering if my luck had turned and it was from the premium bonds people, I ripped it open in haste – but it turned out to be even better than that. I love that photo of you & Sam! Thank you! Danke schön!

    • Yes, I think so. I don’t mind chipping in, but don’t know whether others think it’s worth it given the various streaming sites available. And it’s Blimpy’s blog so we would need to go through him.

  1. I’m working up the strength to listen to them though, maybe I’ll be converted!? The dropbox option works for me, so although having the wordpress player is convenient, not sure it’s worth paying for.

  2. I’m sure I posted a comment here yesterday. Are WordPress having a larf at our expense?
    (The music player is still working on my WP Deadblog, for which they charge me $20 pa. Are they trying to charge The Spill more than that?)

    Anyway, I enjoyed these; they were all great fun to noodle along to. The last two were perhaps the least interesting but I really liked The Delines’ track. Thanks Ali and all.

  3. As far as I can work out from the “HELP!” option on WordPress, we would have to upgrade to Premium with would give us 13GB (? from memory) and the ability to upload audio and video. This costs $99 which is about £70 annually. So I’m with Beth, not sure if it’s worth it, but happy to go with the majority. (Of course, it helps if I get the DB link right … seem to be losing the battle with technology at present, which doesn’t bode well for guruing!!) Oh, and Doug Seegers is my favourite this week. Stream of consciousness over.

  4. OK, so this has started off nicely, I really like this Delines song. It has a lovely classic feel to it. Doug Seegers continues the vibe with a gospel-flavoured slice of country. Enjoyable stuff, as is the next track by Shamekia Copeland, which gives all Nashville misogynists a well-deserved kick up the backside. Nice pedal steel guitar, too, and she’s got a great voice.

    I was wondering what I’d get from Holly Golightly & The Brokeoffs and it turned out to be a sort of Cramps-lite slice of psychobilly. Nice enough but not really setting the world alight for me.

    I was looking forward to hearing the Gark Clark Jr track and it didn’t disappoint me. He isn’t doing anything particularly original, but he does do it very well. It is all about the guitar and he has some very SRV-style licks going on there. I think he sounds more like Robin Trower than Hendrix, though.

    Unfairly, I was a bit worried about Louis Berry from the description, not remotely being a fan of Paulo Nutini, but it turned out to be a lot more garage rock than I’d feared. He’d probably be someone you wouldn’t mind catching playing in a pub.

    Not bad, overall. I think I liked The Delines and Shamekia Copeland best this week.

Leave a Reply

