Earworms 8 February 2016

9894237_s

Well the lights may be going out on RR, but the community continues. Here are two songs to cheer you up and spur you on, and three to make you sit back and reflect on the gloriousness of friendship, community, and music. Thanks to all you stars for your musical contributions; please keep them coming to earworm@tincanland.com.

Maria de Lourdes – Huapango Torero – goneforeign: I love Mariachi music, it’s wonderful to see it performed especially in Mexico. The voice, the strings, the brass and the outfits are a wonderful combination.

El Twanguero – Coco Zoot Suit – Ravi Raman: I picked up this album quite by mistake, while searching for more music by Royal Crown Revue. Luckily as it turns out. The album is called Pachuco and is by a Spanish musician called Diego Garcia. I don’t have much of this type and would love some pointers from the ‘Spillers.

Theo Bleckmann – Dream of Sheep – abahachi: If there’s a competition for ‘successful artists who are rarely covered’ then I imagine Kate Bush is a serious contender – the songs are so bound up with the performance that it would be a brave or foolish singer to put forward their own version. Here’s an exception, and maybe the fact that a man is singing the songs makes it easier to separate them from the original: the German jazz singer and composer Theo Bleckmann, whom I know from his appearance on Julia Huelsmann’s 2015 Kurt Weill album, who dedicated his ‘Hello Earth’ record in 2011 to Bush’s music.

Ólafur Arnalds & Nils Frahm – Four – glasshalfempty: Berlin meets Reykjavik is a marriage made in ambient heaven. Here’s Ólafur Arnalds and Nils Frahm, with the magical ‘Four’. Amazingly, there’s a disco remix too, but I’m of an age where the sedative version is fine by me!

David Cross & Robert Fripp – Starless Starlight Loops – AliM: I have a love/hate relationship with Spotify. But dammit, they’ve hard-wormed into my brain with their latest “Discover Weekly” customer-orientated playlist which included this gem from King Crimson veterans David Cross and Robert Fripp, re-visiting the “Starless” theme. This is so beautiful, I can hardly bear it. In fact “I liked it so much, I bought the album”.

Image courtesy of 123rf.com

13 thoughts on “Earworms 8 February 2016

  1. I don’t think that I’ve ever really listened to any Mariachi music, except in films and suchlike, where it always sounds a bit crap and like a kitsch tourist stereotype, but this Maria de Lourdes track was a bit of a revelation. Even so, it still seemed to have all the clichés in place, but they didn’t sound crap or kitsch. Lovely voice.

    Unfortunately, El Twanguero didn’t play, so I can’t comment.

    I don’t think I’ve ever heard the Kate Bush original, not being a massive kate Bush fan. I mean, I like her well-known stuff and I think that Aerial is a pretty good album, so I can only judge Theo Bleckmann‘s version on its own merit. Sadly, I didn’t much care for it.

    Ólafur Arnalds & Nils Frahm was much more like it. I enjoyed it a lot.

    David Cross & Robert Fripp was, unsurprisingly perhaps, my absolute favourite this week. I don’t have this album (which I have now just remedied while listening to this) but I’ve listened to it and I love this. Starless, which was the standout performance when I saw King Crimson last September, is one of Crimson’s greatest pieces and contains one of the band’s most beautiful themes. This is achingly lovely. Peerless.

  2. Sorry El Twanguero doesn’t play, it works for me. They are all boxed if you want to listen there – glad you like David Cross & Robert Fripp. As always I like them all, but I particularly like the Olafur Arnalds / Nils Frahm.

  3. El Twanguero didn’t play for me first time round but, second time, it did… and it was easily my favourite this week. The ambient ones were nice too, particularly the Olafur Arnalds / Nils Frahm track.

  4. I went to see Mexrissey at the Barbican but that’s the only (kind of) mariachi event I’ve ever attended. This was pretty enjoyable and, yes, great voice.
    El Twanguero played first time. Liked it. Kept imagining some nineteen sixties screwball comedy antics to go with it.
    I didn’t think I’d heard the Kate Bush original song as I don’t own any of her albums (shame!) – but then I wondered if I had heard it when “guru-ing” as it seemed oddly familiar – anyway I think this version by Theo Bleckman was fantastic. really enjoyed it.
    Arnalds/Frahm was a lovely piece of “ambient heaven”. I’ve played it three times now and I may search out an album if there is one.
    Cross/Fripp. Would you believe that I don’t own any music by Robert Fripp? Except for a couple of Bowie albums he’s on. Oh and some Eno ones.
    Well, clearly I do then but no solo efforts or KC recordings. I do have the Unthanks version of Starless but not the original. Should probably remedy that I guess. Anyway, this variation on a theme was exquisite – and that’s not a word I use often.
    A list of words I do use quite a lot is available upon application.

    Thank you Ali and all.

  5. For some reason, unfounded as it appears now, I’d never been interested in Ambient music. I’ve listened to more of this in the past few months than ever before.
    In case any of you are interested I can box a few more El Twanguero tracks. From what I’ve gleaned from the web he is a Spanish musician and Twang is a style of music. I’d really appreciate any pointers or additional info on this.

  6. Nice to have the player back – thanks Ali. I too like mariachi – especially in Mexico – and also marimba. This mariachi track is above average – certainly different to the sort I have seen performed in Mexico – verging on fado. I think this tied, this week, with El Twanguero, for my affections.

  7. Starless – amazing.

    I’m with glassarfemptee – the Maria De lourdes is not the mariachi I know either. Having said that, this track is lovely, whatever we want to call it.

    The rest are pleasant enough.

Leave a Reply

