Earworms 14 March 2016

9893628_s

Another week’s worth of wondrous worms for you, and a sense of Spring in the air. What could be better? Well, more worms, of course! I’m down to one lonely wriggler, so if anyone wants to top-up the bank, please send your worms to earworm@tincanland.com. Many thanks.

The Chieftains feat Akiko Yano – Sake in the Jar – severin: From their 1999 album “Tears of Stone” which featured a number of female guest vocalists including Joni Mitchell, Sinead O’Connor and Natalie Merchant. This, though, is the most unexpected track – a mix of Irish and Japanese, as you can hear. Akiko Yano is probably best known for singing with Yellow Magic Orchestra although she has also recorded with Little Feat, Thomas Dolby and (apparently) Swing Out Sister. I could have offered pretty much anything from the Chieftains CD but I think this one is particularly haunting.

Blue Lotus – L. Subramaniam – Ravi Raman: From the Global Fusion album by L. Subramaniam that involves everything from Indonesian choral chanting to erhu, didgeridoo, koto and Spanish guitar. This track is a duet with Jie Bing Chen, whose erhu echoes Subramaniam’s violin in an “eerily lovely imitation” as one admirer puts it. Wholeheartedly recommend the entire album (boxed).

Estas Tonne – Cosmic Fairytale: Dimensions – AliM: Estas Tonne is a Ukranian-born guitarist. He has travelled widely and plays in a “fusion” of styles; classical; flamenco; gypsy and others, on a six-string acoustic guitar. This track stood out from another excellent Spotify “Discover Weekly” list.

Gordon Lightfoot – Early Morning Rain – goneforeign: This song was composed and recorded by Canadian Gordon Lightfoot on his 1966 debut album. His career has spanned more than five decades and despite ill health, he continues performing, with a tour of England, Ireland and Scotland due later this year.

Leon Bridges – Mississippi Kisses – tincanman: I dismissed last year’s debut, Coming Home, as another Ben E King tribute act but I’m a feckin idiot. Saw him on Austin City Limits (http://video.klru.tv/video/2365648604/) and what a breath of fresh air, even though the songs he writes are in the style of old-time rock & roll and soul. One to watch here, folks. (This is a bonus song on Coming Home, and the raucous closer to his ACL show).

Copyright: <a href=’http://www.123rf.com/profile_chuyu’>chuyu / 123RF Stock Photo</a>

11 thoughts on “Earworms 14 March 2016

  1. The Chieftains feat Akiko Yano – Sake in the Jar I really didn’t know what to expect from this. It is a really unusual piece. I think that I want to like it but I need to listen to it a few times.

    L. Subramaniam – Blue Lotus Unfortunately, I can’t get this to play. If I try and open it in a new tab, I get a message saying “video can’t be played because the file is corrupt”.

    Estas Tonne – Cosmic Fairytale: Dimensions This is lovely. Wonderful playing and a gorgeous tone. Very atmospheric, the thunder and rain effects surprised me at around 6 minutes. Overall, it sounds a bit like prog rock played solo on a Spanish guitar. I mean that as a compliment.

    Gordon Lightfoot – Early Morning Rain I know this so well. Years ago, when I was a computer operator, I worked in a processing bureau for a while with someone who was a huge fan of people like Gordon Lightfoot, Jerry Jeff Walker and other countryish singer/songwriters. We used to listen to nothing else except his huge collection of cassettes.

    Leon Bridges – Mississippi Kisses This was terrific. Very much to my taste this week.

    I think that I am going to give the plaudits to Estas Tonne this week, but as the Duke of Wellington never actually said, it was a damned close run thing. It could have been Leon Bridges.

    • Tough luck. For me that is. I was very keen on your feedback (and maki’s and gf’s and sev’s and of all the others). I’ve been listening to the album day in day out.

      • I promise that as soon as I’ve heard it, I’ll comment. I’ve found a version on YouTube that I am listening to right now.

      • It is utterly sumptuous. The way that the instruments weave in and out of one another is hypnotic and so intricate.I looked the Erhu up and now know that it is a two-stringed Chinese violin.

        This is a really wonderful piece of music. Was it improvised or composed?

  2. Composed. Ali’s boxed the whole album. I couldn’t choose one of the five tracks so I asked her to do it. There is another one called Gipsy Trails which is equally superb. Glad you liked it. Cheers.

  3. All the tracks are boxed, and the Global Fusion album, so you should be able to listen there. I don’t know why “Blue Lotus” won’t play, it works for me!

  4. Blue Lotus is a fantastic piece of music that I think needs a few more listens to really appreciate. That’s not to say I didn’t enjoy it the first couple of times – I did – but there’s such a lot going on in its eleven minutes I think it will be a grower as they say.
    Estas Tonne was indeed lovely, gorgeous and atmospheric (see above) and dramatic. Mind’s eye provides a film to go with it. In my case a sort of Ukrainian spaghetti western.
    I do like a bit of Gordon Lightfoot. Not that I know his stuff as well as Carole or GF but I recognised this song from long, long ago. Good one.
    Leon Bridges isn’t a name I’d heard of but this was a nice, flowing, breezy piece of music to end on.

    nb If The Chieftans track sounds odd or incongruous here, imagine how it sounds on the album – sandwiched between versions of “Ye Rambling Boys of Pleasure” and “Raglan Road”.

Leave a Reply

