Earworms 28 March 2016

3831096_s

Good old British Summertime; who knows what time it is – who cares? The machines will sort it out for us … Hope those of you with a Bank Holiday today are enjoying it; if you don’t have a day off, hope you’re enjoying the day as best you can. Here is the latest batch of worms for you; many thanks to all contributors. If there’s anyone out there who doesn’t know how to submit worms, it’s easy – just send an .mp3 file to earworm@tincanland.com, with a few words about why you’re sending it in. And lo! It shall appear in a forthcoming Earworms slot.

Gnac – Armchair Thriller – DsD: An ambient instrumental playing through the desktop speakers as I worked yesterday; Darcey walked in, shuddered and said “Ooh Dad that’s spooky and horrible! What is it?” When I looked at the title, I thought “Well THERE’S a piece of music seemingly well-named.”

Nick Cave – Red Right Hand –goneforeign: I love this piece because it’s the theme song of Peaky Blinders, a program I’ve watched religiously from the beginning; it’s burned into my brain, a true ear worm. If you haven’t watched the program, you should, excellent TV and it stars a wonderful new talent, Cillian Murphy.

Radio Citizen: Shores – abahachi: I was back in Berlin last week, and took the opportunity to visit my favourite jazz club, ZigZag in Friedenau; nothing special on, just the usual excellent Rollberger beer and a collaboration between a rather wordy expat American pianist called Kelvin Sholar and Afro-Danish singer/guitarist Natalie Greffel. The latter was impressive enough – despite tempting Esperanza Spalding comparisons by doing ‘I Can’t Help It’, including playing bass – for me to put a bit of effort into seeing what recordings are available, and found that she did vocals for this Munich-Berlin collaborative project. Very Portishead…

Ganesh/Kumaresh – Thillana – Ravi Raman: Knew these two brothers and organised one of their first shows when they were pre-teens. Now they are virtuosos in their own right and more often than not perform together. Thillana is a rhythmic piece in Carnatic music that is generally performed at the end of a concert and widely used in dance performances.

Steve Mason – Words in my Head – glasshalfempty: I loved Steve Mason’s ‘Boys outside’ album, and his latest (‘Meet the Humans’) is in the same vein. Mojo album of the month, which they call ‘sun-dappled folk’. Here’s the toe-tapping honey-voiced closer.

Naughty Boy ft. Beyoncé and Arrow Benjamin – Runnin’ (Lose It All) – AliM: This came out in September last year but suddenly I’m hearing it everywhere, and it’s a true earworm. Non pop-lovers will hate it, but Beyoncé has a great voice and carries the song for me.

Image courtesy of 123.rf.com

10 thoughts on “Earworms 28 March 2016

  1. Sorry Darcey I still love that Armchair Thriller on a second listen. Spooky but kind of beautiful too.
    I’ve only seen the odd snippet of Peaky Blinders and by god the bits I saw looked pretty violent. Maybe appropriate that Nick Cave made the theme music. Also spooky but in a quite different, more menacing way. Liked it.
    Radio Citizen is taking me a while to get to grips with even though I like Portishead, Tricky and allied musics. I’ll give it a few more listens and await developments.
    I’ll probably need a few more listens to Thillana too but it’s starting to get into my head already. Am I being silly or is there a kind of similarity between this kind of music and Irish jigs and reels?
    Steve Mason was ok but didn’t knock me off my feet listening here at home after a storm. I get the feeling it would sound great at a summer festival. Actually, while I typed that I started to enjoy it more. The power of autosuggestion. Slightly Floydian ending.
    Naughty Boy was a name I kept hearing last year. I suppose this was why. I do like a bit of pop. I like Beyoncé. Never heard of Arrow Benjamin. Anyway – quite liked it, mainly the Beyoncé parts I will admit.

    • You are not the first to find similarities sev. Many others have made such comments as well.
      Really enjoyed GHE’S worm and the Nick Cave song. Thanks to all of you and especially Ali.

    • I didn’t mean that as a put down sev. I haven’t seen the similarity myself but other more musically knowledgeable folks have said much the same as you.

  2. I haven’t seen Peaky Blinders either, but apparently some of it was filmed about a quarter of a mile away in some local studios! Perhaps I should be more observant!

  3. Gnac – Armchair Thriller Yeah, this is a bit spooky. It has a kind of Twin Peaks feel to it, a sort of underlying menace coming through the repetitiveness. I like it.

    Nick Cave – Red Right Hand This is a great song. I know it well, although I’ve never watched “Peaky Blinders”. I suppose I could catch up with it on Netflix one day, if it is on there.

    Radio Citizen – Shores It has echoes of Weimar cabaret, doesn’t it? I think it would probably work better actually being there, but I don’t dislike it at all.

    Ganesh/Kumaresh – Thillana I hear echoes of traditional folk music from the British Isles in places here. I suppose it is down to tunings and whatever scales or modes are being used. Some nice playing, though.

    Steve Mason – Words in my Head I like Steve Mason a lot. I saw him when he was touring his “Monkey Minds In The Devil’s Time” album. This is great, almost certainly it will be my favourite track this week.

    Naughty Boy ft. Beyoncé and Arrow Benjamin – Runnin’ (Lose It All) This was a lot better than I was expecting, although I doubt that I’ll ever love Bouncy’s music.

    Yes, as expected Steve Mason was my favourite.

  4. Peaky Blinders was ace (series 2 in particular) and the ‘The Wire’ vibe in Red Right Hand is an appropriate nod to the mood of the shows. It also features much Peej.

    The other tracks didn’t rock my world particularly but were interesting nonetheless. Nice chord changes in Armchair Thriller. I’m never quite sure why people make recordings sound like the Citizen Radio track, as if someone forgot to turn a slider up on the mixer.

  5. Armchair thriller was spot on, if a bit repetitive – would indeed make a great TV theme – as does Nick Cave. Thillana was lovely too, and I entirely agree about the Irish overtones. Portishead/Tricky allusions in Shores, but sadly the originals have my vote. But a great little listen all round, as ever.

Leave a Reply

