Earworms 4 April 2016

29269803_l

YoungMunday suggested this week’s image should be a depressed worm – I prefer to think of the selection as “thoughtful”, rather than “depressing”, and we have Fibber Island to cheer us up.  So instead we have a picture of a rust-coloured elephant with diamond shapes, chosen by YM himself. Thanks for all your contributions; please keep sending your spare worms to earworm@tincanland.com.

They Might Be Giants – Fibber Island – tfd: I discovered this while visiting my Texas grandson Jimmy, who has three TMBG children’s albums and demands that they be played in rotation every time he’s going anywhere by car. So I heard them though quite a few times and this is my favourite song – the only thing I don’t like about it is that what they call ‘fibbing’ (apparently) I call ‘having an imagination’. I tried to talk to Jimmy about this but he’s only five and I don’t think he really got it.

Christine & The Queens: Paradis Perdu – abahachi: It’s not often that I find myself ahead of the curve in musical taste – leaving aside the possibility that some day the rest of the world will agree with me about the genius of Bohren & Der Club of Gore – so it was quite a shock to find Alexis Petridis making Christine & The Queens – a band, you will recall, that I was promoting in Earworms back in the autumn – his Album of the Week. Okay, it’s not as if I was hanging out in obscure Parisian bars to make the discovery, so much as listening to French radio and hearing unmistakably catchy pop songs.

Strays Don’t Sleep – For Blue Skies – DsD: DsD fave Matthew Ryan was the voice and songwriter in this collaboration. The synth percussion chips away at your earwax, the liquid piano riff pours in through the hole, and before you know it, the repetitive lyrics are exiting your own mouth at the most alarmingly inopportune moments! Yup: it’s a ‘Worm.

Damien Rice – The Blower’s Daughter – AliM: As soon as I heard DsD’s worm I thought of this song by Damien Rice, and it wormed its way back into my head. It’s from O, his debut studio album in 2002, which is when my son was born (so I guess I was feeling sentimental when I bought it).

Gerald Albright – Sooki Sooki – Ravi Raman: though primarily a sax player Albright is a multi-instrumentalist and this is from his Live to Love album, a very good pick for smooth jazz fans. Lots of good vocals in the album as well.

Joan Baez – Diamonds & Rust – goneforeign: A beautiful song by Joan Baez, it was a top-40 hit for Baez on the U.S. pop singles chart and is regarded by critics, as well as by Baez fans, as one of her best compositions. It served as the title song on Baez’s gold-selling Diamonds & Rust album in 1975.

 

Image copyright: Nathapol Boonmangmee 123rf.com

 

15 thoughts on “Earworms 4 April 2016

  1. They Might Be Giants – Fibber Island Sorry, not for me. I’ve never heard anything from them that I liked.

    Christine & The Queens – Paradis Perdu This is quite an odd one, but not unappealing. I’ll have to hear it again but it has a scratchy, low hi appeal.

    Strays Don’t Sleep – For Blue Skies Gosh, is it minimalist ambient week at the Spillworm factory? Definitely very ‘wormy and I like it a lot.

    Damien Rice – The Blower’s Daughter I’ve never really connected to any of Damien Rice’s music in the past and sadly this hasn’t really changed my mind. I can appreciate the structure and the arrangement and everything but it doesn’t spark anything off for me.

    Gerald Albright – Sooki Sooki – This is smoooooooooth. It sort of sounds like George Benson in his guitar-playing incarnation grooving down with the Tutu-era Miles Davis band (with Miles locked out of the studio), or maybe it could be The Crusaders? It is nice in a fairly undemanding way.

    Joan Baez – Diamonds & Rust – I’ve owned this album both on vinyl and CD since the mid 1970s. It is a lovely thing. If I didn’t already know this, it would undoubtedly be my favourite track this week.

    However, as I already know Joanie so well, I am going to hand the winner’s trophy to Strays Don’t Sleep

  2. As ever, will need a second listen before commenting. Just to say for now that I did enjoy Fibber Island but I might not want to hear it too many times. Not on every journey at least. Mind you, I bought the Teletubbies single……….

    • While I was there we drove down to the beach at Padre Island, the other side of Corpus Christi – 2½ hours each way. You’d better believe I heard Fibber Island a few times…

  3. I liked the last three. Particularly Damian Rice, another new name. Loved the use of the cello there, it really works and it took me back a long way. Many years ago I had a friend who was a cellist, he took it everywhere he went so whenever he visited, which was fairly regularly, he’d always have his cello and we’d sit and chat with him playing the whole time. I know I’ve got some tapes of those conversations somewhere, I must look for ’em. Thanks Ali, tell jnr that I love his lion.

  4. Fibber Island still fun on a third listen. Paradis Perdu gradually seeping into my mind although still as much disconcerting as catchy. For Blue Skies didn’t grab me on at a first listen but it is growing on me every time. I think it might be my favourite of the week too.
    I liked The Blowers Daughter more that Carole but less than Ali. Don’t really know Damian Rice’s stuff at all (much to the surprise of everybody) but this sounded ok in a low key, melancholy kind of way.
    I’m not a big fan of smooth jazz but liked rather than loved Sooki Sooki. The sort of thing Jazz FM used to play in the middle of the afternoon. I have a kind of love/hate relationship with Joan Baez’s voice. Find her earlier recordings too “pure” and earnest for words. This, for me, is a far, far better thing. Also the only song here I already knew. Epic.

    • I have to be in the mood for Damien Rice. As I said, I bought the CD when I was pregnant / hormonal but I haven’t listened to it for a while. But I like “The Blower’s Daughter” and DsD’s track just made me think of it for some reason – and it has been stuck in my head ever since!

Leave a Reply

