47 thoughts on “Spillyear 2008

  1. My top 3, which don’t require any explanation:

    Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds – We Call Upon The Author
    Fleet Foxes – White Winter Hymnal
    Goldfrapp – A&E

  2. At the end of a difficult year during which he grew more and more frail, my father died on Dec 13 2008 at the age of 91. On Dec 19 my second grandson Ellis was born. Christmas was rather weird…

    In 2008 Tom Petty revived his original band, Mudcrutch, which had fallen apart in 1974 when they were fired by their record company. They never did make an album…until 2008 that is. (The second album comes out on May 20 this year!) I choose Scare Easy from the debut album.

    Next one’s a bit of a cheat, because it’s from a compilation album, but I hadn’t heard the Oysterband’s Angels Of The River till The Oxford Girl And Other Stories came out in 2008. I’ve not liked Laura Marling quite as much as I thought I was going to, but I did like Night Terror from her first album.

  3. Loads of good tunes this year, but here are mine:
    Foals – Cassius
    Bon Iver – For Emma (listed this in “Girl’s Names” last week)
    Estelle – American Girl (loved it then, love it still!)

  4. Everything passed in a blur that year, with a three-year old boy and a one-year old girl, but it was a happy blur. My father-in-law retired early to make sure he had enough time to dote on and play with his grandchildren, and make sure his daughter had some extra help… A good decision, because if he’d hung on at work to get more pension he wouldn’t have had those good times before he died in 2011.

    Two very catchy pop songs I remember from commuting by car, and reverting to Radio 1 to make sure I stayed awake, and one from RR. Shane introduced us to it. When we did Innuendo, barbryn held off nominating it because he assumed Shane would, and in the end nominated it fifteen minutes after the deadline, and I allowed it under the wire onto the A-list.

    Estelle – American Boy
    Girls Aloud – The Promise (their best, I reckon, great tune)
    Pony Up ! – I Heard You Got Action

  5. Quite a sparse year musically for me but

    Weather To Fly – Elbow
    More News From Nowhere – Nick Cave
    Box To Hide In – Chris TT

  6. This year for me is all folk and country. Jonathan Byrd’s darkest album, the Law and the Lonesome is also the one I like the best – I’ll take the title track. Then Karine Polwart’s album, This Earthly Spell, something from there, and something from Seth Lakeman’s Poor Man’s Heaven.

    Jonathan Byrd – the Law and the Lonesome
    Seth Lakeman – Blood Red Sky
    Karine Polwart – Tongue That Cannot LIe

    Difficult to remember particular events from 2008. Checking my photos I can see a visit to the Chinese New Year Celebrations in Liverpool, a visit to Holland where my daughter was then living, lots of tulip fields and the Bloemencorso – coincidentally I’m off there again this coming weekend and hope to see it again along with the Bosch exhibition. Various family celebrations and local visits.

  7. Had just started a couple of new jobs that I didn’t like very much (after having lost my job the year before and spent a bit of time on the Japanese dole), but Mrs Panther’s business was going from strength to strength and that was keeping us both busy. We were living in a lovely apartment right in the centre of Tokyo, with a beautiful night view and living as much of the good Tokyo life as we could on a limited budget!

    Lots of good metal that year (Enslaved, Bloodbath, Agalloch, Gama Bomb), but I was in Poca-heaven for the whole of the year! Have no idea what my Top 3 Spill picks were, but I suspect they should have been:

    Pocahaunted – Divine Flesh
    Boris – Statement
    Sun Araw – Horse Steppin’

  8. 1. Mêlée – Built To LastOne of my all-time favourites of any year. Perfectly romantic pop perfection. For me and my wife, this will forever be “our” song.

    2. Flobots – HandlebarsOnly became a hit three years after it was released, but worth the wait. I can still quote most of the lyrics verbatim. A funny chain of events that shows your Mum was right all along about the dangers of showing off on your bicycle.

    3. Aimee Mann – FreewayThose synths give it a great retro-1980s vibe

    Yes we can!
    Have a B-List, that is: Empire Of The Sun – Walking On A Dream, Meiko – Boys With Girlfriends, Gabriella Cilmi – Got No Place To Go

  9. It is odd, but I find it harder to remember what I was into in recent years as opposed to things from a long time ago.

    Fortunately, I have my trusty spreadsheet, which informs me that the only 2008 releases I bought in 2008 were;

    The BreedersMountain Battles
    Fleet FoxesFleet Foxes
    GoldfrappSeventh Tree
    David GilmourLive in Gdansk

    I know that I went to see Robert Plant and Alison Krauss touring their Raising Sand album, which made me think that was a 2008 release, but I see that it came out the year before.

    So, I don’t have much to choose from, but here goes;

    The Breeders — We’re Gonna Rise
    Goldfrapp – Little Bird
    Fleet Foxes – Mykonos

    • “It is odd, but I find it harder to remember what I was into in recent years as opposed to things from a long time ago.” Same here. The 21st century kind of all blends into one for me. Tell myself it’s because there are fewer life-changing events but it’s probably to do with getting older. Sigh. 😦

      • Yes, I think it is to do with getting older, but not necessarily because of failing faculties. I think it is more the case that things were more vivid and meant more when we were younger. It was all new stuff and exploration back then. Nowadays, we’ve seen it all before and individual events are less likely to register in the same way.

  10. Mark Lanegan and Isobel Campbell had an album out in 2008, so I’ll have Come On Over (Turn Me On) by them. Can’t forget The Unsettlers from Canada with the broody, Jerome and lastly Opeth with Hessian Peel.

  11. in the new year – the walkmen
    gila – beach house
    its my own cheating heart that makes me cry – glasvegas

    close:
    onkawara – xxteens
    the rip – portishead
    keep yourself warm/modern leper – frightened rabbit
    elvis – these new puritans
    heart of chambers – beach house
    tiger mountain peasant song – fleet foxes
    electric feel – mgmt

  12. Janelle Monae- Many Moons
    Christian Prommer Drumlesson Vol 1- Plastic dreams
    Rokia Traore- Aimer

    Bonus track- Francesco Tristano- The Melody (Carl Craig remix).

  13. I got nuttin’ … Even the names being shouted above don’t really stir many memories. They must have stopped making songs like they used to….. 😉

  14. Terry Lynn – Kingstonlogic
    Accidental – Illuminated Red
    Hold Steady – Slapped Actress

    A banner year for great tunes.

  15. The PV track is from a 3 track EP they did of covers of Irish new wave tracks. I could have picked any of them but this one was on youtube. I’ve checked out the originals and was surprised to find out how different they were. Here’s the original Treasure by The Atrix – very different sound

  16. oh I liked 2008.

    Naked Bodies – Sunday Driver from: In the City of Dreadful Night
    Religious Songs Withered Hand from: Religious Songs EP
    Sixteen The Indelicates
    Requiem Pour Un Con White Hinterland from: Luniculaire
    Lorca and the Orange Tree The Mummers from: Tale to Tell
    Ha Ha Emiliana Torrini from: Me And Armin
    California Dreamer Wolf Parade from:At Mount Zoomer
    I Love You Like A Madman The Wave Pictures from: Instant Coffee Baby
    Starlett Johansson The Teenagers from:Reality Check
    Gentle (feat. Buck 65) Tagaq from:Auk/ Blood
    Records Of A Flagpole Skater Surf City from:S/T
    Wolves The Manhattan Love Suicides from:Burnt Out Landscapes
    Little Bit Lykke Li from: Little Bit
    Knee Deep At ATP Los Campesinos! from:Hold On Now, Youngster
    (You Shine) Brighter Than Light Joensuu 1685 from:Joensuu 1685
    Hung on a Thin Thread White Hinterland from:Phylactery Factory
    Cross Your Fingers Laura Marling from:Alas, I Cannot Swim

    Tortoise Regrets Hare James Yorkston from: When The Haar Rolls In
    Prince Of Peace School Of Seven Bells from: Alpinism
    Long Time Ahead Of Us The Walkmen from: You & Me
    Gone Gone Gone The Notwist from: The Devil, You + Me
    At The Sea I Am Kloot from:Play Moolah Rouge
    Two Tin Cans And A Length Of String Her Space Holiday from: XOXO, Panda And The New Kid Revival
    Williams Blood Grace Jones from: Hurricane
    Rook To Queen’s Pawn Six Fujiya & Miyagi from: Lightbulbs
    Symphony 8 & the Canary’s Last Take Emily Wells from:The Symphonies: Dreams Memories & Parties
    Holding Out For A Hero Doveman from:Footloose
    Fools The Dodos from: Visiter
    Godzilla Vs The Island Of Manhattan (With You And I Somewhere In-Between) Ballboy from: I Worked On The Ships
    Sex Is Boring Ballboy from: A Guide For The Daylight Hours
    Alexander Baba Zula from: Kökler
    Anorak Girls Anorak Girl from: Plastic Fantastic
    Illuminated Red The Accidental from: There Were Wolves

Leave a Reply

